Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,811,776 Members 53,623 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Froze velvet.apk

Tip us?
 
nivakis
Old
(Last edited by nivakis; 18th April 2014 at 05:11 PM.)
#11  
nivakis's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 16
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639 View Post
You don't need the terminal in twrp. You just needed a recovery that allows you to use adb commands from your computer. Leave your device in twrp and then open a command window on your pc. Run the commands from there

Sent from my Nexus 5
Drivers for "AOSP on Hammerhead"?

EDIT:
Scratch that. I found them and I am about to try the commands

EDIT 2:
Grrrr, I get a /sbin/sh: pm: not found
I tried downloading the Android SDK manager but can't get over this...
 
nivakis
Old
#12  
nivakis's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 16
Join Date: Dec 2012
Well, I finally fixed it! Thank you jd1639, you've been VERY helpful.

To sum it up, after failing with the adb commands, I used the file browser at the recovery to copy the frozen velvet.apk to system/app. Then I booted my phone and while it was stuck at the booting animation, I called my phone and that gave me access to the taskbar. Then I unfroze the original velvet.apk in /system/priv-app and deleted the one in /system/app

I'll be sure to double-check what I freeze next time!
 
jd1639
Old
#13  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,353
Posts: 9,852
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by nivakis View Post
Well, I finally fixed it! Thank you jd1639, you've been VERY helpful.

To sum it up, after failing with the adb commands, I used the file browser at the recovery to copy the frozen velvet.apk to system/app. Then I booted my phone and while it was stuck at the booting animation, I called my phone and that gave me access to the taskbar. Then I unfroze the original velvet.apk in /system/priv-app and deleted the one in /system/app

I'll be sure to double-check what I freeze next time!
Glad you got it fixed. Pretty clever way to do it

Sent from my Nexus 5
 
nivakis
Old
#14  
nivakis's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 16
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639 View Post
Glad you got it fixed. Pretty clever way to do it

Sent from my Nexus 5
Well I am told to be resourceful when needed! But I couldn't have done it without your help!
The Following User Says Thank You to nivakis For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes