Post Reply

[Q] GCC-4.7 error compiling pure AOSP for Hammerhead

29th March 2014, 12:49 AM   |  #1  
Skywalker.00's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Monroe, NC
Thanks Meter: 461
 
984 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Donate to Me
More
So, I've ran into a little trouble compiling a pure AOSP for Hammerhead. I wanted to start off with a stock AOSP, then move my way onto cherry picking commits that I find most useful.

But before I got into picking commits, I wanted to make sure I could succesfully compile a pure AOSP.

The build went fine for about an hour until I ran in to this:

gcc-4.7: error trying to exec 'cc1plus': execvp: No such file or directory
Failed to read names from file: /home/skywalker/hammerhead/external/chromium_org/third_party/WebKit/Source/core/svg/svgtags.in at /home/skywalker/hammerhead/external/chromium_org/third_party/WebKit/Source/core/scripts/make_names.pl line 282.
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "scripts/action_makenames.py", line 182, in <module>
sys.exit(main(sys.argv))
File "scripts/action_makenames.py", line 164, in main
assert returnCode == 0
AssertionError
gcc-4.7: error trying to exec 'cc1plus': execvp: No such file or directory
Failed to read names from file: /home/skywalker/hammerhead/external/chromium_org/third_party/WebKit/Source/core/html/HTMLTagNames.in at /home/skywalker/hammerhead/external/chromium_org/third_party/WebKit/Source/core/scripts/make_names.pl line 282.
make: *** [out/target/product/hammerhead/obj/GYP/shared_intermediates/blink/SVGNames.cpp] Error 1
make: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....Traceback (most recent call last):

File "scripts/action_makenames.py", line 182, in <module>
sys.exit(main(sys.argv))
File "scripts/action_makenames.py", line 164, in main
assert returnCode == 0
AssertionError
make: *** [out/target/product/hammerhead/obj/GYP/shared_intermediates/blink/HTMLNames.cpp] Error 1
gcc-4.7: error trying to exec 'cc1plus': execvp: No such file or directory
Failed to read names from file: /home/skywalker/hammerhead/external/chromium_org/third_party/WebKit/Source/core/mathml/mathtags.in at /home/skywalker/hammerhead/external/chromium_org/third_party/WebKit/Source/core/scripts/make_names.pl line 282.
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "scripts/action_makenames.py", line 182, in <module>
sys.exit(main(sys.argv))
File "scripts/action_makenames.py", line 164, in main
assert returnCode == 0
AssertionError
make: *** [out/target/product/hammerhead/obj/GYP/shared_intermediates/blink/MathMLNames.cpp] Error 1

This isn't my first time building from source, but this happens owith any ROM I attempt to compile. So I've ultimately narrowed it down to my build environment. Using synaptic I installed some gcc-4.7-arm-linux-gnueabi packages that were reccomended elsewhere to no avail. I've scoured google, xda and the like but have come up empty handed.

Any experienced developers out there care to lend a helping hand?

Thank you for your time.
29th March 2014, 12:53 AM   |  #2  
Skywalker.00's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Monroe, NC
Thanks Meter: 461
 
984 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Donate to Me
More
BTW, I'm compiling on Linux Mint 16 Cinnamon
29th March 2014, 01:12 AM   |  #3  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 11,663
 
22,628 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Looks like a problem with your gcc. Did you Google the first line of your error? I believe that contains everything you need to resolve.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
29th March 2014, 01:58 AM   |  #4  
Skywalker.00's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Monroe, NC
Thanks Meter: 461
 
984 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

Looks like a problem with your gcc. Did you Google the first line of your error? I believe that contains everything you need to resolve.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

I did. My gcc and g++ are already newest/same versions. And from what I can tell, paths for each are correct.

I've exhausted many solutions, my friend. Otherwise I wouldn't here

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
29th March 2014, 02:08 AM   |  #5  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 11,663
 
22,628 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Well, it's not an android source issue, its a build environment issue. Not sure you'll get any better here than using Google.

See this one?
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/8...ry-when-compil


Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
29th March 2014, 02:15 AM   |  #6  
Skywalker.00's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Monroe, NC
Thanks Meter: 461
 
984 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

Well, it's not an android source issue, its a build environment issue. Not sure you'll get any better here than using Google.

See this one?
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/8...ry-when-compil


Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

It's undoubtedly an environment issue. It happens for me with cm, slim and bs.

I tried everything on that page with no success. I also found elsewhere that a symlink may fix it. But that seems to me like using duct tape to fix a leak rather than fixing the source of the leak itself. Still, though, if it works it I'm not gonna knock it.


Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
29th March 2014, 02:18 AM   |  #7  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 11,663
 
22,628 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
You could try removing and re-initialising the environment. Start from scratch

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
29th March 2014, 05:51 AM   |  #8  
Skywalker.00's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Monroe, NC
Thanks Meter: 461
 
984 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

You could try removing and re-initialising the environment. Start from scratch

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

That's what I was wanting to do. Well, try a couple more things, and if it all doesn't work then I'll have no choice.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
29th March 2014, 05:59 AM   |  #9  
Skywalker.00's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Monroe, NC
Thanks Meter: 461
 
984 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

You could try removing and re-initialising the environment. Start from scratch

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Is there any way to go about this without having to format or reinstall the os? I'm on a dual boot that was a serious pain to set up.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
29th March 2014, 10:29 AM   |  #10  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 11,663
 
22,628 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skywalker.00

Is there any way to go about this without having to format or reinstall the os? I'm on a dual boot that was a serious pain to set up.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Use remove instead of install commands for everything listed in the Google android initializing guide. Then install again

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank