Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,660 Members 53,961 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] GPS can't use in indoor.

Tip us?
 
~SonkuB~
Old
#1  
~SonkuB~'s Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 43
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Bangkok
Default [Q] GPS can't use in indoor.

My Nexus 5 good detect GPS when outdoor. It immediately detect GPS.
But when I use in indoor, It can't detect any GPS.

I already tried all GPS mode.

Before update 4.4.2, It can use in indoor.
I don't know because 4.4.2 or anything.

Who know this problem, and how can solve it?

Thank you
 
pepdavies
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 87
Posts: 234
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Cullompton
You need to take the roof off your house.

Sent from my Nexus 5
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to pepdavies For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
rootSU
Old
#3  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9969
Posts: 21,099
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
I've never been able to use gps indoors on any device

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Want to root/unroot? All important guides and info threads are contained within the "Sticky Roll-up" thread in General. Click the link below to get there!



Philz Touch Recovery with passkey secure lock

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.
 
ldubs
Old
#4  
ldubs's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 356
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Brooklyn, NY
um to where are you navigating while you're indoors? Do you have a giant house and get lost going from room to room?


Insert witty, pithy, androidy statement here
 
Bubble-be
Old
#5  
Bubble-be's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 229
Posts: 606
Join Date: Mar 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Those pesky satellites are too high up.

You should invite them over for a party.
Dirty flash I want you, dirty flash I need you
Nexu5 -> rom hopping | Nexus -> Gummy
My kitkat bootanim
History : S2 -> Neatrom light | Ported bootanimation: Cid loading black background & SGS -> cm10 | GT-I5801 bootanim Solarflare, Blue Badge, Jumpgate
Please use proper spelling, punctuation, and grammar in your posts
 
~SonkuB~
Old
#6  
~SonkuB~'s Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 43
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Bangkok
I use in indoor because I play Ingress, when I go to department store I can't detect GPS, so I can't play Ingress in indoor.

Now I reinstall my Nexus5 to official 4.4.2 and install Xposed, It good GPS.
I think old custom ROM did bad GPS.
 
gee2012
Old
#7  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2805
Posts: 7,721
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Heerlen
Quote:
Originally Posted by ~SonkuB~ View Post
I use in indoor because I play Ingress, when I go to department store I can't detect GPS, so I can't play Ingress in indoor.

Now I reinstall my Nexus5 to official 4.4.2 and install Xposed, It good GPS.
I think old custom ROM did bad GPS.
I`am running the latest CM11 Nightly and have 20 sats in view and 8 sats in use indoors.
USE Search: /this thread /all threads/Google before posting your question, you`re most likely not the first one having this issue

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes