Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,785,935 Members 52,333 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q]Google Dialer Keeps Phone Awake

Tip us?
 
_jordan_
Old
#1  
_jordan_'s Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 84
Posts: 391
Join Date: Oct 2013
Default [Q]Google Dialer Keeps Phone Awake

I have noticed one of my biggest battery draining apps is the google dialer application.

For some reason it seems to keep the phone awake for hours on end, even when I do not spend very much time on the phone.

Stock, 4.4.3. rooted, thats it.

Any suggestions or ideas? I've tried clearing the dialer's cache and data, but it still keeps the device awake for no reason it seems.

Thanks in advance!
 
_jordan_
Old
#2  
_jordan_'s Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 84
Posts: 391
Join Date: Oct 2013
Anyone? Here are some screen shots.



Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
 
raul90
Old
#3  
raul90's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 86
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Monterrey
mmh I've never seen that problem.

You could first try clearing data and cache of the app. If that doesn't work, maybe flash the factory images? Just to be sure it's not something on your side.

Hope this helps.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
 
_jordan_
Old
#4  
_jordan_'s Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 84
Posts: 391
Join Date: Oct 2013
Thanks. Tried both of those. No luck .

I re flashed last evening and the bug is still there

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
 
taodan
Old
#5  
taodan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 219
Posts: 933
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by _jordan_ View Post
Thanks. Tried both of those. No luck .

I re flashed last evening and the bug is still there

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Boot the phone into recovery and then wipe cache and dalvik cache, and then reboot the phone.
DISCLAIMER: Click the button at your own risk! I am not responsible for your mistake.
 

~!~ Backup Phone: Nexus One ~!~
  • HBOOT: Latest Blackrose S-off
  • Recovery: Amon_RA v2.21
  • ROM: ICS AOKP Milestone 5
  • Kernel: Tiamat & Shaky156 ICS 03142012
  • SD Card: 16GB
~!~ Acer Iconia A500 Tablet ~!~
  • Recovery: CWM rev1.7 by Thor2002ro
  • ROM: CM10 JellyTime 4.1.2
  • Kernel: 2.6.39.4+
  • SD Card: 8GB
 
raul90
Old
#6  
raul90's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 86
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Monterrey
I think 4.4.4 addresses this issue, you should make a clean installation of the factory image (again) and see how it goes.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
 
_jordan_
Old
#7  
_jordan_'s Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 84
Posts: 391
Join Date: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by raul90 View Post
I think 4.4.4 addresses this issue, you should make a clean installation of the factory image (again) and see how it goes.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
I flashed the 4.4.4 system and radio images.

Will report back. So far so good..... But I will confirm.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
 
_jordan_
Old
#8  
_jordan_'s Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 84
Posts: 391
Join Date: Oct 2013
OK SO i think i MAY have figured out this bug.

I use the search function in the dialer app all the time for work. I call a lot of businesses in the area and i always use the dialer to look up their numbers. This is what I think causes the wakelock, as it triggers a search and looks up local businesses matching the number.

I've turned off this feature in the app, as well as the caller ID function and so far i am not having any issues. Will report back.
 
_jordan_
Old
#9  
_jordan_'s Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 84
Posts: 391
Join Date: Oct 2013
Just an update. I can trigger this bug in any ROM, including cyanogen mod and also paranoid android.

Here is the solution until Google offers a fix:



By leaving the above options unchecked, the wake lock will not trigger.



Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes