FORUMS

Top Forum Discussions

Google Play Music: .flac

117 posts
Thanks Meter: 14
 
By mellevdlinde, Senior Member on 12th March 2014, 11:41 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hey! Could anyone tell me if the Play Music app supports .flac audio that I have on my internal storage? Would it sound the same as when I use an alternative music application? Thanks
 
 
12th March 2014, 11:48 PM |#2  
mateopase's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
It didn't for me. When I tried it the FLAC files would show up but not play. Also, what are you using to listen to on the go? You'd need to have some crazy good IEMs or high end portable headphones with a good amp/DAC to take along to be able to hear the difference between the FLAC files and a 320kbps MP3 file.
12th March 2014, 11:55 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mateopase

It didn't for me. When I tried it the FLAC files would show up but not play. Also, what are you using to listen to on the go? You'd need to have some crazy good IEMs or high end portable headphones with a good amp/DAC to take along to be able to hear the difference between the FLAC files and a 320kbps MP3 file.

Good question. On the go I use Galaxy S4 headphones, but at home I have some speakers to enjoy the difference. Besides, it feels good to use more space on my Nexus 5 haha.
12th March 2014, 11:56 PM |#4  
mateopase's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mellevdlinde

Good question. On the go I use Galaxy S4 headphones, but at home I have some speakers to enjoy the difference. Besides, it feels good to use more space on my Nexus 5 haha.


Alright. Well, see if the files play. If not, I know they work with PowerAmp.
13th March 2014, 12:02 AM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mateopase

Alright. Well, see if the files play. If not, I know they work with PowerAmp.

It seems like they do That sounds as good as Poweramp, doesn't it?
13th March 2014, 05:39 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 454
 
More
Flac should work with GPM. Keep an eye on your media server drain though I find it goes way up.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to bblzd For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th March 2014, 09:32 AM |#7  
howard bamber's Avatar
Senior Member
Southport
Thanks Meter: 193
 
More
I use a DAC. Playing flac on a qualcom DAC is silly plug one in. I use fiio

Sent by mobile telephone.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes