Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,742,347 Members 51,463 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Google Search 3.4

Tip us?
 
PsychDrummer
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 79
Posts: 556
Join Date: Nov 2012
Default [Q] Google Search 3.4

Hey guys, I was wondering if anyone knew how long it normally took for google app update rollouts. Apparently version 3.4 of google search came out last Wed. When I look at the app in the play store it says the last update was on May 2nd. What's weird is when I scroll down it says that the update is 3.3 (which is what I have). Also, when I look at reviews, the ones from May 2nd show up as "old version". I tried this on my N5, N7 2013, and on my sister's N7 2012, and all three devices are the same. The N5 and N7 2013 are on the same account and the older N7 is on a different one. I'm using gravity box to change the dpi of my navigation keys on my N5, and I heard sometimes play store messes up when you do that, but seeing as the problem occurs on my non-rooted tablets it can't be that. Anyone else not getting the update?
 
TheLastSidekick
Old
(Last edited by TheLastSidekick; 5th May 2014 at 11:12 PM.)
#2  
TheLastSidekick's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1940
Posts: 2,946
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Springfield, Massachusetts

 
DONATE TO ME
I used to have that problem with some apps and I'd have to go to Android Police or other external source. But as far as GAPPS are concerned, I'd look at the 0day PA GAPPS thread

1. You won't be monitoring for a new update
2. You have the latest of every Google App

The Nexus 5 advocate (Team Inferno)
Team Inferno (Co-admin)
The Following User Says Thank You to TheLastSidekick For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
PsychDrummer
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 79
Posts: 556
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheLastSidekick View Post
I used to have that problem with some apps and I'd have to go to Android Police or other external source. But as far as GAPPS are concerned, I'd look at the 0day PA GAPPS thread

1. You won't be monitoring for a new update
2. You have the latest of every Google App

The Nexus 5 advocate (Team Inferno)
So even though I have use the stock ROM I should overwrite the GAPPS with those?
 
TheLastSidekick
Old
#4  
TheLastSidekick's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1940
Posts: 2,946
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Springfield, Massachusetts

 
DONATE TO ME
You can. All you're essentially doing is overwriting the current GAPPS on your phone located in system/app and system/priv-app with the one from the package. I've done it a few times. Stock and a few aosp ROMs. As always, with anything I'd always make a nandroid better safe than sorry.

Assuming you're only after one app, Android Police releases leaked Google Apps as soon as they have them. Just Google search your title of this thread and Android Police.

The Nexus 5 advocate (Team Inferno)
Team Inferno (Co-admin)
The Following User Says Thank You to TheLastSidekick For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
PsychDrummer
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 79
Posts: 556
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheLastSidekick View Post
You can. All you're essentially doing is overwriting the current GAPPS on your phone located in system/app and system/priv-app with the one from the package. I've done it a few times. Stock and a few aosp ROMs. As always, with anything I'd always make a nandroid better safe than sorry.

Assuming you're only after one app, Android Police releases leaked Google Apps as soon as they have them. Just Google search your title of this thread and Android Police.

The Nexus 5 advocate (Team Inferno)
Got it, thanks a lot. I was just curious why it wasn't updating itself on three different devices almost a week after it was rolled out. What I also find weird is, after updating using the android police link, in the play store it still shows 3.3 as latest.
The Following User Says Thank You to PsychDrummer For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
TheLastSidekick
Old
#6  
TheLastSidekick's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1940
Posts: 2,946
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Springfield, Massachusetts

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by PsychDrummer View Post
Got it, thanks a lot. I was just curious why it wasn't updating itself on three different devices almost a week after it was rolled out. What I also find weird is, after updating using the android police link, in the play store it still shows 3.3 as latest.
You may need to delete it manually either use a root Uninstaller or Root file Explorer and hunt down the Velvet.apk in system/app or system/priv-app (I can't remember which of the two and delete it and try installing) then try reinstalling the Android Police one. Should work, if not try wiping caches and rebooting.

The Nexus 5 advocate (Team Inferno)
Team Inferno (Co-admin)
 
PsychDrummer
Old
(Last edited by PsychDrummer; 6th May 2014 at 03:21 AM.)
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 79
Posts: 556
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheLastSidekick View Post
You may need to delete it manually either use a root Uninstaller or Root file Explorer and hunt down the Velvet.apk in system/app or system/priv-app (I can't remember which of the two and delete it and try installing) then try reinstalling the Android Police one. Should work, if not try wiping caches and rebooting.

The Nexus 5 advocate (Team Inferno)
Wiping cache for play store or google search?

Edit: Hmm, I cleared the data/cache for play store and cache for google search and rebooted still nothing. I guess it's fine though. Hopefully once the next update comes it will fix itself.
 
TheLastSidekick
Old
#8  
TheLastSidekick's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1940
Posts: 2,946
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Springfield, Massachusetts

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by PsychDrummer View Post
Wiping cache for play store or google search?

Edit: Hmm, I cleared the data/cache for play store and cache for google search and rebooted still nothing. I guess it's fine though. Hopefully once the next update comes it will fix itself.
I meant through recovery. However, I did get a Google Search update today. Maybe that was it?
Team Inferno (Co-admin)
 
PsychDrummer
Old
#9  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 79
Posts: 556
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheLastSidekick View Post
I meant through recovery. However, I did get a Google Search update today. Maybe that was it?
Yeah, I did as well. Now it's showing everything correctly. Btw, I saw that my thread was moved. I read that app and accessory related questions go in the app and accessory forums, respectively. Was I wrong? If so I'll make sure to put all questions in the Q/A section.
 
TheLastSidekick
Old
#10  
TheLastSidekick's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1940
Posts: 2,946
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Springfield, Massachusetts

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by PsychDrummer View Post
Yeah, I did as well. Now it's showing everything correctly. Btw, I saw that my thread was moved. I read that app and accessory related questions go in the app and accessory forums, respectively. Was I wrong? If so I'll make sure to put all questions in the Q/A section.
I'm not the moderation team, but coming from rules if I understand them correctly all questions about apps/devices pertaining to the device your using goes under the Q&A forum of your device.Glad to see that the official Google app push corrected the information for you. The app may have been installed, but because it wasn't officially pushed to Google Play yet, you weren't seeing the correct version.
Team Inferno (Co-admin)

The Following User Says Thank You to TheLastSidekick For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes