Post Reply

[Q] Google Search 3.4

OP PsychDrummer

5th May 2014, 10:21 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 109
 
670 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Hey guys, I was wondering if anyone knew how long it normally took for google app update rollouts. Apparently version 3.4 of google search came out last Wed. When I look at the app in the play store it says the last update was on May 2nd. What's weird is when I scroll down it says that the update is 3.3 (which is what I have). Also, when I look at reviews, the ones from May 2nd show up as "old version". I tried this on my N5, N7 2013, and on my sister's N7 2012, and all three devices are the same. The N5 and N7 2013 are on the same account and the older N7 is on a different one. I'm using gravity box to change the dpi of my navigation keys on my N5, and I heard sometimes play store messes up when you do that, but seeing as the problem occurs on my non-rooted tablets it can't be that. Anyone else not getting the update?
5th May 2014, 11:06 PM   |  #2  
TheLastSidekick's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Springfield, Massachusetts
Thanks Meter: 2,102
 
3,188 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Donate to Me
More
I used to have that problem with some apps and I'd have to go to Android Police or other external source. But as far as GAPPS are concerned, I'd look at the 0day PA GAPPS thread

1. You won't be monitoring for a new update
2. You have the latest of every Google App

The Nexus 5 advocate (Team Inferno)
Last edited by TheLastSidekick; 5th May 2014 at 11:12 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to TheLastSidekick For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th May 2014, 11:21 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 109
 
670 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheLastSidekick

I used to have that problem with some apps and I'd have to go to Android Police or other external source. But as far as GAPPS are concerned, I'd look at the 0day PA GAPPS thread

1. You won't be monitoring for a new update
2. You have the latest of every Google App

The Nexus 5 advocate (Team Inferno)

So even though I have use the stock ROM I should overwrite the GAPPS with those?
5th May 2014, 11:24 PM   |  #4  
TheLastSidekick's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Springfield, Massachusetts
Thanks Meter: 2,102
 
3,188 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Donate to Me
More
You can. All you're essentially doing is overwriting the current GAPPS on your phone located in system/app and system/priv-app with the one from the package. I've done it a few times. Stock and a few aosp ROMs. As always, with anything I'd always make a nandroid better safe than sorry.

Assuming you're only after one app, Android Police releases leaked Google Apps as soon as they have them. Just Google search your title of this thread and Android Police.

The Nexus 5 advocate (Team Inferno)
The Following User Says Thank You to TheLastSidekick For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th May 2014, 11:41 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 109
 
670 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheLastSidekick

You can. All you're essentially doing is overwriting the current GAPPS on your phone located in system/app and system/priv-app with the one from the package. I've done it a few times. Stock and a few aosp ROMs. As always, with anything I'd always make a nandroid better safe than sorry.

Assuming you're only after one app, Android Police releases leaked Google Apps as soon as they have them. Just Google search your title of this thread and Android Police.

The Nexus 5 advocate (Team Inferno)

Got it, thanks a lot. I was just curious why it wasn't updating itself on three different devices almost a week after it was rolled out. What I also find weird is, after updating using the android police link, in the play store it still shows 3.3 as latest.
The Following User Says Thank You to PsychDrummer For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th May 2014, 12:03 AM   |  #6  
TheLastSidekick's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Springfield, Massachusetts
Thanks Meter: 2,102
 
3,188 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by PsychDrummer

Got it, thanks a lot. I was just curious why it wasn't updating itself on three different devices almost a week after it was rolled out. What I also find weird is, after updating using the android police link, in the play store it still shows 3.3 as latest.

You may need to delete it manually either use a root Uninstaller or Root file Explorer and hunt down the Velvet.apk in system/app or system/priv-app (I can't remember which of the two and delete it and try installing) then try reinstalling the Android Police one. Should work, if not try wiping caches and rebooting.

The Nexus 5 advocate (Team Inferno)
6th May 2014, 03:04 AM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 109
 
670 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheLastSidekick

You may need to delete it manually either use a root Uninstaller or Root file Explorer and hunt down the Velvet.apk in system/app or system/priv-app (I can't remember which of the two and delete it and try installing) then try reinstalling the Android Police one. Should work, if not try wiping caches and rebooting.

The Nexus 5 advocate (Team Inferno)

Wiping cache for play store or google search?

Edit: Hmm, I cleared the data/cache for play store and cache for google search and rebooted still nothing. I guess it's fine though. Hopefully once the next update comes it will fix itself.
Last edited by PsychDrummer; 6th May 2014 at 03:21 AM.
7th May 2014, 12:15 AM   |  #8  
TheLastSidekick's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Springfield, Massachusetts
Thanks Meter: 2,102
 
3,188 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by PsychDrummer

Wiping cache for play store or google search?

Edit: Hmm, I cleared the data/cache for play store and cache for google search and rebooted still nothing. I guess it's fine though. Hopefully once the next update comes it will fix itself.

I meant through recovery. However, I did get a Google Search update today. Maybe that was it?
7th May 2014, 01:25 AM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 109
 
670 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheLastSidekick

I meant through recovery. However, I did get a Google Search update today. Maybe that was it?

Yeah, I did as well. Now it's showing everything correctly. Btw, I saw that my thread was moved. I read that app and accessory related questions go in the app and accessory forums, respectively. Was I wrong? If so I'll make sure to put all questions in the Q/A section.
7th May 2014, 04:34 AM   |  #10  
TheLastSidekick's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Springfield, Massachusetts
Thanks Meter: 2,102
 
3,188 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by PsychDrummer

Yeah, I did as well. Now it's showing everything correctly. Btw, I saw that my thread was moved. I read that app and accessory related questions go in the app and accessory forums, respectively. Was I wrong? If so I'll make sure to put all questions in the Q/A section.

I'm not the moderation team, but coming from rules if I understand them correctly all questions about apps/devices pertaining to the device your using goes under the Q&A forum of your device.Glad to see that the official Google app push corrected the information for you. The app may have been installed, but because it wasn't officially pushed to Google Play yet, you weren't seeing the correct version.

The Following User Says Thank You to TheLastSidekick For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank