Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,772,276 Members 44,814 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

No GPS fix with latest Maps 8.0 update!

Tip us?
 
Crappyvate
Old
#1  
Crappyvate's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 208
Posts: 662
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Isla de Vieques
Default No GPS fix with latest Maps 8.0 update!

Is anyone having issues with the latest version of Maps? I can't get a gps fix with this version. I have tried wiping cache/dalvik.
GPS sees satellites but cannot get a fix, when I uninstall 8.0 and revert to 7.4 everything works fine!
I'm stock rooted 4.4.2 nothing out of the ordinary, running a few Xposed modules but nothing pertaining to GPS.
Any ideas?
Originally Posted by timthatank05:

no... after trying to get it to work all day yesterday, i finally gave up and drove the car over it and then called the insurance on it... no phone for a few days at least...



"thanks" is nice
 
Ben36
Old
#2  
Ben36's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1597
Posts: 5,766
Join Date: Jun 2012
I bet you've rebooted since having gps working and not?

Just reboot again and maybe again... Mine does it. It's like sometimes the gps control doesn't load properly at the start

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
 
Crappyvate
Old
#3  
Crappyvate's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 208
Posts: 662
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Isla de Vieques
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben36 View Post
I bet you've rebooted since having gps working and not?

Just reboot again and maybe again... Mine does it. It's like sometimes the gps control doesn't load properly at the start

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
done all that of course, reset A-GPS data, etc..it sees plenty of satellites it just does not fix
Originally Posted by timthatank05:

no... after trying to get it to work all day yesterday, i finally gave up and drove the car over it and then called the insurance on it... no phone for a few days at least...



"thanks" is nice
 
bblzd
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 283
Posts: 1,267
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crappyvate View Post
done all that of course, reset A-GPS data, etc..it sees plenty of satellites it just does not fix
Is it just the Maps app or is the GPS always failing to get a lock?
W32
 
Crappyvate
Old
#5  
Crappyvate's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 208
Posts: 662
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Isla de Vieques
Quote:
Originally Posted by bblzd View Post
Is it just the Maps app or is the GPS always failing to get a lock?
GPS fails to get a lock, if I check with GPS Status app it's the same thing.
Originally Posted by timthatank05:

no... after trying to get it to work all day yesterday, i finally gave up and drove the car over it and then called the insurance on it... no phone for a few days at least...



"thanks" is nice
 
bblzd
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 283
Posts: 1,267
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crappyvate View Post
GPS fails to get a lock, if I check with GPS Status app it's the same thing.
There is a chance your GPS antenna is no longer making proper contact. If that is the case, your options are a fairly simple DIY fix that would void your warranty, or RMA for a new device.
W32
 
jeffyca
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jan 2013
If you are rooted I can say that using FasterGPS might be able to fix your issue as it changes the GPS tables to closer locations. Not sure why upgrading to a new Maps version would break GPS, but its free and you can definitely try it.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Get Your Special xda:devcon ’14 Hotel And Conference Rate While It Lasts

By now you’ve definitely heard about XDA’s … more

Google Chromecast Rootable Once Again!

Over the six months, theGoogle Chromecasthas gained a considerable amount of official functionality. … more

YAATA isn’t Just Another Android Texting App

Although our mobile devices today are capable of executingnearly every task we normally … more

MacroDroid Update Brings Android Wear Automation

A few months ago, we talked about MacroDroid. For those who don’t remember, MacroDroid … more