FORUMS

What Features Do You Look for in a Gallery App?

With so many different options to choose from, finding the right Gallery app may be a … more

Google Photos ‘Unlimited’ Storage Reportedly Being Capped

When Google Photos was announced, many of us thought very highly … more

Sprint Moves to Lift Video Streaming Limit for All-In

Yesterday, Sprint announced a new unlimited scheme that offered customers an … more

Xiaomi Releases Kernel Source Code For Mi4i

If you’ve been following the XDA News Portal lately, you might have noticed an … more

No GPS fix with latest Maps 8.0 update!

663 posts
Thanks Meter: 212
 
By Crappyvate, Senior Member on 10th May 2014, 12:59 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Is anyone having issues with the latest version of Maps? I can't get a gps fix with this version. I have tried wiping cache/dalvik.
GPS sees satellites but cannot get a fix, when I uninstall 8.0 and revert to 7.4 everything works fine!
I'm stock rooted 4.4.2 nothing out of the ordinary, running a few Xposed modules but nothing pertaining to GPS.
Any ideas?
 
 
10th May 2014, 11:47 AM |#2  
Ben36's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,580
 
More
I bet you've rebooted since having gps working and not?

Just reboot again and maybe again... Mine does it. It's like sometimes the gps control doesn't load properly at the start

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
10th May 2014, 01:27 PM |#3  
Crappyvate's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Isla de Vieques
Thanks Meter: 212
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben36

I bet you've rebooted since having gps working and not?

Just reboot again and maybe again... Mine does it. It's like sometimes the gps control doesn't load properly at the start

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

done all that of course, reset A-GPS data, etc..it sees plenty of satellites it just does not fix
10th May 2014, 04:59 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 448
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crappyvate

done all that of course, reset A-GPS data, etc..it sees plenty of satellites it just does not fix

Is it just the Maps app or is the GPS always failing to get a lock?
10th May 2014, 05:22 PM |#5  
Crappyvate's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Isla de Vieques
Thanks Meter: 212
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bblzd

Is it just the Maps app or is the GPS always failing to get a lock?

GPS fails to get a lock, if I check with GPS Status app it's the same thing.
10th May 2014, 06:23 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 448
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crappyvate

GPS fails to get a lock, if I check with GPS Status app it's the same thing.

There is a chance your GPS antenna is no longer making proper contact. If that is the case, your options are a fairly simple DIY fix that would void your warranty, or RMA for a new device.
10th May 2014, 08:27 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
If you are rooted I can say that using FasterGPS might be able to fix your issue as it changes the GPS tables to closer locations. Not sure why upgrading to a new Maps version would break GPS, but its free and you can definitely try it.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes