Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,814,319 Members 50,324 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

GPS fix?

Tip us?
 
rtotheichie
Old
#1  
rtotheichie's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 122
Posts: 407
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lexington, SC
Default GPS fix?

So what few threads about the Nexus 5 GPS I could find are pretty old and not involved anymore, so I was wondering if anybody has definitively found a fix for the horrid GPS on or otherwise great phone?

The reason I bring this up is because whenever I use an app the requires GPS (maps, Ingress, etc.), it usually takes several minutes to get a lock (even in the open), and it is horribly inaccurate (sometimes as much as a 1/4 mile or more) in both location and orientation (which way the phone is pointing)

I've used GPS Status to calibrate my compass and download AGPS data, but still no consistent improvement.

Any thoughts?
Phone:Google Nexus 5 w/ T-mobile LTE
ROM: Exodus
Recovery: TWRP 2.6.3.4
 
rolling_stone
Old
#2  
rolling_stone's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 52
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Matosinhos
Don't ask me why, cause i Don't know why, reboot your Phone with GPS on. Your Phone should fix in a few seconds.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk 2
 
rtotheichie
Old
#3  
rtotheichie's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 122
Posts: 407
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lexington, SC
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolling_stone View Post
Don't ask me why, cause i Don't know why, reboot your Phone with GPS on. Your Phone should fix in a few seconds.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk 2
Yeah that's kind of the only workaround I've been able to find, but that's very inconvenient to do multiple times. I was hoping to find a more permanent fix
Phone:Google Nexus 5 w/ T-mobile LTE
ROM: Exodus
Recovery: TWRP 2.6.3.4
 
Ben36
Old
#4  
Ben36's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,639
Posts: 5,909
Join Date: Jun 2012
People say it seems to be the 4.4.3+ radios. So if you have root access and recovery flash this - https://app.box.com/s/zvszfbzcj879e7app3pa

Sent from my Android L Nexus 5 via Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to Ben36 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
rtotheichie
Old
#5  
rtotheichie's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 122
Posts: 407
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lexington, SC
So it would seem "High Accuracy" mode is anything but accurate. I flashed the newest radio (4.4.4r2) and switched to Device Only Location, and it is deadly accurate with almost no lag. Cold start seems to take less time, as well
Phone:Google Nexus 5 w/ T-mobile LTE
ROM: Exodus
Recovery: TWRP 2.6.3.4
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes