Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,733,782 Members 45,750 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Hardware issue?

Tip us?
 
SavedByGrace
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 67
Join Date: Jul 2013
Question [Q] Hardware issue?

Does anyone have a problem with random "pauses" while using apps? It's totally not noticeable for applications that aren't continually running animations (ie: kindle, text scrolling) but becomes evident when doing thins such as:
- recording video (the "pause" will cause the recording to stop randomly for both continuous and time lapse)
- playing games (will cause the game to go to the pause screen)
- tasker programming (I think this is affected because tasker will randomly close itself without a FC dialog, profiles and tasks seem okay)

I turned on debugging to see if it was a dirty screen or anything, but the touch coordinates don't change at all when the "pause" happens. Anyone have an idea how I can fix this? It is rather crippling to the N5.

I am rooted and I have seen this problem on all roms (and I believe I noticed it on stock too...)
I use a ballistic case, if anyone else has had problems with it...


Thanks in advance!



Using N5 on Carbon + Franco kernel
 
SavedByGrace
Old
#2  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 67
Join Date: Jul 2013
I guess no one's ever had this problem before? =[
 
mistahseller
Old
#3  
mistahseller's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 192
Posts: 793
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Saint Louis
Have you tried factory reset? Fixes most problems. Could be Franco's kernel has a bug in the latest release.

Sent from The Deathstar
The Following User Says Thank You to mistahseller For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Bruce Lee
Old
#4  
Bruce Lee's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 369
Posts: 2,095
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ohio
Have you tried going back to complete stock to see if that fixes the problem?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Phone:
16GB Black Nexus 5 running Stock 4.4.4 with CharizardX Kernel

Past Devices:
ATT Samsung Galaxy SIII
ATT Motorola Dual Core Atrix 4G
ATT Sony Ericsson Xperia X10
Unlocked HTC G1
32GB Nexus 7
Blackberry Playbook


Google+ page for chatty XDA members!
https://plus.google.com/u/0/b/102405...48467738/posts
The Following User Says Thank You to Bruce Lee For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
SavedByGrace
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 67
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by mistahseller View Post
Have you tried factory reset? Fixes most problems. Could be Franco's kernel has a bug in the latest release.

Sent from The Deathstar
I've tried out a few roms (factory reseting and cache clearing between each one) to see if it was any one problem, but whether AOSP or CM based, I still have the problem =/


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce Lee View Post
Have you tried going back to complete stock to see if that fixes the problem?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Do you mean stock + unrooting? I think I remember having the problem back then, but I don't quite remember before I rooted...I'll try going back to stock w/ root first and see if it's still happening. Thanks!
 
mistahseller
Old
#6  
mistahseller's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 192
Posts: 793
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Saint Louis
Quote:
Do you mean stock + unrooting? I think I remember having the problem back then, but I don't quite remember before I rooted...I'll try going back to stock w/ root first and see if it's still happening. Thanks!
Yes follow the link in the general to go back to complete stock and that will eliminate anything and everything that could be an issue related to software.

For what it is worth, what method did you use to root?
The Following User Says Thank You to mistahseller For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
SavedByGrace
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 67
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by mistahseller View Post
Yes follow the link in the general to go back to complete stock and that will eliminate anything and everything that could be an issue related to software.

For what it is worth, what method did you use to root?
I used the Chainfire's autoroot (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2507211) on Windows.
 
SavedByGrace
Old
#8  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 67
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by mistahseller View Post
Have you tried factory reset? Fixes most problems. Could be Franco's kernel has a bug in the latest release.

Sent from The Deathstar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce Lee View Post
Have you tried going back to complete stock to see if that fixes the problem?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Hmm, I think it worked. I haven't tested it out for lengthy periods of time but I haven't noticed any pausing anymore! =]

I followed the unroot instructions to return to stock. Although I didn't relock the bootloader.
Then I booted up stock and it seemed like it works fine.
I reinstalled CWM recovery through adb (same as I did the first time) and proceeded to reflash
It seems like the problem is gone now on custom ROM as well. Interestingly enough, if I nandroid restore my old backup, I do get the problem again.

Is there something different between reflashing stock part and wiping from factory/data reset + system partition format + wipe cache + wipe davalik?


Thanks for your help guys! I was sure before that it was hardware since I had the problem on stock w/ root, but thankfully it's not a hardware problem! =]

Tags
broken, hardware problem, random click, random keys
Thread Tools
Display Modes