Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,728,429 Members 53,629 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

HD Voice on the Nexus 5 (AMR-WB)

Tip us?
 
Saltank
Old
#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 28
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by montrealguy View Post
But there must be a service menu to figure out if AMR-WB is activated or not? For example, the S4 has HD Voice capability but people have figured out how to activate it in the service menu.



Does AMR-WB only work when LTE is activated? I get frequent call drops on my Nexus 5 and some people have gotten relief when they disable LTE and switch to 3G.



It is quite bizarre that on Rogers/Fido, Canada's largest network, they say that only certain phones support HD Voice. The Galaxy Nexus is supported but the Nexus 4 and 5 or not supported! I even called and asked!

http://mobilesyrup.com/2012/10/11/ro...liant-devices/



Rogers/Fido offers HD Voice but I think that they have to add support on a individual device basis. It supports the Galaxy Nexus, but not the Nexus 4 or 5!

This is why I believe that there has got to be a way to access the Service menu on the Nexus 5 and activate AMR-WB support. People can do it on the S4!
I want to know how to access the service menu to check if AMR-WB is on or not. Some test calls I've made (EE - UK) don't sound like it's working properly.
 
montrealguy
Old
#12  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 464
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saltank View Post
I want to know how to access the service menu to check if AMR-WB is on or not. Some test calls I've made (EE - UK) don't sound like it's working properly.
+1 !!!
 
Saltank
Old
#13  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 28
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by montrealguy View Post
+1 !!!
All solutions involving *#0011# and *#197328640# don't work. No idea what to do now :/
 
Saltank
Old
#14  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 28
Join Date: Jan 2010
I was making some calls today, where I had LTE. The expected behaviour would be that the device switches to 3G for voice calls, but it seems to me like my N5 is using 2G. So it seems that despite being on a network which i know has working HD Voice, the Nexus 5 doesn't work. Bummer.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Easily Combine Text and Manage Your Android Clipboard with StuffMerge

Android clipboard management has always been impractical without the … more

Pale Moon Browser Ported to Android

Having a wide choice of third party applications is one of the most beautiful things that Android has to … more

Partial Android Wear Source Uploaded to AOSP

2014 is certainly shaping up to be theyear of the wearables. And thanks to its innovative … more

Street Panorama Combines Google Maps and Street View into One App

Google Maps is a must have application forevery amateur world explorer. … more