Fight the Heat and Conserve Battery with EaseUS Coolphone

Memory hungry Android applications are often responsible for making our device … more

Battery Charged in 30 Seconds? Maybe in 2016

Phones and tablets are getting more and more power hungry with each passing generation. Their … more

ZArchive Manages Your File Archives

Today smartphones are quite powerful devices that can handle multiple processes at once. In fact, some of … more

Regain Double Tap to Wake Functionality on the Nexus 6

A few months ago, Google announced its newest flagship device, the Nexus 6, alongside … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Help backing up, rooting, installing custom ROM, and gapps.

OP grimreaper1014

2nd June 2014, 06:39 PM   |  #11  
Pirateghost's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 8,076
 
11,008 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by grimreaper1014

I didn't pay $35 for a custom ROM. I paid $35 for my phone to be rooted and a custom ROM to be installed.

Why?

Sent from my Nexus 5
2nd June 2014, 07:33 PM   |  #12  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,784
 
10,831 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Now there's a gig I need to get into

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
2nd June 2014, 10:50 PM   |  #13  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirateghost

Why?

Sent from my Nexus 5

Because I really didn't have the time at the time to readup on how to do it myself.
2nd June 2014, 11:23 PM   |  #14  
BirchBarlow's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 126
 
364 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by grimreaper1014

Because I really didn't have the time at the time to readup on how to do it myself.

If that's so, then you shouldn't be a root user. Stick with stock.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to BirchBarlow For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd June 2014, 08:32 PM   |  #15  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by BirchBarlow

If that's so, then you shouldn't be a root user. Stick with stock.

Yeah its a lesson learned. I had actually rooted my moms ZTE Merit a while back but I though things would of changed by now. I just didn't want to mess up the phone and there was things I didn't know at the time I paid for the rooting. However, I went through the steps to root my new phone yesterday and it was successful and I also got CyanogenMod successfully installed with gapps. I can't believe how damn easy it was. Makes me wish I had my $35 back! Oh well lesson learned I guess.

If I want to return the custom ROM back to a fresh state like you can do with the stock ROM can I just use the backup/reset feature and do a factory reset? I did that yesterday and the phone seams to be okay.
3rd June 2014, 08:34 PM   |  #16  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 13,442
 
24,524 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Yes

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
3rd June 2014, 10:06 PM   |  #17  
BirchBarlow's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 126
 
364 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by grimreaper1014

Yeah its a lesson learned. I had actually rooted my moms ZTE Merit a while back but I though things would of changed by now. I just didn't want to mess up the phone and there was things I didn't know at the time I paid for the rooting. However, I went through the steps to root my new phone yesterday and it was successful and I also got CyanogenMod successfully installed with gapps. I can't believe how damn easy it was. Makes me wish I had my $35 back! Oh well lesson learned I guess.

If I want to return the custom ROM back to a fresh state like you can do with the stock ROM can I just use the backup/reset feature and do a factory reset? I did that yesterday and the phone seams to be okay.

A factory reset doesn't touch the system partition, it only erases the data partition, so any changes made to the system (i.e. root) will persist after a factory reset.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes