Xiaomi Mi4 Launched in India

Xiaomi’s Mi3 and Redmi Note handsets were met with roaring enthusiasm in India,thousands of piecesbeing … more

LG G3 Stock Camera Mod v7

If you want to extend your G3’s camera capabilities, check out this new modded camera application that will … more

Ultrasecure Blackphone Had Security Vulnerability

What was touted to be an impenetrable monolithic staple in Android security has just had a … more

LG Dumps Glass, Adopts Plastic for All Future Screens

LG has been incorporating plastic OLED displays in some of its latest and upcoming … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Help backing up, rooting, installing custom ROM, and gapps.

OP grimreaper1014

2nd June 2014, 06:39 PM   |  #11  
Pirateghost's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 8,377
 
11,203 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by grimreaper1014

I didn't pay $35 for a custom ROM. I paid $35 for my phone to be rooted and a custom ROM to be installed.

Why?

Sent from my Nexus 5
2nd June 2014, 07:33 PM   |  #12  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 4,137
 
11,724 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
Now there's a gig I need to get into

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
2nd June 2014, 10:50 PM   |  #13  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirateghost

Why?

Sent from my Nexus 5

Because I really didn't have the time at the time to readup on how to do it myself.
2nd June 2014, 11:23 PM   |  #14  
BirchBarlow's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 148
 
408 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by grimreaper1014

Because I really didn't have the time at the time to readup on how to do it myself.

If that's so, then you shouldn't be a root user. Stick with stock.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to BirchBarlow For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd June 2014, 08:32 PM   |  #15  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by BirchBarlow

If that's so, then you shouldn't be a root user. Stick with stock.

Yeah its a lesson learned. I had actually rooted my moms ZTE Merit a while back but I though things would of changed by now. I just didn't want to mess up the phone and there was things I didn't know at the time I paid for the rooting. However, I went through the steps to root my new phone yesterday and it was successful and I also got CyanogenMod successfully installed with gapps. I can't believe how damn easy it was. Makes me wish I had my $35 back! Oh well lesson learned I guess.

If I want to return the custom ROM back to a fresh state like you can do with the stock ROM can I just use the backup/reset feature and do a factory reset? I did that yesterday and the phone seams to be okay.
3rd June 2014, 08:34 PM   |  #16  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 14,590
 
26,029 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Yes

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
3rd June 2014, 10:06 PM   |  #17  
BirchBarlow's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 148
 
408 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by grimreaper1014

Yeah its a lesson learned. I had actually rooted my moms ZTE Merit a while back but I though things would of changed by now. I just didn't want to mess up the phone and there was things I didn't know at the time I paid for the rooting. However, I went through the steps to root my new phone yesterday and it was successful and I also got CyanogenMod successfully installed with gapps. I can't believe how damn easy it was. Makes me wish I had my $35 back! Oh well lesson learned I guess.

If I want to return the custom ROM back to a fresh state like you can do with the stock ROM can I just use the backup/reset feature and do a factory reset? I did that yesterday and the phone seams to be okay.

A factory reset doesn't touch the system partition, it only erases the data partition, so any changes made to the system (i.e. root) will persist after a factory reset.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes