Gmail 5.0: Material Design and Multiple Account Support

Google started to materialize many of its applications right after announcing the … more

Some of Our Favorite Features in Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is the latest major revision to Google’s mobile operating … more

Sony SmartEyeglass SDK Developer Preview Released

A little over a month ago in Tokyo, Japan, Sony unveiled its new SmartEyeglasstechnology. … more

XDA and Leaseweb: Server Trial/Moto 360 Contest (Winners!)

About a month ago, we held a contest along with XDA’s host, Leaseweb, to … more
Post Reply

Help backing up, rooting, installing custom ROM, and gapps.

OP grimreaper1014

2nd June 2014, 05:39 PM   |  #11  
Pirateghost's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 7,809
 
10,803 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by grimreaper1014

I didn't pay $35 for a custom ROM. I paid $35 for my phone to be rooted and a custom ROM to be installed.

Why?

Sent from my Nexus 5
2nd June 2014, 06:33 PM   |  #12  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,510
 
10,200 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Now there's a gig I need to get into

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
2nd June 2014, 09:50 PM   |  #13  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirateghost

Why?

Sent from my Nexus 5

Because I really didn't have the time at the time to readup on how to do it myself.
2nd June 2014, 10:23 PM   |  #14  
BirchBarlow's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 126
 
356 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by grimreaper1014

Because I really didn't have the time at the time to readup on how to do it myself.

If that's so, then you shouldn't be a root user. Stick with stock.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to BirchBarlow For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd June 2014, 07:32 PM   |  #15  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by BirchBarlow

If that's so, then you shouldn't be a root user. Stick with stock.

Yeah its a lesson learned. I had actually rooted my moms ZTE Merit a while back but I though things would of changed by now. I just didn't want to mess up the phone and there was things I didn't know at the time I paid for the rooting. However, I went through the steps to root my new phone yesterday and it was successful and I also got CyanogenMod successfully installed with gapps. I can't believe how damn easy it was. Makes me wish I had my $35 back! Oh well lesson learned I guess.

If I want to return the custom ROM back to a fresh state like you can do with the stock ROM can I just use the backup/reset feature and do a factory reset? I did that yesterday and the phone seams to be okay.
3rd June 2014, 07:34 PM   |  #16  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 12,151
 
23,139 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Yes

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
3rd June 2014, 09:06 PM   |  #17  
BirchBarlow's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 126
 
356 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by grimreaper1014

Yeah its a lesson learned. I had actually rooted my moms ZTE Merit a while back but I though things would of changed by now. I just didn't want to mess up the phone and there was things I didn't know at the time I paid for the rooting. However, I went through the steps to root my new phone yesterday and it was successful and I also got CyanogenMod successfully installed with gapps. I can't believe how damn easy it was. Makes me wish I had my $35 back! Oh well lesson learned I guess.

If I want to return the custom ROM back to a fresh state like you can do with the stock ROM can I just use the backup/reset feature and do a factory reset? I did that yesterday and the phone seams to be okay.

A factory reset doesn't touch the system partition, it only erases the data partition, so any changes made to the system (i.e. root) will persist after a factory reset.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank