Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] How to blacklist RAM sectors?

OP cozmy

20th August 2014, 12:52 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Hi,

I have already posted some time ago about the problem with my phone ( http://forum.xda-developers.com/goog...ilure-t2822131 ) and now I come with a completion and a specific question to my problem.

The problem still persists ( https://www.dropbox.com/sh/5ym5v7z38...5QxnkZOkAZrDna ) the apps randomly crashing at times. This problem was encountered even on the stock Android before installing any additional app next to those already on it.

I assumed that I might have some broken RAM sectors and that the only possibility to remedy this problem is to deny the OS to use these sectores. As I don't know which sectors are the faulty ones, I will reserve at first 1GB RAM, continuing to do binary search until I manage to izolate them.

I read and found that that the memmap kernel parameter could help me: ( http://unix.stackexchange.com/questi...error-indicati )

My questions is how could I add this parameter to an Android kernel. At the moment I'm using ParanoidAndroid 4.45. I have tried until now apps such as Trickster MOD but memmap is not among the parameters I can edit.

Thanks for your help.
20th August 2014, 01:51 AM   |  #2  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 4,008
 
11,419 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Every consider just rma'ing the device. If you have bad sectors I doubt you'll be able to exclude them

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
Last edited by jd1639; 20th August 2014 at 02:11 AM.
20th August 2014, 04:01 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

Every consider just rma'ing the device. If you have bad sectors I doubt you'll be able to exclude them

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app

As I have said in my previous post, "Sending it to warranty is out of the question since this is a used device bought from a shady guy who is not answering my calls."

I am sure there must be a way to exclude the bad sectors. There are some useful links online but I don't have any idea how to start.

Useful links:
https://android.googlesource.com/ker...mware/memmap.c
https://github.com/hypnos-android/Hy...irmware-memmap
20th August 2014, 04:15 PM   |  #4  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 4,008
 
11,419 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by cozmy

As I have said in my previous post, "Sending it to warranty is out of the question since this is a used device bought from a shady guy who is not answering my calls."

I am sure there must be a way to exclude the bad sectors. There are some useful links online but I don't have any idea how to start.

Useful links:
https://android.googlesource.com/ker...mware/memmap.c
https://github.com/hypnos-android/Hy...irmware-memmap

Have you tried checking the file structure using e2fsck in an adb shell? Double check this because it can be dangerous to use but it should go something like this:

Open a cmd window
Type adb shell
Type e2fsck /dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/userdata

Full disclosure, I have not run this on my own device

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
20th August 2014, 04:38 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

Have you tried checking the file structure using e2fsck in an adb shell? Double check this because it can be dangerous to use but it should go something like this:

Open a cmd window
Type adb shell
Type e2fsck /dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/userdata

Full disclosure, I have not run this on my own device

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app

This is what I have got after running your command: http://prntscr.com/4eobxy
The only exception is that I added the -n parameter since I have not unmounted anything.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes