Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] How to enable Google now in China, please!

OP bush911

11th January 2014, 02:52 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag chongqing
Thanks Meter: 34
 
200 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Donate to Me
More
Hi there,

I am from China and before getting my nexus 5 I owned a galaxy nexus, in which Google now works well just when phone is switched into En-US.

Now for nexus 5 this does not work.
someone uses a AT&T SIM card to enable google now.
some turns the phone into airplane model, turns off location and connects to VPN network to enable it.
Some says "Ok Google" then follow the instructions to enable it.

It seems that all these does not work for me, is there a easy way to enable Google now.

Regards

-----------------------
following this post, then it works.
Last edited by bush911; 11th January 2014 at 05:23 AM. Reason: Finally find a way
11th January 2014, 04:22 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 635
 
1,683 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bush911

Hi there,

I am from China and before getting my nexus 5 I owned a galaxy nexus, in which Google now works well just when phone is switched into En-US.

Now for nexus 5 this does not work.
someone uses a AT&T SIM card to enable google now.
some turns the phone into airplane model, turns off location and connects to VPN network to enable it.
Some says "Ok Google" then follow the instructions to enable it.

It seems that all these does not work for me, is there a easy way to enable Google now.

Regards

Press search bar>Get Google Now (there is a button) ???????????
The Following User Says Thank You to 072665995 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th January 2014, 05:21 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag chongqing
Thanks Meter: 34
 
200 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Donate to Me
More
Thank you, I searched, finally found a way.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 072665995

Press search bar>Get Google Now (there is a button) ???????????

11th January 2014, 09:34 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bush911

Thank you, I searched, finally found a way.

What worked for you? I had to uninstall Google search with titanium backup, install Google search 2.6, enable google now, then update to the latest version of search to have google now enabled in China. This is kind of annoying though as you can't flash otas if you do this because it modifies some system files. If you do my method you'll have to reflash the system image to update manually. So I'm wondering if you could share your method here.

Thanks!
Last edited by computerdating; 11th January 2014 at 09:36 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to computerdating For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th January 2014, 09:39 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Flag chongqing
Thanks Meter: 34
 
200 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Donate to Me
More
sorry, I forgot posting, I just did the same as you did.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...83&postcount=1
Quote:
Originally Posted by computerdating

What worked for you? I had to uninstall Google search with titanium backup, install Google search 2.6, enable google now, then update to the latest version of search to have google now enabled in China. This is kind of annoying though as you can't flash otas if you do this because it modifies some system files. If you do my method you'll have to reflash the system image to update manually. So I'm wondering if you could share your method here.

Thanks!

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to bush911 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st May 2014, 06:27 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
How to make google Now work in China
Quote:
Originally Posted by bush911

Hi there,

I am from China and before getting my nexus 5 I owned a galaxy nexus, in which Google now works well just when phone is switched into En-US.

Now for nexus 5 this does not work.
someone uses a AT&T SIM card to enable google now.
some turns the phone into airplane model, turns off location and connects to VPN network to enable it.
Some says "Ok Google" then follow the instructions to enable it.

It seems that all these does not work for me, is there a easy way to enable Google now.

Regards

-----------------------
following this post, then it works.


For those who are still interested i am also in China ,and man it gave me a hard time but worked finally.
1-you need a proxy(Fqrouter or GAE)
2-install Market Unlocker
3-run Market Unlocker and select Enable Unlocker and Auto Unlock(You should already be connected to another market)
4-If you dont have Google Experience Launcher,then install it
5-Clear data of Google Search app and Play Store
6-Long press on the screen until the settings toggle of the laucher appears
7-Select settings
8-By now you should be able to activate Google Now.Done

I hope this has been helpful.Cheers
The Following User Says Thank You to moussa01 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
google now
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes