Post Reply

How to perform a complete wipe without leaving any files on the phone?

OP integramodder

1st July 2014, 05:54 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag San Francisco
Thanks Meter: 4
 
129 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
I''d like to completely erase the internal memory of the phone. Akin to formatting a HD. It seems when I format all of the available options in recovery it still does not do this (ie full wipe, SD card, cache, system, etc).

How can this be done?

I'm assuming I can do this over adb commands from the PC and then load in a new zip to flash. The reason I'm doing this is that something is corrupt on the phone causing me to have dialer crashes as soon as dialer opens. I've wiped, I've switched ROMS, and nothing has prevented it. More info: http://forum.xda-developers.com/goog...1#post51346791
1st July 2014, 06:06 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Cullompton
Thanks Meter: 95
 
258 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Read the stickies then flash the factory image
1st July 2014, 08:10 PM   |  #3  
Lokke9191's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Glenview, IL
Thanks Meter: 83
 
209 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Fastboot erase userdata
Fastboot flash userdata userdata.img
1st July 2014, 09:25 PM   |  #4  
KJ's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Flag The boonies - southwest Ontario
Thanks Meter: 4,075
 
10,139 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Locking then unlocking the bootloader again would wipe it clean...no?

Never relocked....so guessing.
1st July 2014, 09:27 PM   |  #5  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,514
 
10,214 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJ

Locking then unlocking the bootloader again would wipe it clean...no?

Never relocked....so guessing.

If you oem lock and then unlock it does wipe it again.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to jd1639 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st July 2014, 09:49 PM   |  #6  
Lethargy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Somewhere quiet.
Thanks Meter: 2,030
 
3,411 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

If you oem lock and then unlock it does wipe it again.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app

OP wants to wipe everything I think, boot loader unlock only wipes user data

Fastboot erase boot
Fastboot erase cache
Fastboot erase recovery
Fastboot erase system
Fastboot erase userdata

Then flash the factory .IMG files right after

Or just use the flash-all script that's included in the factory images as it uses -w to wipe everything.
The Following User Says Thank You to Lethargy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd July 2014, 10:50 AM   |  #7  
beekay201's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,128
 
4,647 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokke9191

Fastboot erase userdata
Fastboot flash userdata userdata.img

No need, just

Code:
fastboot format user data
2nd July 2014, 09:29 PM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Flag San Francisco
Thanks Meter: 4
 
129 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by beekay201

No need, just

Code:
fastboot format user data

Will this only delete user data or every bit and byte on the flash memory?
2nd July 2014, 09:34 PM   |  #9  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,514
 
10,214 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by integramodder

Will this only delete user data or every bit and byte on the flash memory?

no, there's 20 or more different partitions on the whole flash memory. This is the only on though that has anything to do with your dialer issue.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
3rd July 2014, 11:12 AM   |  #10  
beekay201's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,128
 
4,647 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by integramodder

Will this only delete user data or every bit and byte on the flash memory?

userdata.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank