Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,734,299 Members 48,844 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

how to get rid of google now bar on home screen

Tip us?
 
quachhong
Old
#1  
quachhong's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 43
Join Date: Feb 2012
Default how to get rid of google now bar on home screen

how do i get rid of google now bar fixed on home screen of my n5 to get more space? some forums said to turn off the google now in the setting, but my setting is already swithed off, and i can't switch on, any idea on this issue is appreciated.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
 
AndrasLOHF
Old
#2  
AndrasLOHF's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 650
Posts: 1,388
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by quachhong View Post
how do i get rid of google now bar fixed on home screen of my n5 to get more space? some forums said to turn off the google now in the setting, but my setting is already swithed off, and i can't switch on, any idea on this issue is appreciated.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
Get Xposed XGels Module. You can get rid of that and get tons of user options like on Nova, etc.
Nexus 5 PandaTrooper on that Paranoid Frandroid!!!

Get your eargasm herehttp://forum.xda-developers.com/goog...droid-t2543796
The Following User Says Thank You to AndrasLOHF For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
quachhong
Old
#3  
quachhong's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 43
Join Date: Feb 2012
i used to use it but i don't like it other launchers, too much settings and complicated...

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
 
vin4yak
Old
#4  
vin4yak's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1857
Posts: 3,292
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Mumbai

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by quachhong View Post
i used to use it but i don't like it other launchers, too much settings and complicated...

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
If you want to get it removed you will have to use xposed or use other launchers... No other way...
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to vin4yak For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
quachhong
Old
#5  
quachhong's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 43
Join Date: Feb 2012
it is risky to use xposed!?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
 
jj14
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 142
Posts: 598
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by quachhong View Post
it is risky to use xposed!?
If you follow the instructions, it is fairly straightforward.
Are you already rooted? (if not, you will need to root, and unlocking the bootloader as part of the rooting process will wipe your phone clean). Once you are rooted, perform a nandroid backup (you should do that before any changes to the system files anyway)

If your phone is running stock, xposed is fairly low risk (I'd like to say "0 risk", but that is never true). If you are on a custom ROM, xposed may not be compatible.
The Following User Says Thank You to jj14 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mistahseller
Old
#7  
mistahseller's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 192
Posts: 793
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Saint Louis
Quote:
Originally Posted by quachhong View Post
it is risky to use xposed!?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
No, and you will find that the GEL launcher is greatly enhanced with the xposed module. You can click on my signature "xposed framework" to take you to the xposed thread.
The Following User Says Thank You to mistahseller For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
quachhong
Old
#8  
quachhong's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 43
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jj14 View Post
If you follow the instructions, it is fairly straightforward.
Are you already rooted? (if not, you will need to root, and unlocking the bootloader as part of the rooting process will wipe your phone clean). Once you are rooted, perform a nandroid backup (you should do that before any changes to the system files anyway)

If your phone is running stock, xposed is fairly low risk (I'd like to say "0 risk", but that is never true). If you are on a custom ROM, xposed may not be compatible.
Thanks, I have done it. will it still get OTA?
 
quachhong
Old
#9  
quachhong's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 43
Join Date: Feb 2012
Thanks everyone, i have done it.
 
jj14
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 142
Posts: 598
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by quachhong View Post
Thanks, I have done it. will it still get OTA?
Any change to the stock system files will prevent OTA. That includes removing system apks, editing/deleting system files . XPosed replaces a system file, so yes, that will prevent OTAs. BUT, the good thing is that it is easy to revert back. Remember to NOT uninstall the XPosed app. Instead, go into the XPosed installer, and use the option there to uninstall. That will restore the original system file, and you can then download the OTA.zip and flash it in custom recovery.



Quote:
Originally Posted by quachhong View Post
Thanks everyone, i have done it.
Now that you have installed XPosed, do try out other modules too - Gravitybox is one of my favorites. But before anything else, take a nandroid backup (I hope you took a nandroid backup before installing XPosed. Copy that backup to another location (maybe your computer, or cloud storage) as well.

The Following User Says Thank You to jj14 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes