Android L is for Lockdown

Root is, without a doubt, the (un)holy grail of the Android world. Those wonderful permissions that allow you as … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: XHangouts Will Improve Your Hangouts

Ever since Google started supporting text messaging in Hangouts many people have … more

Shattered Screen? Turn Your Broken Device into a Complete Media Center!

A cracked screen usually means you’ll have to spend a hefty … more

Gmail 5.0: Material Design and Multiple Account Support

Google started to materialize many of its applications right after announcing the … more
Post Reply

[Q] How to unlock LTE bands,so my Nexus 5 can be used in China Mobile's 4G TD-LTE

OP doraemon616

7th January 2014, 04:30 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
Help, I'm using Nexus 5 Field Test Mode to unlock BAND 41 can not enable China Mobile 4G TD-LTE, 3G TD-SCDMA! How to unlock LTE bands, so my Nexus 5 can be used in China Mobile's 4G TD-LTE, 3G TD-SCDMA! That gives tutorials and address!
求助,我使用Nexus 5 Field Test Mode 解开BAND 41无法启用中国移动4G TD-LTE,3G TD-SCDMA!如何才能解开LTE频段,让我的Nexus 5可以在使用中国移动的4G TD-LTE,3G TD-SCDMA!知道的给出教程和地址!
7th January 2014, 04:47 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 324
 
1,283 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by doraemon616

Help, I'm using Nexus 5 Field Test Mode to unlock BAND 41 can not enable China Mobile 4G TD-LTE, 3G TD-SCDMA! How to unlock LTE bands, so my Nexus 5 can be used in China Mobile's 4G TD-LTE, 3G TD-SCDMA! That gives tutorials and address!
求助,我使用Nexus 5 Field Test Mode 解开BAND 41无法启用中国移动4G TD-LTE,3G TD-SCDMA!如何才能解开LTE频段,让我的Nexus 5可以在使用中国移动的4G TD-LTE,3G TD-SCDMA!知道的给出教程和地址!

There is no unlocking that is need to be done
as the Device is already Unlocked at the LTE band 41

However there are two versions of the Nexus 5 the North American and one for the rest of the world

North America:
GSM: 850/900/1800/1900 MHz
CDMA: Band Class: 0/1/10
WCDMA: Bands: 1/2/4/5/6/8/19
LTE: Bands: 1/2/4/5/17/19/25/26/41

Rest of World:
GSM: 850/900/1800/1900 MHz
WCDMA: Bands: 1/2/4/5/6/8
LTE: Bands: 1/3/5/7/8/20

Please make sure you do indeed have the North American version d280 and not the d281
if you do have the North American version try adding/checking your mobile operators APN settings if that does not work i suggest try to get a new Sim card
7th January 2014, 07:48 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
My phone is the U.S. version of LG-D820, I have replaced the China Mobile 4G SIM card, also opened a 4G package, but still only use 2G networks
7th January 2014, 07:54 AM   |  #4  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 12,159
 
23,162 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by markdapimp

LTE: Bands: 1/2/4/5/17/19/25/26/41

Something wrong there because the 8974 radio wtr1605L can only manage 7 LTE frequencies


-----------------------
Sent via tapatalk.

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM. Please keep support queries to the Q&A section, so that others may benefit
7th January 2014, 07:56 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 324
 
1,283 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Audio
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

Something wrong there because the 8974 radio wtr1605L can only manage 7 LTE frequencies


-----------------------
Sent via tapatalk.

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM. Please keep support queries to the Q&A section, so that others may benefit

Taken that straight from google http://www.google.com/nexus/5/
click tech specs
7th January 2014, 09:01 AM   |  #6  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 12,159
 
23,162 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by markdapimp

Taken that straight from google http://www.google.com/nexus/5/
click tech specs

In which case, either

1) Google are wrong - The WRT1605L packaged within the 8974 for the Qualcomm Snapdragon 800 is capable of only 7 LTE bands. This is teh first chip that can do this.

2) Google are not being clear with their specs and perhaps omitting that a few carrier released versions are programmed differently.

Edit > Here is a D820 box, with 7 LTE bands listed on it:

https://05526033536925262031.googleg...rrrKzoMttwm-eA
Last edited by rootSU; 7th January 2014 at 09:13 AM.
7th January 2014, 12:51 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
China Unicom
Go to China Unicom... China Mobile sucks...
8th January 2014, 07:08 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
N5 North America use with China Mobile 4g
Just picked up a China Mobile 4g card and like the user above am only able to use the edge service. They told me that I had to buy a phone form them to use the 4G service. Will be going back with somebody who speaks better Chinese eventually though.
12th January 2014, 02:34 PM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by doraemon616

Help, I'm using Nexus 5 Field Test Mode to unlock BAND 41 can not enable China Mobile 4G TD-LTE, 3G TD-SCDMA! How to unlock LTE bands, so my Nexus 5 can be used in China Mobile's 4G TD-LTE, 3G TD-SCDMA! That gives tutorials and address!
求助,我使用Nexus 5 Field Test Mode 解开BAND 41无法启用中国移动4G TD-LTE,3G TD-SCDMA!如何才能解开LTE频段,让我的Nexus 5可以在使用中国移动的4G TD-LTE,3G TD-SCDMA!知道的给出教程和地址!

Just go to Chinese forums of Nexus 5, there are plenty of discussion of it.

Due to
1. China Mobile have 3 bands (39/40/41, 41 is super set of 38) been allocated, and Nexus 5 supports only band 41, for LTE-TDD.
So, first of all, you MUST MAKE SURE China Mobile is USING band 41 to provide LTE-TDD where you have your tests.

2. Nexus 5 does not support TD-SCDMA, and it seems do not support FR-CSFB. (or China Mobile did not support it yet.)
So, N5 can not go to LTE automatically through the route: 2G (GSM) -> 3G (TDSCDMA) -> 4G(LTE-TDD).
You MUST using *#*#4636#*#*, select "LTE Only" to force it connect to LTE, and then using "LTE/GSM auto (PRL)" to enable it using CSFB for incoming/outgoing voice service.

Ensure you have 4G USIM card and enabled 4G service using SMS.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank