FORUMS

Top Forum Discussions

[Q] How to unlock LTE bands,so my Nexus 5 can be used in China Mobile's 4G TD-LTE

2 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By doraemon616, Junior Member on 7th January 2014, 04:30 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
11th November 2014, 03:02 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 87
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wideawakenow

I live in China and am in the market for a new phone. My HTC Desire HD is getting rather cranky in its old age.

Investigating 4G here, I've found that the mainland uses its own band, which no other country uses. Everything I've read about it says that even if you buy a phone in Hong Kong, its 4G won't work here. Now, I have seen some phones advertised on HK websites that say they can use both HK and mainland 4G, but I haven't been able to confirm that on any manufacturer sites. Not to mention, they were substantially more expensive.

Luckily there are some Chinese brands that are really improving their wares. The Huawei Ascend Mate 7 is one, and the XiaoMi Mi4 is another. I'm still wary of buying one though, mostly because, while it will have English, everything on it will be set up for Chinese consumers.

I'll keep looking into it because ideally, I'd really like to have a Nexus 6, or Droid Turbo with 4G that works here.

I'm not sure if the Nexus 5's chipset has bands that are compatible with the Chinese 4G standard TD-LTE (LTE TDD), this thread that talks about adding different bands not originally setup on the N5. Another LINK that may help that discusses the N5 on Chinese 4G networks you may need Google Translate.
 
 
11th November 2014, 03:12 AM |#12  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by closedcircuit

I'm not sure if the Nexus 5's chipset has bands that are compatible with the Chinese 4G standard TD-LTE (LTE TDD), this thread that talks about adding different bands not originally setup on the N5. Another LINK that may help that discusses the N5 on Chinese 4G networks you may need Google Translate.

I'm looking to get the Nexus 6, not the Nexus 5.

The Nexus 6 has a US version and an international version. From what I've found online, the international version will actually be able to use the Chinese mainland LTE bands! I'm quite happy about that!
11th November 2014, 08:28 AM |#13  
danarama's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 19,163
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wideawakenow

I'm looking to get the Nexus 6, not the Nexus 5.

The Nexus 6 has a US version and an international version. From what I've found online, the international version will actually be able to use the Chinese mainland LTE bands! I'm quite happy about that!

We this is the nexus 5 forum. The nexus 6 has a different SoC so nothing here can be assumed as valid for you.
The Following User Says Thank You to danarama For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes