Post Reply

How to update Android at Franco Kernel?

22nd June 2014, 01:13 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
I really need help! I currently have Android 4.4.2 with franco.kernel. I would like to update to Android 4.4.3. So I found the instructions of this type:http://nexus5.wonderhowto.com/how-to...pdate-0155334/

Everything is OK to a point 6. Shows a console and upload the files but error pops up.



I use Nexus Root Toolkit.
How to fix it? NO WIPE of course.
22nd June 2014, 01:34 PM   |  #2  
vin4yak's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 2,181
 
3,708 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Donate to Me
More
Stop using toolkits. They tend to do more harm than good.

Download the factory images of 4.4.4 and then flash system, radio and boot manually via fastboot. This will bump your android version to 4.4.4 with everything stock.
The Following User Says Thank You to vin4yak For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd June 2014, 01:34 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Göd
Thanks Meter: 672
 
1,109 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Hi http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=53178646

Tapatalk-kal küldve az én Nexus 5-el
The Following User Says Thank You to bitdomo For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd June 2014, 01:45 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by vin4yak

Stop using toolkits. They tend to do more harm than good.

Download the factory images of 4.4.4 and then flash system, radio and boot manually via fastboot. This will bump your android version to 4.4.4 with everything stock.

If i have 4.4.2 I can go directly to 4.4.4?

When I flash system and boot manually it does not lose data?
Last edited by d3zet; 22nd June 2014 at 01:49 PM.
22nd June 2014, 01:52 PM   |  #5  
vin4yak's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 2,181
 
3,708 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by d3zet

If i have 4.4.2 I can go directly to 4.4.4?

When I flash system and boot manually it does not lose data?

Yes Sir, you can!

Nope, you won't loose any data. Only if you flash the userdata.img will you loose all data from /sdcard.
The Following User Says Thank You to vin4yak For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd June 2014, 05:24 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
You could also un-root temporary with OTA RootKeeper to update your system
22nd June 2014, 05:27 PM   |  #7  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 11,683
 
22,646 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Since we're all putting our 2 cents in, here's mine


Just download the full rooted stock ROM in android development and flash it without wipe from recovery.
The Following User Says Thank You to rootSU For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd June 2014, 06:40 PM   |  #8  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 21,595
 
25,989 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

Since we're all putting our 2 cents in, here's mine


Just download the full rooted stock ROM in android development and flash it without wipe from recovery.

i constantly tell people to do this, its the easiest way out, by far. yet people seemed determined to make it as hard for themselves as possible.
The Following User Says Thank You to simms22 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd June 2014, 06:42 PM   |  #9  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 11,683
 
22,646 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by simms22

i constantly tell people to do this, its the easiest way out, by far. yet people seemed determined to make it as hard for themselves as possible.

I just copy paste from my clipboard manager, I say it that often

Just download the full rooted stock ROM in android development and flash it without wipe from recovery.

It's actually fewer steps anyway.

OTA = revert system changes, boot recovery, flash, re-flash recovery, re-root
Rooted stock = boot recovery, flash

No brainer really. Flashing an OTA if rooted is a fool's errand

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank