Mozilla Ditches Google, Makes Yahoo Default Search Engine

Mozilla and Google have had a long-standing relationship of about 10 years. Google … more

Learn More About Linux with Linux Man Pages

Linux is quite a powerful and very configurable operating system. Thanks to some user-friendly … more

Detect, Avoid IMSI-Catcher Attacks with Android IMSI-Catcher Detector

Privacy is always an important topic, as well as a delicate one to … more

Materialized LeanDroid Fights Your Poor Battery Life

Battery life has always been one of the biggest problems facing most Android devices. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] How to wipe ART cache

OP dead90

8th February 2014, 03:37 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
103 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
As the title say, someone known how to wipe ART cache?
8th February 2014, 03:53 PM   |  #2  
GUGUITOMTG4's Avatar
Senior Member
GuGuPlace
Thanks Meter: 202
 
541 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dead90

As the title say, someone known how to wipe ART cache?

The advantages of ART is that it doesnt run from a cache folder but directly from the apps. No need to clean. (Some body correct me if wrong)
8th February 2014, 04:33 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 46
 
419 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
I believe it pre-compiles similar to Dalvik, but more in advance. I know apps use more space in ART vs Dalvik.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
8th February 2014, 05:14 PM   |  #4  
MrBelter's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 161
 
706 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
i get around 600MB back switching back to Dalvik
8th February 2014, 05:41 PM   |  #5  
GUGUITOMTG4's Avatar
Senior Member
GuGuPlace
Thanks Meter: 202
 
541 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by afazel

I believe it pre-compiles similar to Dalvik, but more in advance. I know apps use more space in ART vs Dalvik.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

It is true that storage usage increases when ART is enabled, but it doesn't mean ART uses more space than dalvik. It's a misconception from people. What happens is that when you turn on ART, the folders "cache/dalvik-cache & data/dalvik-cache" stay untouched taking a huge space. Use a file explorer and confirm.
If you wipe those 2 folders, you might gain even more space back than what you had using dalvik.
Last edited by GUGUITOMTG4; 8th February 2014 at 09:37 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to GUGUITOMTG4 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th February 2014, 09:06 AM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
103 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
I think this can be closed Thanks

# Tapatalking with Nexus 5 #
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes