FORUMS

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

PSA: You Can Optimize Your Note 4’s Recents Menu & RAM

The Note 4 never had the fastest Recents Menu, and despite its 3GB of RAM, … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (July 25 – Aug 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

[Q] IMEI of 0 after TWRP restore

101 posts
Thanks Meter: 21
 
By qwen3579, Senior Member on 15th January 2014, 01:34 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
15th January 2014, 02:02 PM |#11  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
Thanks for the help guys. Luckily, I still have my old with the cracked screen. I'm just going to have to take the screen off the new one and put it on my old one..which is what I was trying to avoid.

Beats having to buy another one due to my screw up.
 
 
15th January 2014, 02:04 PM |#12  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

Speed kills

---------- Post added at 08:02 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:01 AM ----------



Speed kills

LOL...says the guy with a Porsche!
The Following User Says Thank You to qwen3579 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th January 2014, 02:06 PM |#13  
EddyOS's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Liverpool, Merseyside
Thanks Meter: 3,723
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by qwen3579

That's what I thought. I usually back up everything before doing anything. I just got in a rush....

It's a harsh lesson
15th January 2014, 04:01 PM |#14  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
Alright, so I swapped the motherboards of the phones, booted up my new phone, restored from nandroid (avoiding the EFS this time, just in case) and I'm back up - crack free.

Thanks for the info guys, lesson learned.


"What do we do when we fall"?
15th January 2014, 04:07 PM |#15  
jd1639's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 4,882
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by qwen3579

Alright, so I swapped the motherboards of the phones, booted up my new phone, restored from nandroid (avoiding the EFS this time, just in case) and I'm back up - crack free.

Thanks for the info guys, lesson learned.


"What do we do when we fall"?

Glad you got something working
15th January 2014, 06:17 PM |#16  
WoodburyMan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Connecticut
Thanks Meter: 485
 
More
Yea. All guides need to make sure to post a warning and a link to the EFS backup thread. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2514095

First thing I did was make a backup of mine and store it away in a safe place as well as on the phone. I've flashed two friend's N5's with CM as well, and I did the same with their EFS just in case something happens.


One other route you could try is restoring the phone to factory default, relock the bootloader so the mod trip isn't set, and send it back saying it wont connect to cell network, and take your chances RMAing it. However the display swap may be easier. Either way once you swap your display back, do a EFS backup with that link and save the files it makes in a safe place.
15th January 2014, 08:17 PM |#17  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 188
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by qwen3579

I shattered the screen on my Nexus 5 so I ordered a replacement from Google and before switching to the new one, I made a nandroid backup using TWRP.

I put my SIM in the new Nexus, transferred my nandroid backup, and restored it to my new phone.

Now, I cannot connect to AT&T due to my IMEI showing as 0.

I think I have narrowed down the problem to restoring the EFS partition on the new phone when I wasn't supposed to? So far, I have tried restoring the phone to stock (from this guide). I even tried manually changing the IMEI to the correct number (but it doesn't stick, just reverts to 0).

Is there something else that needs to be wiped in the stock restore process that's not covered in that guide? What am I missing? Any help is greatly appreciated.

Somewhere in xda there is a guide to create an imei,i don't have the link to the thread, I'll see if i can find it for you or you may Google it

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
15th January 2014, 08:28 PM |#18  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juansegovia20

Somewhere in xda there is a guide to create an imei,i don't have the link to the thread, I'll see if i can find it for you or you may Google it

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Yeah, I found a guide CATing the IMEI to /dev/pttycmd1 - that didn't work. Most are hesitant with sharing info on changing IMEIs, which is understandable. It's just frustrating knowing what the problem is and not being able to fix it.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes