Post Reply

[Q] Impossible to flash bootloader/recovery/rom

OP RealMyop

29th March 2014, 08:41 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Hi everyone !

Here I am in a really bad situation...
I bought a second hand phone with a rom issu and the guy who had it told me he ahd no time to waste trying to make it work again, I decided to buy it thinking that nothing could resist a factory reset via ADB.
But, and if I'm here today, it's because I'm in a such a situation, I need some help, and hope you guys can find a solution or at least some leads.
when I got it:
- model 16 GB D821
- The battery was not correctly attached in the phone (i did open it and put it back how it should be and seems to work)
- it is root, bootloader unlock, with Teamwin recovery version 2.6.3.2
- bootloader version HHZ11D

I can launch the teamwin recovery, it's asking for a password when it's starts, i don't know whay BUT I did a data format seeing that some people had some problem with it and did that to fix it
In Teamwin I got 0mb of storage and no OS installed, again it could be fixable via ADB

Now the best !

I can't flash anything on the phone. I can connect to it, it's well detected, I can control it (via ADB or Fastboot) and I can even had a temporary recovery with the nexus toolkit. but:

-Impossible to flash the bootloader, I do everything right, there is not "error" but at the end nothing changes, I'm back with the HHZ11D version and not the latest on I'm trying to get the HHZ11Z.
-Impossible to flash the recovery, same as the bootloader, version teamwin 2.6.3.2.
-impossible to flash a rom, and I don't have one anyway....

Here we are, I think I tried everything, but any clue would be appreciated. I hope I can fix this...

Thanks for your help.

And finally a picture of my fastboot -w when I do one, does it seem normal to you ?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture_écran fastboot -w.JPG
Views:	109
Size:	58.6 KB
ID:	2657683  
Last edited by RealMyop; 29th March 2014 at 08:45 PM.
29th March 2014, 09:12 PM   |  #2  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,501
 
10,187 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Try in fastboot, fastboot oem lock. Then reboot and see if the bootloader is locked. I'm guessing it isn't and your emmc is bad.

Sent from my Nexus 5
The Following User Says Thank You to jd1639 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th March 2014, 09:42 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by samersh72

nothing will stick, emmc fried.

Is there anything I can do ? Seems not...

Can I change it ?
29th March 2014, 09:48 PM   |  #5  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,501
 
10,187 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by RealMyop

Is there anything I can do ? Seems not...

Can I change it ?

No, you're hosed. Rma would be the option but not in your case. You're not going to be able to flash anything.

Sent from my Nexus 5
Last edited by jd1639; 29th March 2014 at 09:50 PM.
30th March 2014, 12:43 AM   |  #6  
GUGUITOMTG4's Avatar
Senior Member
GuGuPlace
Thanks Meter: 202
 
535 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RealMyop

Is there anything I can do ? Seems not...

Can I change it ?

Did bootloader get locked?
30th March 2014, 02:39 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by GUGUITOMTG4

Did bootloader get locked?

Yes I can lock back the bootloader.
30th March 2014, 02:41 AM   |  #8  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,501
 
10,187 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by RealMyop

Yes I can lock back the bootloader.

If you can lock it, unlock it again then fastboot flash the cache.img from the factory image

Sent from my Nexus 5
30th March 2014, 02:51 AM   |  #9  
GUGUITOMTG4's Avatar
Senior Member
GuGuPlace
Thanks Meter: 202
 
535 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
You may be lucky. here you will find the cache.img on method 2. If it doesn't work, do the method 1
http://forum.xda-developers.com/goog...image-t2513701
Last edited by GUGUITOMTG4; 30th March 2014 at 02:59 AM.
30th March 2014, 06:10 PM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by GUGUITOMTG4

You may be lucky. here you will find the cache.img on method 2. If it doesn't work, do the method 1
http://forum.xda-developers.com/goog...image-t2513701

I did try and it's not working either... Is there a part in the phone I can change to fix this ?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank