FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

[Q] init.d scripts not working with Cataclysm rom

1,623 posts
Thanks Meter: 228
 
By Lownita, Senior Member on 21st March 2014, 05:10 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I can't get init.d scripts to work with cataclysm rom. They simply do nothing. Permissions are correct, I double checked everything. What is going wrong?
 
 
21st March 2014, 05:12 PM |#2  
danarama's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 19,164
 
More
Does the kernel have init.d support?
21st March 2014, 05:16 PM |#3  
Lownita's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Germany
Thanks Meter: 228
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

Does the kernel have init.d support?

Yes, it is latest franco kernel. I think something may have gone wrong with the rom itself, but I have no idea what it might be. Perhaps busybox got borked from updating it over the playstore?
21st March 2014, 05:24 PM |#4  
danarama's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 19,164
 
More
Have they ever worked on the ROM?

How does the ROM call root? Some ROMs call root via init.d - I'm not sure in this case if init.d scripts that run before that are causing an issue.

You can crate init.d scripts that don't require root. Thinks like:

Code:
echo "hello" > /sdcard/hello.txt
And check they can do that.

As for specifics, I'm not familiar with the rom or kernel.
21st March 2014, 05:37 PM |#5  
Lownita's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Germany
Thanks Meter: 228
 
More
That doesn't work either. The roms FAQ says that init.d support would rely on kernel. So I guess it should be able to do it. Strange.
21st March 2014, 05:53 PM |#6  
danarama's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 19,164
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lownita

That doesn't work either. The roms FAQ says that init.d support would rely on kernel. So I guess it should be able to do it. Strange.

And franco definitely has support? I only ask cause I cant see any feature list for it.
21st March 2014, 06:54 PM |#7  
Lownita's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Germany
Thanks Meter: 228
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

And franco definitely has support? I only ask cause I cant see any feature list for it.

Yep, for sure! They are even sharing some scripts in the thread
21st March 2014, 07:08 PM |#8  
Ben36's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,681
 
More
You probably need a helper app as Cataclysm is pretty much stock rom. Just with some added extras

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes