FORUMS

OnePlus Addresses Reservation List Cheating

Jake Cooper figured out how to bump his place up on OnePlus’ reservation list and … more

OnePlus 2 Benchmark Scores Show Its Muscle

This video by FoneArena contains all the popular benchmarks being tested on the OnePlus 2, … more

Sony’s Emergence in The Middle: Is The Price Right?

Sony’s Electronics Division is not in its best days, and its smartphone … more

HTC Delivering Ads Straight to Sense Home

HTC’s 2015 has been a year marked by a desperate search for revenue.The HTC One M9 … more

Cant install apks

167 posts
Thanks Meter: 3
 
By nad4321, Senior Member on 18th June 2014, 09:48 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
19th June 2014, 12:32 AM |#21  
Pirateghost's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 8,799
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by simms22

interesting

Yeah. Something fishy here

#stayparanoid
 
 
19th June 2014, 01:55 AM |#22  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 25,058
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirateghost

Yeah. Something fishy here

#stayparanoid

halo was involved in a layer of the os thats very secure, thats why you couldnt install apps while there. maybe its the same here?
19th June 2014, 02:03 AM |#23  
Pirateghost's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 8,799
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by simms22

halo was involved in a layer of the os thats very secure, thats why you couldnt install apps while there. maybe its the same here?

Maybe. But it just seems weird that a lockscreen replacement would create an overlay for the entire system even when it's not activated.

#stayparanoid
19th June 2014, 05:56 PM |#24  
jsgraphicart's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,640
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirateghost

Check this out. . We discovered this in the Paranoid Android Community the other day.

If you have Echo Notifications Lockscreen installed, whether you have it activated or not, it disables installation of apks and the OK button on certain other dialogs. I went nuts trying to figure out what happened...

#stayparanoid

Just tested that out myself and it does in fact cause the issue. Weird.
20th June 2014, 07:08 AM |#25  
captaincanada84's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Asheville, NC
Thanks Meter: 38
 
More
Just coming in to confirm that it is indeed Echo Lockscreen that can cause this issue. Happened on my One X running Paranoid Android 4.4-RC2.
25th June 2014, 07:59 AM |#26  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Echo still allows you to install APKs
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirateghost

Check this out. . We discovered this in the Paranoid Android Community the other day.

If you have Echo Notifications Lockscreen installed, whether you have it activated or not, it disables installation of apks and the OK button on certain other dialogs. I went nuts trying to figure out what happened...

#stayparanoid

Echo developer here. You can install APKs by unchecking "use Echo lockscreen" in the settings. After you install the APK, you can turn Echo back on.

Echo hold a overlay in the background to update the UI whenever a notification arrives. This allows us to be much faster than most apps that only update the UI when the lockscreen appears. During the apk install prompt, google checks whether any overlay exists (thus any screen filter app would disable it too), and doesn't allow the user to proceed if there's one exists.

We are working on a more permanent fix for this issue that retains the smoothness. For now, APK installs work fine when you pause Echo in settings.
The Following User Says Thank You to echolocker For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th June 2014, 01:33 PM |#27  
Pirateghost's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 8,799
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by echolocker

Echo developer here. You can install APKs by unchecking "use Echo lockscreen" in the settings. After you install the APK, you can turn Echo back on.

Echo hold a overlay in the background to update the UI whenever a notification arrives. This allows us to be much faster than most apps that only update the UI when the lockscreen appears. During the apk install prompt, google checks whether any overlay exists (thus any screen filter app would disable it too), and doesn't allow the user to proceed if there's one exists.

We are working on a more permanent fix for this issue that retains the smoothness. For now, APK installs work fine when you pause Echo in settings.

This is not a good solution. Your product is suffering because of this and you have caused quite a lot of problems for a lot of people. Have you clarified this in your play store listing?

#stayparanoid
25th June 2014, 06:54 PM |#28  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirateghost

This is not a good solution. Your product is suffering because of this and you have caused quite a lot of problems for a lot of people. Have you clarified this in your play store listing?

#stayparanoid

Absolutely - We make this very clear in our play store listing.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes