Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,768,490 Members 50,712 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] why can't I install Gapps?!?!

Tip us?
 
maxell505
Old
#11  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 131
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Perry
Quote:
Originally Posted by GUGUITOMTG4 View Post
Yep, that's pretty much what's recommended for changing Roms. I personally don't clean anything when flashing similar Roms but PA is a bit complex imo and you already had issues with it. so, wipe.
Ok for some reason, gapps updated and then it said that it has to install so it rebooted me into recovery and it started to install but it said that there was an error in the rom manager script or something like that. So I just got fed up and restored my backup that I had. So now I am back on stock. I want to install OmniROM though tomorrow.
 
Pirateghost
Old
#12  
Pirateghost's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 6633
Posts: 10,290
Join Date: Jul 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxell505 View Post
Ok for some reason, gapps updated and then it said that it has to install so it rebooted me into recovery and it started to install but it said that there was an error in the rom manager script or something like that. So I just got fed up and restored my backup that I had. So now I am back on stock. I want to install OmniROM though tomorrow.
Because the Paranoid OTA cannot use CWM. Use twrp instead.


Sent from my Nexus 5
 
maxell505
Old
#13  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 131
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Perry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirateghost View Post
Because the Paranoid OTA cannot use CWM. Use twrp instead.


Sent from my Nexus 5
So lets say that I just want to install OmniROM. Will OmniROM work with CWM?


Also will I be able to automatically update gapps once OmniROM boots because for some reason I cannot flash the latest version of gapps so I have to use an older version?
 
xxx_star_droid
Old
#14  
Member
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 39
Join Date: Aug 2013
You can also get gapps from goo manager and the online version.

Sent from my LG-D800 using xda app-developers app
DC Roms Corp.
Owner of:
Asus Transformer TF200T,
HTC EVO 4g Supersonic,
Galaxy Nexus(Samsung),
LG G2 D800,
HTC One M7,
Kindle Fire(original).
Show your thank you. Hit the thanks button.
Thanks
 
Pirateghost
Old
#15  
Pirateghost's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 6633
Posts: 10,290
Join Date: Jul 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxell505 View Post
So lets say that I just want to install OmniROM. Will OmniROM work with CWM?


Also will I be able to automatically update gapps once OmniROM boots because for some reason I cannot flash the latest version of gapps so I have to use an older version?
It's not that PA doesn't work with CWM, just the ota app.
OmniROM requires twrp or CWM-based recovery. Not CWM itself if I recall.

You also have zero reason to install those gapps updates on either rom..

Gapps are updated automatically through the play store.

Sent from my Nexus 5
 
maxell505
Old
#16  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 131
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Perry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirateghost View Post
It's not that PA doesn't work with CWM, just the ota app.
OmniROM requires twrp or CWM-based recovery. Not CWM itself if I recall.

You also have zero reason to install those gapps updates on either rom..

Gapps are updated automatically through the play store.

Sent from my Nexus 5
ok. Sorry if I am asking too many unnecessary questions. So since I have ClockWorkMod Recovery, I can easily install OmniROM by just flashing it and than installing gapps after that right?
 
Pirateghost
Old
#17  
Pirateghost's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 6633
Posts: 10,290
Join Date: Jul 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxell505 View Post
ok. Sorry if I am asking too many unnecessary questions. So since I have ClockWorkMod Recovery, I can easily install OmniROM by just flashing it and than installing gapps after that right?
Yes. You can do the same thing with ParanoidAndroid also. You DO NOT need to update gapps through the ota app

Sent from my Nexus 5

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Device Review: Samsung Gear Live

Recently, Google announced Android Wear to the world. Android Wear is the Android-based initiative from … more

Forums Added for the Nvidia Shield Tablet and Sharp Aquos Crystal

Just a few days ago, wetook an in depth look at theNvidia Shield Tabletand … more

[OTA Captured] Android 4.4.3 Lands on European HTC One M7

The secound release of the Android L Developer Previewmay be the new hotness for … more

Take a Perfectly Stable Shot with Open Camera

The camera app on our Android smartphones and tablets isn’t something we focus on all … more