Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,742,027 Members 49,117 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] why can't I install Gapps?!?!

Tip us?
 
maxell505
Old
#11  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 130
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Perry
Quote:
Originally Posted by GUGUITOMTG4 View Post
Yep, that's pretty much what's recommended for changing Roms. I personally don't clean anything when flashing similar Roms but PA is a bit complex imo and you already had issues with it. so, wipe.
Ok for some reason, gapps updated and then it said that it has to install so it rebooted me into recovery and it started to install but it said that there was an error in the rom manager script or something like that. So I just got fed up and restored my backup that I had. So now I am back on stock. I want to install OmniROM though tomorrow.
 
Pirateghost
Old
#12  
Pirateghost's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 6356
Posts: 10,099
Join Date: Jul 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxell505 View Post
Ok for some reason, gapps updated and then it said that it has to install so it rebooted me into recovery and it started to install but it said that there was an error in the rom manager script or something like that. So I just got fed up and restored my backup that I had. So now I am back on stock. I want to install OmniROM though tomorrow.
Because the Paranoid OTA cannot use CWM. Use twrp instead.


Sent from my Nexus 5
 
maxell505
Old
#13  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 130
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Perry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirateghost View Post
Because the Paranoid OTA cannot use CWM. Use twrp instead.


Sent from my Nexus 5
So lets say that I just want to install OmniROM. Will OmniROM work with CWM?


Also will I be able to automatically update gapps once OmniROM boots because for some reason I cannot flash the latest version of gapps so I have to use an older version?
 
xxx_star_droid
Old
#14  
Member
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 39
Join Date: Aug 2013
You can also get gapps from goo manager and the online version.

Sent from my LG-D800 using xda app-developers app
DC Roms Corp.
Owner of:
Asus Transformer TF200T,
HTC EVO 4g Supersonic,
Galaxy Nexus(Samsung),
LG G2 D800,
HTC One M7,
Kindle Fire(original).
Show your thank you. Hit the thanks button.
Thanks
 
Pirateghost
Old
#15  
Pirateghost's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 6356
Posts: 10,099
Join Date: Jul 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxell505 View Post
So lets say that I just want to install OmniROM. Will OmniROM work with CWM?


Also will I be able to automatically update gapps once OmniROM boots because for some reason I cannot flash the latest version of gapps so I have to use an older version?
It's not that PA doesn't work with CWM, just the ota app.
OmniROM requires twrp or CWM-based recovery. Not CWM itself if I recall.

You also have zero reason to install those gapps updates on either rom..

Gapps are updated automatically through the play store.

Sent from my Nexus 5
 
maxell505
Old
#16  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 130
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Perry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirateghost View Post
It's not that PA doesn't work with CWM, just the ota app.
OmniROM requires twrp or CWM-based recovery. Not CWM itself if I recall.

You also have zero reason to install those gapps updates on either rom..

Gapps are updated automatically through the play store.

Sent from my Nexus 5
ok. Sorry if I am asking too many unnecessary questions. So since I have ClockWorkMod Recovery, I can easily install OmniROM by just flashing it and than installing gapps after that right?
 
Pirateghost
Old
#17  
Pirateghost's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 6356
Posts: 10,099
Join Date: Jul 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxell505 View Post
ok. Sorry if I am asking too many unnecessary questions. So since I have ClockWorkMod Recovery, I can easily install OmniROM by just flashing it and than installing gapps after that right?
Yes. You can do the same thing with ParanoidAndroid also. You DO NOT need to update gapps through the ota app

Sent from my Nexus 5

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

[OTA Captured] Verizon LG G Pad 8.3 Finally Gets Official KitKat Update

It’s been almost nine months since the LG G Pad … more

Enjoy Wallpaper Overload with PhotoPhase

We don’t usually feature live wallpapers on the XDA Portal unless they are somewhat innovative … more

Monitor What Your Phone’s Camera Sees with Android Wear

Having a smart device strapped to your wrist certainly has its merits. A … more

Mod Lets You Have Stereo Speakers on Your Sony Xperia Z1 (Sort Of)

The stereo speakers onthe Sony Xperia Z2areprobably a relatively large … more