FORUMS

IonVR Coming Soon, HTC M9 Dev Edition Gets Android 5.1 – XDA TV

The HTC M9 Developer Edition has received Android 5.1. That and … more

Android 5.1.1 Omni ROM For Motorola Xoom

Back in Feb 2011, the Motorola Xoom became the first device to be sold with Android 3.0 … more

CleanSlate Brings Fingerprint Scanner Mod to HTC One M9+

Work of XDA Recognized Developer tbalden, CleanSlate custom kernel for the HTC … more

Sunday Debate: Which Factors Caused HTC’s Woes?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on HTC’s situation. Come with your … more

Installing apps to otg usb.

1,226 posts
Thanks Meter: 306
 
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Is it possible? I purchased the grand theft auto vice and a few final fantasy ones. And we ask now how much space those take up.

And if it isn't currently possible, what are the possibilities of getting that feature in the future (whether it be through official Google means or through xda dev means)

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Last edited by TheAtheistOtaku; 21st January 2014 at 07:36 AM.
 
 
19th January 2014, 11:10 AM |#2  
danarama's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 18,653
 
More
Yes, I do it with FolderMount application. HOWEVER, you must use ROM or kernel (Madhi ROM, Chaos Kernel) that first supports automount of OTG. using Stickmount etc is not an option.

I use FolderMount and Chaos kernel. Works great.
The Following User Says Thank You to danarama For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th January 2014, 06:37 AM |#3  
TheAtheistOtaku's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Buffalo
Thanks Meter: 306
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

Yes, I do it with FolderMount application. HOWEVER, you must use ROM or kernel (Madhi ROM, Chaos Kernel) that first supports automount of OTG. using Stickmount etc is not an option.

I use FolderMount and Chaos kernel. Works great.

ok i have folder mount (bought the pro version) and am running chaos kernel. The game i would like to run off the sd card is grand theft auto vice city (which i got for free off the amazon app store while a promotion was going on). while i can mount the data folder the game uses, i cant figure out how to move the actual 1.3gb apk file.
20th January 2014, 06:56 AM |#4  
danarama's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 18,653
 
More
Its not an apk that's big. /sdcard/Android/obb

Personally I recreate the folder in there to where I want the data then mount in foldermount and move.

-----------------------
Sent via tapatalk.

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM. Please keep support queries to the Q&A section, so that others may benefit
21st January 2014, 06:43 AM |#5  
TheAtheistOtaku's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Buffalo
Thanks Meter: 306
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

Its not an apk that's big. /sdcard/Android/obb

Personally I recreate the folder in there to where I want the data then mount in foldermount and move.

-----------------------
Sent via tapatalk.

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM. Please keep support queries to the Q&A section, so that others may benefit

Unless I'm reading the following wrong, I'm pretty sure is the actual apk that's that big. Forgive me if I actually am reading this wrong
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1390286547488.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	24.4 KB
ID:	2529334Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1390286566491.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	42.6 KB
ID:	2529335Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1390286583002.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	100.2 KB
ID:	2529336

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
21st January 2014, 06:53 AM |#6  
danarama's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 18,653
 
More
Maybe it is then. You'll not be moving the apk. But there's a lot more data where I said

Edit > I thought we were talking about San Andreas. Is that vice city?

-----------------------
Sent via tapatalk.

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM. Please keep support queries to the Q&A section, so that others may benefit
Last edited by danarama; 21st January 2014 at 06:58 AM.
21st January 2014, 07:36 AM |#7  
TheAtheistOtaku's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Buffalo
Thanks Meter: 306
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

Maybe it is then. You'll not be moving the apk. But there's a lot more data where I said

Edit > I thought we were talking about San Andreas. Is that vice city?

-----------------------
Sent via tapatalk.

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM. Please keep support queries to the Q&A section, so that others may benefit

yep vice city, corrected the op with that lol
and as for my question, we cant currently install apks to an external source then correct?
Last edited by TheAtheistOtaku; 21st January 2014 at 07:38 AM.
21st January 2014, 08:36 AM |#8  
danarama's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 18,653
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheAtheistOtaku

yep vice city, corrected the op with that lol
and as for my question, we cant currently install apks to an external source then correct?

No, and you won't be able to.

Its just /sdcard/Android/data and /sdcard/Android/obb, which actually is where almost every game stores their large files. GTA SA for example has over 2GB in there
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes