Post Reply

Intermittent Hangouts Keyboard Problem

OP doogeem3

17th March 2014, 06:52 PM   |  #1  
doogeem3's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Ancaster
Thanks Meter: 1
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Donate to Me
More
I'm having an issue with opening hangouts and the keyboard not inputting anything into the message field. The keyboards responds to keys pressed but nothing shows up.

I have to close Hangouts from Recent Apps and reopen it to get the keyboard to work. Happens quite often but not everytime.

Problem is on a Nexus 5 with 4.4.2. This is my second Nexus 5 so I'm thinking it's a bug in the software but haven't found anyone else with the issue.

Any ideas?

Thanks
17th March 2014, 06:56 PM   |  #2  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 21,939
 
26,348 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by doogeem3

I'm having an issue with opening hangouts and the keyboard not inputting anything into the message field. The keyboards responds to keys pressed but nothing shows up.

I have to close Hangouts from Recent Apps and reopen it to get the keyboard to work. Happens quite often but not everytime.

Problem is on a Nexus 5 with 4.4.2. This is my second Nexus 5 so I'm thinking it's a bug in the software but haven't found anyone else with the issue.

Any ideas?

Thanks

or it could be a mod that your using(xposed?), or an app that you have installed interfering. honestly, this is the first ive heard of such an issue. you are using the stock keyboard?
17th March 2014, 06:59 PM   |  #3  
doogeem3's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Ancaster
Thanks Meter: 1
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by simms22

or it could be a mod that your using(xposed?), or an app that you have installed interfering. honestly, this is the first ive heard of such an issue. you are using the stock keyboard?

Yup stock keyboard. I can't think of any apps that may be causing the issue other than "Notify Me" I haven't looked deep enough into whether it only happens randomly when swiping from the popup notification or not.

Going to have to pay attention to that.
18th March 2014, 12:23 AM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
73 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by doogeem3

Yup stock keyboard. I can't think of any apps that may be causing the issue other than "Notify Me" I haven't looked deep enough into whether it only happens randomly when swiping from the popup notification or not.

Going to have to pay attention to that.

Same issue here, I found your topic on another forum OP

Stock nexus 5 here.
18th March 2014, 12:26 AM   |  #5  
El Daddy's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Roseville, MN
Thanks Meter: 4,146
 
3,684 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Donate to Me
More
I've experienced this a few times. Usually I just back out and re-open the message thread and It's fixed.
18th March 2014, 03:34 AM   |  #6  
doogeem3's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Ancaster
Thanks Meter: 1
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Donate to Me
More
Good to know I'm not the only one! It's a pretty irritating issue which is about to force me to find a new app for SMS!
9th May 2014, 03:42 PM   |  #7  
doogeem3's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Ancaster
Thanks Meter: 1
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Donate to Me
More
So I solved my issue. I was using a notification app called "NotifyMe!"

Since removing it, I haven't had any more keyboard issues.
The Following User Says Thank You to doogeem3 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th May 2014, 03:53 PM   |  #8  
vin4yak's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 2,383
 
4,133 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Yeah, even I face this issue... However, I'm on a custom rom and use SwiftKey.
I face this issue not only in Hangouts but also when I use whatsapp as well.
But it happens rarely so didn't give it much thought..

- Sent from an IceCold Hammerhead!
10th May 2014, 06:56 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 327
 
1,390 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
You can determine if it is a 3rd party app interfering by rebooting your phone into Safe mode. If the problem goes away, you know it's one of your apps such as the OP's "Notify Me" which appears to of been his cause for this issue.
10th May 2014, 07:16 PM   |  #10  
qbanlinxx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 207
 
679 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
I also had this issue running Swiftkey,switched tinthe aosp keyboard and haven't had an issue with it

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank