Best Alarm App for Android?

There are tons of choices to choose from when looking for a great alarm app for Android. While the stock … more

Unofficial CM12.1 Available for Moto E 2014

While Motorola is yet to release a final 5.0.2 build for the Moto E 2014, XDA Senior … more

Pinsy Brings Social Sketching To Your Watch & Phone

Did you watch Apple’s VP draw on his wrist during the Apple Watch announcement … more

CyanogenMod 12.1 for Samsung Galaxy S5

Android 5.1 is slowly putting its mark in the custom ROM world. CyanogenMod 12.1 is available to … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Anyone else have this issue where the CPU will randomly change frequency?

8th May 2014, 09:05 PM   |  #1  
RollTribe's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Virginia, USA
Thanks Meter: 733
 
1,915 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
I've had this issue on Mahdi ROM which is what I'm on right now, but also every other ROM and every kernel that I've tried except for ElementalX. Basically, the kernel will change it's max frequency to 1.19 GHz usually, and soemtimes 1.6 GHz or 1.9GHz and you can't change it back until you flash a different kernel. Rebooting doesn't help, and changing it kernel tuner only helps temporarily. Every other kernel app only changes CPU0 for some reason not sure if that's just be or what. It's a very strange problem, and I have not gotten any help or suggestions so far, so if anyone knows how to help, that would be great. Again, this has happened on every single ROM I've tried, with every kernel, except ElementalX (and I think Trinity but I didn't use it long enough to be sure).

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
8th May 2014, 09:11 PM   |  #2  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 23,725
 
28,878 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by RollTribe

I've had this issue on Mahdi ROM which is what I'm on right now, but also every other ROM and every kernel that I've tried except for ElementalX. Basically, the kernel will change it's max frequency to 1.19 GHz usually, and soemtimes 1.6 GHz or 1.9GHz and you can't change it back until you flash a different kernel. Rebooting doesn't help, and changing it kernel tuner only helps temporarily. Every other kernel app only changes CPU0 for some reason not sure if that's just be or what. It's a very strange problem, and I have not gotten any help or suggestions so far, so if anyone knows how to help, that would be great. Again, this has happened on every single ROM I've tried, with every kernel, except ElementalX (and I think Trinity but I didn't use it long enough to be sure).

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

go to /etc/init.d/, then delete all the files inside of it, then reboot for it to take affect.
8th May 2014, 09:19 PM   |  #3  
RollTribe's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Virginia, USA
Thanks Meter: 733
 
1,915 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by simms22

go to /etc/init.d/, then delete all the files inside of it, then reboot for it to take affect.

Didn't help. Still at 1.19 GHz.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
8th May 2014, 09:25 PM   |  #4  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 23,725
 
28,878 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by RollTribe

Didn't help. Still at 1.19 GHz.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

well, its not another rom or kernel issue, its an issue on the user side(a mod or a file that you added?).
8th May 2014, 09:29 PM   |  #5  
RollTribe's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Virginia, USA
Thanks Meter: 733
 
1,915 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by simms22

well, its not another rom or kernel issue, its an issue on the user side(a mod or a file that you added?).

See, I thought that too, but some ROMs this will happen right when I flash and others it occurs a few days in. It's sort of weird. Clean flashed like 10 times.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
8th May 2014, 09:36 PM   |  #6  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 23,725
 
28,878 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by RollTribe

See, I thought that too, but some ROMs this will happen right when I flash and others it occurs a few days in. It's sort of weird. Clean flashed like 10 times.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

there are things that get missed when wiping, like init.d files sometimes. everyone(but 1 person) ive seen this happen to has had it fixed when deleting their init.d folder/files. id recommend flashing the factory img instead of wiping, it one way to get a true clean flash afterwards.
The Following User Says Thank You to simms22 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th May 2014, 01:08 AM   |  #7  
RollTribe's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Virginia, USA
Thanks Meter: 733
 
1,915 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by simms22

there are things that get missed when wiping, like init.d files sometimes. everyone(but 1 person) ive seen this happen to has had it fixed when deleting their init.d folder/files. id recommend flashing the factory img instead of wiping, it one way to get a true clean flash afterwards.

I think there may be something seriously wrong with my phone... I went ahead and flash the stock image, and everything went fine... but lo and behold on entirely stock firmware my phone still maxes out at whatever frequency it damn well feels like (1.5 GHz right now, but it was at 1.19 earlier). I have no idea what could possibly be doing this.
10th May 2014, 01:25 AM   |  #8  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 23,725
 
28,878 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by RollTribe

I think there may be something seriously wrong with my phone... I went ahead and flash the stock image, and everything went fine... but lo and behold on entirely stock firmware my phone still maxes out at whatever frequency it damn well feels like (1.5 GHz right now, but it was at 1.19 earlier). I have no idea what could possibly be doing this.

if its completely stock, its probably due to mpdecision.
10th May 2014, 01:37 AM   |  #9  
RollTribe's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Virginia, USA
Thanks Meter: 733
 
1,915 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by simms22

if its completely stock, its probably due to mpdecision.

Okay, I'll be honest I'm not entirely sure how mpdecision works, but from what I understand this is not how it should behave, yes? My phone is just stuck at 1.19 ghz and won't go up even when the CPU load goes up, and then my device lags. If this is how it is supposed to behave, would you mind explaining why?
6th June 2014, 07:40 PM   |  #10  
RollTribe's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Virginia, USA
Thanks Meter: 733
 
1,915 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Bump. Still having same problem would really like a solution, it's extremely annoying and I've seen a few other people have this problem

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes