Update Overload: SuperSU Heavily Updated

There are apps and apps out there. Very few can reach the level of popularity required to stay at … more

Lollipop Leak Available for the Sprint Galaxy S5

Since the Android 5.0Lollipop’s official release not too long ago, we’ve seen … more

CPU Spy Gets an Android Lollipop Makeover

At some point in the distant past, you probably heard of CPU Spy for Android by XDARetired … more

Amazon Fire TV Stick vs Chromecast – XDA TV

There is no doubt that Amazon is a huge player in many markets, and they want to be a huge … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] ADB problems with the Nexus 5 from T-Mobile on Ubuntu 12.04

OP ldra02

20th May 2014, 12:23 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Thanks in advance for any help! I'm pretty stuck here, I'm only in the early stages of learing Linux and Android modding, so I apologize for any ignorance I show.

My final goal is to relock the bootloader and put the phone back to factory settings. I haven't installed any custom ROMs on this one, still running the stock ROM and bootloader.

I'm trying to sort out ADB in Ubuntu 12.04 LTS, with the android SDK. So far I've tried the instructions here:

http://http://forum.xda-developers.c....php?t=2423515

and added the rules file to /etc/udev/rules.d/99-android.rules as follows:

SUBSYSTEM=="usb", ATTR{idVendor}=="18d1", ATTR{idProduct}=="4ee0", MODE="0666", OWNER="ldra02"

and rebooted my computer. No luck, what results is the same each time, ./adb devices lists no devices, not even an unknown. I even tried running the adb server in sudo, as one person suggested.

Any help is greatly appreciated! And again, sorry for my lack of knowledge.
20th May 2014, 03:45 AM   |  #2  
theesotericone's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 436
 
682 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Do you have debugging turned on on the device?
20th May 2014, 08:02 AM   |  #3  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 13,459
 
24,554 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
You don't use adb to lock the bootloader. You use fastboot. adb won't work if you're in fastboot mode

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes