Sony Xperia Z3 Lollipop Framework Ported to CM12

Android 5.0 for Xperia has a unique look and feel. You don’t have to get a Sony … more

Do You Use Recents as a Task Switcher?

Google introduced a revamped Recents interface with Lollipop in the hopes of making it easier for … more

YU Yureka All-in-One ToolBox (CM12S Only)

This packed toolbox by XDA Senior Member gohel.vishal makes many useful tweaks … more

Sony Xperia Z4 Forum Now Available

Sony’s Xperia line has seen plenty of development on XDA, and now that the Xperia Z4 has been … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Something is killing my battery - please advice

10th April 2014, 10:35 PM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
118 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Hi guys,
since a few weeks it's the same sh*t with every Omni-Nightly and franco.Kernel.

Everything is working fine for 1-2 day.
But then the cpu usage increases (i don't see any reason) and won't go back to idle again.

I tried several cpu monitor apps but none is showing me which app is causing this issue.
Please help.

And please don't blame facebook.
My cpu behaves the same way even no facebook app is installed.

If you need further information please tell me.

Thanks a lot for your help!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-04-10-23-21-20.png
Views:	833
Size:	116.3 KB
ID:	2679170   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-04-10-23-24-20.jpg
Views:	654
Size:	148.1 KB
ID:	2679171   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-04-10-23-24-09.jpg
Views:	641
Size:	148.3 KB
ID:	2679172   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-04-10-23-25-05.jpg
Views:	608
Size:	178.8 KB
ID:	2679173   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-04-10-23-25-23.png
Views:	540
Size:	214.4 KB
ID:	2679174   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-04-10-23-25-33.png
Views:	649
Size:	139.8 KB
ID:	2679175   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-04-10-23-27-01.jpg
Views:	556
Size:	153.2 KB
ID:	2679177  
Attached Files
File Type: txt BetterBatteryStats-2014-04-10_232716752.txt - [Click for QR Code] (42.8 KB, 1 views)
 
 
10th April 2014, 10:39 PM |#2  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 23,882
 
29,161 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
go to the main phone settings, location, now press google location reporting.. turn off location reporting and location history. your location will still work without these. no go back to the location option, and turn the mode to battery saving.
10th April 2014, 10:45 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
118 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by simms22

go to the main phone settings, location, now press google location reporting.. turn off location reporting and location history. your location will still work without these. no go back to the location option, and turn the mode to battery saving.

i've got this issue since 1 or 2 weeks.
i can say for sure that it's not any location services fault.
10th April 2014, 10:48 PM |#4  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 23,882
 
29,161 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by leAndroid91

i've got this issue since 1 or 2 weeks.
i can say for sure that it's not any location services fault.

i see google play services showed up on your battery stats. normally, you wont even see it there, but you are at 71% and so far its taking 6%. its not the location services per se, they work fine with those options disabled. but it is a well known battery drainer.
10th April 2014, 10:52 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
118 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by simms22

i see google play services showed up on your battery stats. normally, you wont even see it there, but you are at 71% and so far its taking 6%. its not the location services per se, they work fine with those options disabled. but it is a well known battery drainer.

you're right that those services are draining the battery, but in an acceptable way.
when i don't have the isse with the increased cpu usage i've 4-5 hours sot @ 12 hours overall uptime.
so i guess in general everything is working fine on my device.

but i don't know what and why is causing the high cpu usage
10th April 2014, 11:40 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 434
 
1,655 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
I'm no good at understanding BBS stats, but what is daemonsu?

There seems to be something keeping your phone awake and attributing its drain to "Android OS" which could be many things, including Widgets.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
11th April 2014, 12:44 AM |#7  
Darth's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Big scary planet destroying space station.
Thanks Meter: 6,738
 
16,444 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
I could help, but prefer gsam screenshots. Unfamiliar with BBS.

Also, for starters....and please trust me here...just turn location services completely off for one charge cycle and see what happens. Also, Google settings app....go into android device manager and uncheck both options.

See how your full charge goes like that. If its still bad...its an app doing the damage, or a very weak signal.

Try it, and it will narrow down the problem. 😉

Sent from my N5, N7, Moto X, G Tab 3 or S2.....
11th April 2014, 04:59 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 14
 
419 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Option 1. go back to 100% stock Rom see if it behaves the same
option 2. hard reset your phone and check battery usage with no apps installed
option 3. put your phone on airplane mode and see if battery still drains the same way using wifi. Usually if I have bad reception my battery will drain like crazy. My personal experience using my Nexus 5 I can't tell how much my battery is going to last day by day sometimes I get over 12hrs other days I'm lucky if I get 8hrs.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank