Post Reply

[Q] Lens Blur click to select focus vs default

OP ykphuah

22nd April 2014, 04:18 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
357 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
I am playing with the new Lens Blur feature of the new Google Camera. I find the default focus and blur setting, to be quite good, and this setting, it seems that it can't be reproduced once I click to select the area I want to manually focus?

So I used the Lens Blur on my son, in the attached picture, the bottom is the default that Google gives me after processing of the picture. So I tried to click on my son's face to see if that changes anything, and to my surprise, it actually made the face more blur-er. I have tried clicking on his body and hands, but I can't seem to get the effect of the default picture.

Both the pictures are from screenshot capture on my phone itself, as I can't figure out how to make a copy of the photo and adjust the lens blur separately.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1398131003906.jpg
Views:	119
Size:	87.1 KB
ID:	2701013  
22nd April 2014, 04:45 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Sydney
Thanks Meter: 483
 
2,014 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
what happens when you reduce the blur effect to essentially nothing? (sliding the bar all the way to the left)

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
23rd April 2014, 04:50 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
357 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by beaver2233

what happens when you reduce the blur effect to essentially nothing? (sliding the bar all the way to the left)

Thanks for the tip! I slide the bar to the left, and the face is still blurry, so now I am suspecting its the preview window.

I did a save after I click to focus his face. And save it. It seems pretty close to the default one after that.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1398213530918.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	92.5 KB
ID:	2703059  
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank