FORUMS

Index Project For XDA Device Subforums

Another ambitious project from the collaborative efforts of Recognized Contributors and Forum … more

The Atlas of XDA

A few weeks ago, we asked you “How Does Your Location Affect Your Life As A Power User?”. In the days that … more

New Snapdragons: Some Context & Contrast

It hasn’t been a good year for Qualcomm so far. Every device featuring the Snapdragon 810 … more

Google To Launch Next Gen Android One On July 14

The first gen of Android One devices to be launched in India in September 2014 were … more

LG G3 ROM Port?

409 posts
Thanks Meter: 190
 
By Vekhez, Senior Member on 21st June 2014, 06:33 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I only have some very basic knowledge on ROM porting but with the Sense 6 port for the Nexus 5 it was ported over to the LG G2 with very minimal hiccups (except for the ones present on the N5). Now there is a LG G3 ROM for the LG G2, and now I am wondering if we can reverse the project to get an LG UI from the G3 (ported to the G2) on the Nexus 5.

If we could it would be awesome
The Following User Says Thank You to Vekhez For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
21st June 2014, 07:59 AM |#2  
Elluel's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag えうれる
Thanks Meter: 3,206
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vekhez

I only have some very basic knowledge on ROM porting but with the Sense 6 port for the Nexus 5 it was ported over to the LG G2 with very minimal hiccups (except for the ones present on the N5). Now there is a LG G3 ROM for the LG G2, and now I am wondering if we can reverse the project to get an LG UI from the G3 (ported to the G2) on the Nexus 5.

If we could it would be awesome

The Sense 6 port didn't get far enough to be anywhere near daily driver capable.

Porting the LG G3 firmware to the Nexus 5 is different/"harder" compared to porting it to the LG G2.

Sent from my Nexus 5
Last edited by Elluel; 22nd June 2014 at 11:05 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Elluel For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd June 2014, 12:50 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Who Cares?
Thanks Meter: 190
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lethargy

The Sense 6 port didn't get far enough to be anywhere near daily driver capable.

Porting the LG G3 firmware to the Nexus 5 is different/"harder" compared to porting it to the LG G2.

Sent from my Nexus 5

I am meaning that there was this ROM (http://forum.xda-developers.com/goog...ix-m8-t2703397) for the Nexus 5, that was ported to the G2 with minimal effort here (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2734246). So I am asking if it would be possible to reverse the process and port this ROM (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2788077) to the Nexus 5.
22nd June 2014, 12:51 PM |#4  
Elluel's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag えうれる
Thanks Meter: 3,206
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vekhez

I am meaning that there was this ROM (http://forum.xda-developers.com/goog...ix-m8-t2703397) for the Nexus 5, that was ported to the G2 with minimal effort here (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2734246). So I am asking if it would be possible to reverse the process and port this ROM (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2788077) to the Nexus 5.

Its still different and what I said previously still stands.

Also, reading that thread, it seems a little silly as they're just copying it from the Nexus 5 with minimal changes to get it to boot lol.. No real development in that thread.

Sent from my Nexus 5
Last edited by Elluel; 22nd June 2014 at 12:59 PM.
22nd June 2014, 01:24 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Who Cares?
Thanks Meter: 190
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lethargy

Its still different and what I said previously still stands.

Also, reading that thread, it seems a little silly as they're just copying it from the Nexus 5 with minimal changes to get it to boot lol.. No real development in that thread.

Sent from my Nexus 5

?

So could we not copy it from the LG G2, and make minimal changes to get a G3 port to boot, with no real development? Or am I just very slow and completely misinterpreting this.
Last edited by Vekhez; 22nd June 2014 at 01:30 PM.
22nd June 2014, 01:33 PM |#6  
Elluel's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag えうれる
Thanks Meter: 3,206
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vekhez

?

So could we not copy it from the LG G2, and make minimal changes to get a G3 port to boot, with no real development? Or am I just very slow and completely misinterpreting this.

You could, but it would be a very crippled port, just like the Sense 6 port.
22nd June 2014, 01:39 PM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Flag Who Cares?
Thanks Meter: 190
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lethargy

You could, but it would be a very crippled port, just like the Sense 6 port.

Why would it be like that though, because the Sense 6 port of a port required a modification to some minor things and what wasn't working on the N5 didn't work on the G3, so wouldn't it be the same. Everything is working, so everything would be working?
22nd June 2014, 01:47 PM |#8  
Elluel's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag えうれる
Thanks Meter: 3,206
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vekhez

Everything is working, so everything would be working?

Unfortunately that isn't the case, the thread is being spammed just like the Sense 6 port was, because of bugs.
The Following User Says Thank You to Elluel For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd June 2014, 05:23 PM |#9  
Dragn4rce's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Anaheim
Thanks Meter: 335
 
Donate to Me
More
Dude you need to build Sense or the G3 ROM from the source which is not available like it would be from Google.

Sent from my ѣ$ 5
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Dragn4rce For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes