MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more

Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more

An Android Enthusiast’s Apple iPhone 6 Challenge

The media has gone batty again over Apple “revolutionizing” smartphones. … more

Sony to Extend its AOSP Program to Other Devices

Sony will be offering its users the possibility to use AOSP ROMs as an alternative to the … more
Post Reply

[Q] Do "Listen to" etc voice commands work outside of the US?

22nd February 2014, 05:12 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
I live in Canada, and I got my Nexus 5 from over here as well, and everything is great, except for the fact that just the music commands don't work.
If I say, listen to... it only searches online, and when I navigate the the "Phone" section, it says no results found.
Anyone else having this problem? Some people have said their is a drop down menu that lets it search up the song, but I am not getting that ever.

Thanks.

Rooted, Stock with Xsposed Framework, but It doesn't work on stock everything either.
22nd February 2014, 05:27 PM   |  #2  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 891
 
3,046 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by poww10s

I live in Canada, and I got my Nexus 5 from over here as well, and everything is great, except for the fact that just the music commands don't work.
If I say, listen to... it only searches online, and when I navigate the the "Phone" section, it says no results found.
Anyone else having this problem? Some people have said their is a drop down menu that lets it search up the song, but I am not getting that ever.

Thanks.

Rooted, Stock with Xsposed Framework, but It doesn't work on stock everything either.

I've never gotten it to work and I'm in the US.
22nd February 2014, 07:40 PM   |  #3  
El Daddy's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Roseville, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,887
 
3,602 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Donate to Me
More
Use the voice command, "play music" instead. It will then allow you to choose what app you want to run the command with. Then, choose your music player of choice from the drop down. From then on it will use that by default.

Edit: You can also give the voice command, "help." It will show you different voice commands. There are a few variations to launch music, but for me "play music" works most effectively.
Last edited by El Daddy; 22nd February 2014 at 07:46 PM.
23rd February 2014, 01:58 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
What do you mean by this? "Play music by..." Or play music ... By ..."

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
23rd February 2014, 02:57 AM   |  #5  
El Daddy's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Roseville, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,887
 
3,602 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by poww10s

What do you mean by this? "Play music by..." Or play music ... By ..."

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

For example, if I were to say, "play music The Strokes." It would play all my The Strokes songs on shuffle.

Sent from my Nexus 5
23rd February 2014, 03:06 AM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Daddy

For example, if I were to say, "play music The Strokes." It would play all my The Strokes songs on shuffle.

Sent from my Nexus 5

Huh non of this works for me. I don't even get the drop down menu thing.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank