Android 5.0 Lollipop in 3D–EVO 3D, That Is!

It is that time of the year once again. Flowers bloom (or snow falls, depending on which … more

Gaming Console with Lollipop? Ouya Gets an Android TV Port

Android is a very flexible platform, and it can be used on a large variety of … more

Android App Review: Manage Your Connections Automagically – XDA TV

Material Design is all the buzz in the Android world right now. … more

Official TWRP Recovery Lands on Micromax Canvas Magnus

With the recent release of Android One, Micromax and MediaTek released fully buildable … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Do "Listen to" etc voice commands work outside of the US?

OP poww10s

22nd February 2014, 06:12 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
I live in Canada, and I got my Nexus 5 from over here as well, and everything is great, except for the fact that just the music commands don't work.
If I say, listen to... it only searches online, and when I navigate the the "Phone" section, it says no results found.
Anyone else having this problem? Some people have said their is a drop down menu that lets it search up the song, but I am not getting that ever.

Thanks.

Rooted, Stock with Xsposed Framework, but It doesn't work on stock everything either.
22nd February 2014, 06:27 PM   |  #2  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 930
 
3,138 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by poww10s

I live in Canada, and I got my Nexus 5 from over here as well, and everything is great, except for the fact that just the music commands don't work.
If I say, listen to... it only searches online, and when I navigate the the "Phone" section, it says no results found.
Anyone else having this problem? Some people have said their is a drop down menu that lets it search up the song, but I am not getting that ever.

Thanks.

Rooted, Stock with Xsposed Framework, but It doesn't work on stock everything either.

I've never gotten it to work and I'm in the US.
22nd February 2014, 08:40 PM   |  #3  
El Daddy's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Roseville, MN
Thanks Meter: 4,404
 
3,858 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
More
Use the voice command, "play music" instead. It will then allow you to choose what app you want to run the command with. Then, choose your music player of choice from the drop down. From then on it will use that by default.

Edit: You can also give the voice command, "help." It will show you different voice commands. There are a few variations to launch music, but for me "play music" works most effectively.
Last edited by El Daddy; 22nd February 2014 at 08:46 PM.
23rd February 2014, 02:58 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
What do you mean by this? "Play music by..." Or play music ... By ..."

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
23rd February 2014, 03:57 AM   |  #5  
El Daddy's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Roseville, MN
Thanks Meter: 4,404
 
3,858 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by poww10s

What do you mean by this? "Play music by..." Or play music ... By ..."

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

For example, if I were to say, "play music The Strokes." It would play all my The Strokes songs on shuffle.

Sent from my Nexus 5
23rd February 2014, 04:06 AM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Daddy

For example, if I were to say, "play music The Strokes." It would play all my The Strokes songs on shuffle.

Sent from my Nexus 5

Huh non of this works for me. I don't even get the drop down menu thing.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes