FORUMS

Nexus & Cookies: A More Focused Direction?

It is that time of the year again, and we are approaching the day where Android fans all over … more

LG G4 US Carrier Release Dates

The LG G4 was announced on April 29th with its Snapdragon 808 SoC, a welcomed change from its higher-end … more

Microsoft Reaches Pre-Install Agreement With New OEMs

As of late, Microsoft has been making a subtle but widespread play into the … more

Discover XDA: Discover Greater

We’ve all been there at some point in our XDA lives; we used to spend hours browsing over the … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Do "Listen to" etc voice commands work outside of the US?

22nd February 2014, 05:12 PM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I live in Canada, and I got my Nexus 5 from over here as well, and everything is great, except for the fact that just the music commands don't work.
If I say, listen to... it only searches online, and when I navigate the the "Phone" section, it says no results found.
Anyone else having this problem? Some people have said their is a drop down menu that lets it search up the song, but I am not getting that ever.

Thanks.

Rooted, Stock with Xsposed Framework, but It doesn't work on stock everything either.
 
 
22nd February 2014, 05:27 PM |#2  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 951
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by poww10s

I live in Canada, and I got my Nexus 5 from over here as well, and everything is great, except for the fact that just the music commands don't work.
If I say, listen to... it only searches online, and when I navigate the the "Phone" section, it says no results found.
Anyone else having this problem? Some people have said their is a drop down menu that lets it search up the song, but I am not getting that ever.

Thanks.

Rooted, Stock with Xsposed Framework, but It doesn't work on stock everything either.

I've never gotten it to work and I'm in the US.
22nd February 2014, 07:40 PM |#3  
El Daddy's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Roseville, MN
Thanks Meter: 5,115
 
More
Use the voice command, "play music" instead. It will then allow you to choose what app you want to run the command with. Then, choose your music player of choice from the drop down. From then on it will use that by default.

Edit: You can also give the voice command, "help." It will show you different voice commands. There are a few variations to launch music, but for me "play music" works most effectively.
Last edited by El Daddy; 22nd February 2014 at 07:46 PM.
23rd February 2014, 01:58 AM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
What do you mean by this? "Play music by..." Or play music ... By ..."

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
23rd February 2014, 02:57 AM |#5  
El Daddy's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Roseville, MN
Thanks Meter: 5,115
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by poww10s

What do you mean by this? "Play music by..." Or play music ... By ..."

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

For example, if I were to say, "play music The Strokes." It would play all my The Strokes songs on shuffle.

Sent from my Nexus 5
23rd February 2014, 03:06 AM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Daddy

For example, if I were to say, "play music The Strokes." It would play all my The Strokes songs on shuffle.

Sent from my Nexus 5

Huh non of this works for me. I don't even get the drop down menu thing.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes