FORUMS

Earthquake Early Warning in Your Pocket

Probably all of us reading this have a smartphone in our pocket. For many of us, the … more

Sony: The OEM You Want To Save

In our recent Discuss article, we asked you readers on which OEM you would like to help. While the … more

How to Lock and Protect Your Apps – XDA Xposed Tuesday

The smartphone revolution has passed. Everybody has mobile apps. Some of … more

Which OEM Would You Like to Help?

Most manufacturers have moments of greatness and moments of decadence, and in the past few years … more

[Q] Do "Listen to" etc voice commands work outside of the US?

8 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By poww10s, Junior Member on 22nd February 2014, 05:12 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I live in Canada, and I got my Nexus 5 from over here as well, and everything is great, except for the fact that just the music commands don't work.
If I say, listen to... it only searches online, and when I navigate the the "Phone" section, it says no results found.
Anyone else having this problem? Some people have said their is a drop down menu that lets it search up the song, but I am not getting that ever.

Thanks.

Rooted, Stock with Xsposed Framework, but It doesn't work on stock everything either.
 
 
22nd February 2014, 05:27 PM |#2  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 969
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by poww10s

I live in Canada, and I got my Nexus 5 from over here as well, and everything is great, except for the fact that just the music commands don't work.
If I say, listen to... it only searches online, and when I navigate the the "Phone" section, it says no results found.
Anyone else having this problem? Some people have said their is a drop down menu that lets it search up the song, but I am not getting that ever.

Thanks.

Rooted, Stock with Xsposed Framework, but It doesn't work on stock everything either.

I've never gotten it to work and I'm in the US.
22nd February 2014, 07:40 PM |#3  
El Daddy's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Roseville, MN
Thanks Meter: 5,126
 
More
Use the voice command, "play music" instead. It will then allow you to choose what app you want to run the command with. Then, choose your music player of choice from the drop down. From then on it will use that by default.

Edit: You can also give the voice command, "help." It will show you different voice commands. There are a few variations to launch music, but for me "play music" works most effectively.
Last edited by El Daddy; 22nd February 2014 at 07:46 PM.
23rd February 2014, 01:58 AM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
What do you mean by this? "Play music by..." Or play music ... By ..."

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
23rd February 2014, 02:57 AM |#5  
El Daddy's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Roseville, MN
Thanks Meter: 5,126
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by poww10s

What do you mean by this? "Play music by..." Or play music ... By ..."

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

For example, if I were to say, "play music The Strokes." It would play all my The Strokes songs on shuffle.

Sent from my Nexus 5
23rd February 2014, 03:06 AM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Daddy

For example, if I were to say, "play music The Strokes." It would play all my The Strokes songs on shuffle.

Sent from my Nexus 5

Huh non of this works for me. I don't even get the drop down menu thing.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes