Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,781,506 Members 40,207 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Low signal and Wifi

Tip us?
 
99nirc99
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 72
Join Date: Sep 2011
Default [Q] Low signal and Wifi

Well I've just installed Purity Rom on my Nexus 5.
I notice that my signal is on about 2 stripes, which is really wierd! on my old SGS 2 it used
to be 5 all the time.
Also, my wifi signal is pretty low from the same room where the router is! something is really wierd.
My wifi downloads at about 25kb/s from the play store, which is wierd because it should get to about 2mb/s.
Should I switch Kernel/Modem? if so to which one/s?
thanks alot!
 
svnoln
Old
#2  
svnoln's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 381
Posts: 1,736
Join Date: Dec 2010
Try restarting the modem/router, and make sure it has the latest firmware.

NEXUS 1 EVERVOLV KK444 XPOSED TWRP
NEXUS 5 STOCK KK444 FK XPOSED TWRP

 
 
99nirc99
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 72
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilipTD View Post
Try restarting the modem/router, and make sure it has the latest firmware.
Tried a couple of times and it has nothing to do with it. Downloading from my laptop reaches 2mb/s easily.
And its also the 3G signal that has problems, really not sure why.
 
svnoln
Old
#4  
svnoln's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 381
Posts: 1,736
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by 99nirc99 View Post
Tried a couple of times and it has nothing to do with it. Downloading from my laptop reaches 2mb/s easily.
And its also the 3G signal that has problems, really not sure why.
I know it's counterintuitive, but the router apparently interacts differently depending on the device.
I only mentioned the router firmware upgrade because that's what fixed it for me.

NEXUS 1 EVERVOLV KK444 XPOSED TWRP
NEXUS 5 STOCK KK444 FK XPOSED TWRP

 
 
99nirc99
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 72
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilipTD View Post
I know it's counterintuitive, but the router apparently interacts differently depending on the device.
I only mentioned the router firmware upgrade because that's what fixed it for me.
But what about the signal? its awful
 
svnoln
Old
#6  
svnoln's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 381
Posts: 1,736
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by 99nirc99 View Post
But what about the signal? its awful
That's what the upgrade fixed. Of course, yours could be weak for any number of reasons. Is it the same for other phones?

NEXUS 1 EVERVOLV KK444 XPOSED TWRP
NEXUS 5 STOCK KK444 FK XPOSED TWRP

 
 
99nirc99
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 72
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilipTD View Post
That's what the upgrade fixed. Of course, yours could be weak for any number of reasons. Is it the same for other phones?
I mean the cellular signal, for calling and 3G network... And as I said, on my previous SGS2 the signal is always full and also wifi.
Something is wrong with my Modem/Kernel or something like that.
 
shotta35
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 454
Posts: 1,569
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NYC & Germany
Quote:
Originally Posted by 99nirc99 View Post
I mean the cellular signal, for calling and 3G network... And as I said, on my previous SGS2 the signal is always full and also wifi.
Something is wrong with my Modem/Kernel or something like that.
Try using the .17 radio instead of the .23. You have to be rooted to downgrade or flash the 4.4 factory image to test it.

Otherwise bars means nothing as long as you aren't dropping calls. Different phones display them differently. Look at About Phone - Status and see the actual dBms and see if they are similar. Some phones do -89 as 4 bars while some require -79 and higher to be 4 bars.
 
99nirc99
Old
#9  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 72
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by shotta35 View Post
Try using the .17 radio instead of the .23. You have to be rooted to downgrade or flash the 4.4 factory image to test it.

Otherwise bars means nothing as long as you aren't dropping calls. Different phones display them differently. Look at About Phone - Status and see the actual dBms and see if they are similar. Some phones do -89 as 4 bars while some require -79 and higher to be 4 bars.
I'm not sure, but I really don't want to use 4.4...
Why is my WiFi signal weak aswell? it just works bad/not working at all at a medium range from the router...
 
shotta35
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 454
Posts: 1,569
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NYC & Germany
Quote:
Originally Posted by 99nirc99 View Post
I'm not sure, but I really don't want to use 4.4...
Why is my WiFi signal weak aswell? it just works bad/not working at all at a medium range from the router...
I said 4.4 to test it. Testing is the only way you'll narrow down the variables. We can't always do all the work for you

Once you are on 4.4 then you can see how it works then and if not then jump back to 4.4.2 and then you test something else.

And I said about "bars" being meaningless for the most part as long as you aren't dropping connections. You said it works bad at medium range or not working at all? Meaning you can't connect and what's medium range? Medium might be 50ft or 200ft. I dunno how big your place is or what's your walls are made of.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Integrate Social Networks Into Your Project With ASNE Library

Social network applications and services have developed into major parts ofour … more

Give Your Android Wear Device a Lock Screen with Lockable

Without a doubt,Android Wear is one of the most frequently talked abouttopics of … more

Forums Added for the LG G Watch R and Samsung Gear S

A little over a week ago, LG “inadvertently” let the world know about the … more

Secrecy App Goes Open Source, New LG Android Wear Device! – XDA Developer TV

Secrecy encryption app goes open source! That and much … more