Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,037 Members 52,406 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

LTE band by flashing radio baseband?

Tip us?

lkthomas
Old
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Default LTE band by flashing radio baseband?

Guys, I am new to LTE, my Nexus 5 was bought in US and local carrier claim it doesn't support LTE for local use, may I know if band selection is locked by baseband or hardware itself?
Thomas Graham

az93civic
Old
Thanks Meter 104

DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by lkthomas View Post
Guys, I am new to LTE, my Nexus 5 was bought in US and local carrier claim it doesn't support LTE for local use, may I know if band selection is locked by baseband or hardware itself?
It is the hardware

Please don't forget to press Thanks if I helped you out.

jzsax1
Old
Thanks Meter 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by az93civic View Post
It is the hardware
I have flashed the radio band on the US LG-820 model from the LG-821 model and i am yet to grab LTE here in Germany... not sure but i will travel soon to the bigger cities and see... LTE is not available everywhere... but we will see...

az93civic
Old
Thanks Meter 104

DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by jzsax1 View Post
I have flashed the radio band on the US LG-820 model from the LG-821 model and i am yet to grab LTE here in Germany... not sure but i will travel soon to the bigger cities and see... LTE is not available everywhere... but we will see...
Its the Hardware, flashing the radio is not going to change what bands the radio picks up. Sorry bud

Please don't forget to press Thanks if I helped you out.

jzsax1
Old
Thanks Meter 3
Quote:
Its the Hardware, flashing the radio is not going to change what bands the radio picks up. Sorry bud
you can buy an LTE phone in Germany and use it everywhere else but in the US... i hate what the US companies are doing...

BackMoto
Old
Thanks Meter 1
Default not true

Quote: