Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,173 Members 40,665 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

LTE Only Searching For Service Battery?

Tip us?
 
MrObvious
Old
#1  
MrObvious's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 259
Posts: 1,863
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wichita KS
Default LTE Only Searching For Service Battery?

Hi everyone. Quick question. I searched but didn't find much, but I was wanting to use LTE only (*#*#4636#*#*, Phone, LTE Only), and it does work but on Sprint, it disables 1x and pretends like the phone has no coverage and then does the "Searching for Service" and the battery drains like crazy. Any ideas?
 
movielover76
Old
#2  
movielover76's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 403
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Red Bank, NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrObvious View Post
Hi everyone. Quick question. I searched but didn't find much, but I was wanting to use LTE only (*#*#4636#*#*, Phone, LTE Only), and it does work but on Sprint, it disables 1x and pretends like the phone has no coverage and then does the "Searching for Service" and the battery drains like crazy. Any ideas?
That mode disables all voice and texting abilities, I don't think you can use that on a phone, especially not a phone on Sprint.
turn it back, if the phone doesn't think it has a good enough signal to use LTE, trust it and drop to 3G you'll be better off.
Nexus 5 (Personal)
Stock
HTC First (Work)
Stock, Rooted
Retired Phones: AT&T Galaxy S4, Nexus 4, AT&T Galaxy S II,GSM Galaxy Nexus,HTC Rezound, Thunderbolt, Captivate, Focus (WP7), Blackberry Torch, iPhone3GS
 
CRIME INC.
Old
#3  
CRIME INC.'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1906
Posts: 3,166
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: HENDERSONVILLE
Use global setting for Sprint

Sent from my Nexus 5
 
MrObvious
Old
#4  
MrObvious's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 259
Posts: 1,863
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wichita KS
I don't want 3g though because my phone has the power to get a signal but if it gets down to 1 bar roughly (driving between towers and I'm in a fairly big city so it's not a coverage/reception issue) and it drops to 3g, despite the fact that it'll get stronger if it waits 5 more seconds.
 
simms22
Old
#5  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 20710
Posts: 24,961
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: BROOKLYN!
you can not get/make phonecalls on lte only, period. its for data only.
Google+ Profile
Twitter Simms22
DerKernel For Trinity kernels and more!
 
j'vai
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 112
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: wash dc
indeed. setting it through the dialer to lte only, makes that lte data channel the only channel, it kills the ehrpd / 1x cdma 200 ip hand-off needed for voice paging to & from the network..

but NOW i know WHY you were forcing lte only via the dialer (didn't know at 1st)

but where you are (if you're on srpint) this is what' was reported happening -

Sprint used to have "same-as-native" 3G service in the western half of Kansas via those carriers, and even used to show it as Native on their coverage maps. Then it changed to Off-Network roaming a couple years ago. They even stopped Native service along I-70 through most of Kansas and eastern Colorado. Sounds like some of those carriers aren't being too accommodating to Sprint nowadays.


via the HoFo App



i didn't know, the hometown of sprint, was having such a hard time covering, it's own home state..
 
MrObvious
Old
#7  
MrObvious's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 259
Posts: 1,863
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wichita KS
Quote:
Originally Posted by j'vai View Post
indeed. setting it through the dialer to lte only, makes that lte data channel the only channel, it kills the ehrpd / 1x cdma 200 ip hand-off needed for voice paging to & from the network..

but NOW i know WHY you were forcing lte only via the dialer (didn't know at 1st)

but where you are (if you're on srpint) this is what' was reported happening -

Sprint used to have "same-as-native" 3G service in the western half of Kansas via those carriers, and even used to show it as Native on their coverage maps. Then it changed to Off-Network roaming a couple years ago. They even stopped Native service along I-70 through most of Kansas and eastern Colorado. Sounds like some of those carriers aren't being too accommodating to Sprint nowadays.


via the HoFo App



i didn't know, the hometown of sprint, was having such a hard time covering, it's own home state..
That's inaccurate for me as I'm in central KS. That only applies for west KS. I'm in a native market with LTE, NV, and band 25 and 26.
 
j'vai
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 112
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: wash dc
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrObvious View Post
I don't want 3g though because my phone has the power to get a signal but if it gets down to 1 bar roughly (driving between towers and I'm in a fairly big city so it's not a coverage/reception issue) and it drops to 3g, despite the fact that it'll get stronger if it waits 5 more seconds.
ok.. central ks..

what were your settings prior, to lte only?
 
MrObvious
Old
#9  
MrObvious's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 259
Posts: 1,863
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wichita KS
Just LTE/CDMA. There are times I want to set LTE only so I don't drop 4g. Of course I have service with that setting.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
 
j'vai
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 112
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: wash dc
you know, that going via the keypad to set LTE only you'll kill the fall back bridge to 1xrtt voice & evdo 3g, right?

& every time you want to have voice service you'd have to do the toggle to undo LTE only , then when you want it back LTE only ..


you say "you don't want evdo 3g" but the devil in the details are, you'll not have voice service ither, that way..

is it worth that trouble?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Change Your Toast Notification Style with XToast

Android uses multipletypes of notifications. One of these isknown as a toast notification. … more

Port Sony Xperia Themes to CyanogenMod 11 with Ease

In addition the obvious proficiency with graphics, creating agood Android theme … more

Cell Phone SIM Unlock Bill Just Steps Away from President’s Desk

For all those who believe that Cinderella stories don’t actually … more