Post Reply

Massive battery drain with xposed framework or Gravity box latest update ?

31st May 2014, 09:06 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Am I the only one that has seen massive battery drain with xposed framework or gravity box latest update ?

I always make a backup before updating so now i'm back at version 2.5.1 Xposed and 3.1.2 on gravity box. Not having battery problem now.

If i update to 2.6.1 xposed and to 3.1.4 GravityBox i have massive battery drain.

Am i the only one?

Maybe i'm updating in the wrong way. This is how i do:
1.Download and install latest xposed apk.
2.Framework--> Install/Update
3.Reboot.
31st May 2014, 10:11 PM   |  #2  
BirchBarlow's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 124
 
345 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
That's really strange. After updating, did you try wiping cache/dalvik?
31st May 2014, 10:14 PM   |  #3  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,396
 
9,938 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
What do you mean by massive battery drain? Need more details, what's causing it. A battery screen shot would be better than nothing, better yet, gsam or bbs

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
31st May 2014, 10:25 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

What do you mean by massive battery drain? Need more details, what's causing it. A battery screen shot would be better than nothing, better yet, gsam or bbs

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app

Didn't try to wiping cache/dalvik.

I can't make battery screen shot because i've restored the nandroid backup. I remember on BBS under "Partial Wakelocks" the first was nlpCollectorWakeLock, in about 20 minutes the wakelocks count were at about 200. And under "Alarms" com.google.android.gms was first.
1st June 2014, 01:35 AM   |  #5  
akselic's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 456
 
703 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matte93

Didn't try to wiping cache/dalvik.

I can't make battery screen shot because i've restored the nandroid backup. I remember on BBS under "Partial Wakelocks" the first was nlpCollectorWakeLock, in about 20 minutes the wakelocks count were at about 200. And under "Alarms" com.google.android.gms was first.

This has absolutely nothing to do with Xposed or Gravity Box. NLP stands for Network Location Provider and the cause of NLP wakelocks are the Google Location Service. There's a long thread about this particular issue in the Nexus 5 general section. Turn your location settings off or "device only" and/or turn off Google Now. That is right now the only work-around available until Google fixes it.

Edit: Here's a link to that thread so you can read more about the issue. It is not ROM related, it is not Xposed related, it is not kernel related and it is not recovery related.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to akselic For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st June 2014, 08:15 AM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Ok thanks. I'll try to update again xposed and gravitybox
1st June 2014, 01:58 PM   |  #7  
akselic's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 456
 
703 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matte93

Ok thanks. I'll try to update again xposed and gravitybox

Like I said mate, it doesn't matter. You can even uninstall xposed and gravitybox and it won't make any difference regarding that NLP wakelock bug. It is Google's problem and occurs with location access and Google Now.
The Following User Says Thank You to akselic For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st June 2014, 02:01 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
I disabled Google Now, and changed the location setting to only GPS. Now it's even better. Thanks!

The Following User Says Thank You to Matte93 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank