How to Control Both Moto G and Moto E LEDs

Notification LEDs offer a great way to check for notification at a glance on the Moto G (2013) and … more

LG G3 Receives Oversharpening Fix via Modified Kernel

Nothing is perfect, as they say. No matter how alluring or seemingly perfect, … more

APKTool Updated with Android Lollipop Support

One of the beauties of Android is the level of flexibility we have over our devices. Whether … more

Lollipop Leak for Sprint Galaxy S5, TWRP for Micromax Canvas Magnus – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop has been leaked for the Sprint … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Which modem do you guys use?

OP tylerdurden83

17th July 2014, 12:42 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 158
 
920 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
I'm currently on the stock 4.4.4 modem and I think it consumes way too much power. As you can see from the screenshots, it consumed a ****load of power for 1 hour of call, and no, I keep my wakelocks under control, 98% deep sleep, so what consumed the battery is simply the 1 hour of phone call and 1 hour of screen on. Ironically, the phone call used more power than the screen, which is kinda absurd to me...

So yea, I was wondering if you also noticed that the 4.4.4 modem drains so much battery.

Thanks,
TD
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-07-17-00-08-11.jpg
Views:	73
Size:	146.9 KB
ID:	2856255   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-07-17-00-08-30.png
Views:	68
Size:	209.2 KB
ID:	2856256  
17th July 2014, 12:48 PM   |  #2  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 13,498
 
24,599 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
The thing with modems is that every modem works differently for every person. What causes drain for one person will be amazing for another, this is due to usage and almost infinite environmental variables that all contribute to the radio performance. This thread will not help you learn what the best modem is. You'll just have to try them all and find the one that works best for you.
The Following User Says Thank You to rootSU For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th July 2014, 02:18 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 353
 
1,458 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Better a radio that drains than one that loses connection, no?
18th July 2014, 02:57 AM   |  #4  
Darth's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Flag The boonies - southwest Ontario
Thanks Meter: 4,681
 
12,530 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
I use 4.4.4 modem and still get the usual 24 hours and 6 SoT hours....usually.
19th July 2014, 02:17 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 353
 
1,458 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJ

I use 4.4.4 modem and still get the usual 24 hours and 6 SoT hours....usually.

Same, but we don't usually use our radio very much haha. I've actually noticed the radio is much better at keeping its connection even in concrete buildings that were giving my phone data troubles in earlier versions. This may have come at slightly higher drain but nothing too noticeable for myself.
Last edited by bblzd; 19th July 2014 at 02:22 AM. Reason: Spelling
The Following User Says Thank You to bblzd For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th July 2014, 02:19 AM   |  #6  
Darth's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Flag The boonies - southwest Ontario
Thanks Meter: 4,681
 
12,530 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bblzd

Same, but we don't usually use our radio very much haha. I've actually noticed the radio is much better at keeping it's connection even in concrete buildings that were giving my phone data troubles earlier. I think this may have come at slightly higher drain but nothing too noticeable for me.

Good point. Lol

I make tonnes of texts, but my phone call minutes are usually like 15 minutes a week. Lol

---------- Post added at 08:19 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:18 PM ----------

Tho....standby drain is definitely no worse for me.
19th July 2014, 07:23 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Napa, Ca
Thanks Meter: 15
 
114 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJ

Good point. Lol

I make tonnes of texts, but my phone call minutes are usually like 15 minutes a week. Lol

---------- Post added at 08:19 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:18 PM ----------

Tho....standby drain is definitely no worse for me.

I use the .15 modem. I have 15,17, and the new one, and flash between them pretty often. 15 locks down a connection quite a bit when the other 2 won't. Not always, but it has been worth the experimenting..
19th July 2014, 03:53 PM   |  #8  
howard bamber's Avatar
Senior Member
Southport
Thanks Meter: 184
 
1,288 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
You had the screen on a hell of a lot, the main problem. Where cells are in relation to you, is what causes you to use more power. If it's jumping from mast to mast or 3~4g

#64268gkyJL#8653%dhjGUKVS357.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes