5,606,588 Members 36,148 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

N5 and sprint network handover

Tip us?
 
polska2180o
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 44
Posts: 327
Join Date: Nov 2011
Default N5 and sprint network handover

After the latest S5 announcement I'm now ready for the n5. I am coming from S3 on sprint and for the time being I will stay with sprint. My question is...with Samsung s3 if I install a ROM any ROM CM for example the handover between LTE 3g 2g is sluggish I believe its because of some proprioty software (though I am not sure) is this an issue with the n5? Basically is this CDMA/LTE problem or Samsung?

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk now Free
 
polska2180o
Old
#2  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 44
Posts: 327
Join Date: Nov 2011
Really nothing

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk now Free
 
ilostmypistons
Old
#3  
ilostmypistons's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 201
Posts: 893
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: McHenry Il
Its a Sprint problem... Depends on the tower... Sprint used different hardware/contractors.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
polska2180o
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 44
Posts: 327
Join Date: Nov 2011
I understand that but the question surrounds the handoff when there is a custom ROM like CM. When using TW its an non issue. So my question is will the handoff be okay with N5 and CM because the N5 doesn't use the propriatory software Samsung does.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk now Free
 
asarjip
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 20
Join Date: Nov 2010
The short answer is yes...just not as bad..
Here is my experience:
I came from a Samsung galaxy nexus that I had about 4 different Roms loaded on. I could never find a 4.4 ROM that would do a good job on LTE/3g handoffs. My favorite ROM ended up being the Avatar 4.2 ROM.
With the gnex, I would be in a known 4g area but it would show 3g until I would cycle the airplane mode.

When I moved to the Nexus 5 three weeks ago, I was hopeful those issues would be over. Right now I'm rooted with the boot loader unlocked but running the stock ROM.

So. far I've tried 2 custom Roms but keep coming back to stock. I still notice the slow radio handoff but it is less frequent and not as often....but still there.

I hope that helps.
 
polska2180o
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 44
Posts: 327
Join Date: Nov 2011
Yes it does ty.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk now Free
 
ilostmypistons
Old
#7  
ilostmypistons's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 201
Posts: 893
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: McHenry Il
Check S4gru for answers regarding Sprint. You will find all the information about towers,handoff and radios that pertain to Sprint

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Speed up the ROM or Kernel Build Process

Creating a kernel, ROM, or any other development projectrequires knowledge and tools. While … more

Google Glass Now Open to Anyone… with $1500 to Spend (Update: Not Anymore)

Google Glass, which recently received its official update … more

Android 4.4.2 OTA Now Available for the Verizon Droid DNA

A couple of days ago, we talked about how the Android 4.4.2 upgrade for the HTC … more