Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,740,807 Members 52,729 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

N5 and sprint network handover

Tip us?
 
polska2180o
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 44
Posts: 330
Join Date: Nov 2011
Default N5 and sprint network handover

After the latest S5 announcement I'm now ready for the n5. I am coming from S3 on sprint and for the time being I will stay with sprint. My question is...with Samsung s3 if I install a ROM any ROM CM for example the handover between LTE 3g 2g is sluggish I believe its because of some proprioty software (though I am not sure) is this an issue with the n5? Basically is this CDMA/LTE problem or Samsung?

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk now Free
 
polska2180o
Old
#2  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 44
Posts: 330
Join Date: Nov 2011
Really nothing

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk now Free
 
ilostmypistons
Old
#3  
ilostmypistons's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 216
Posts: 911
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: McHenry Il
Its a Sprint problem... Depends on the tower... Sprint used different hardware/contractors.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
polska2180o
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 44
Posts: 330
Join Date: Nov 2011
I understand that but the question surrounds the handoff when there is a custom ROM like CM. When using TW its an non issue. So my question is will the handoff be okay with N5 and CM because the N5 doesn't use the propriatory software Samsung does.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk now Free
 
asarjip
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 22
Join Date: Nov 2010
The short answer is yes...just not as bad..
Here is my experience:
I came from a Samsung galaxy nexus that I had about 4 different Roms loaded on. I could never find a 4.4 ROM that would do a good job on LTE/3g handoffs. My favorite ROM ended up being the Avatar 4.2 ROM.
With the gnex, I would be in a known 4g area but it would show 3g until I would cycle the airplane mode.

When I moved to the Nexus 5 three weeks ago, I was hopeful those issues would be over. Right now I'm rooted with the boot loader unlocked but running the stock ROM.

So. far I've tried 2 custom Roms but keep coming back to stock. I still notice the slow radio handoff but it is less frequent and not as often....but still there.

I hope that helps.
 
polska2180o
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 44
Posts: 330
Join Date: Nov 2011
Yes it does ty.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk now Free
 
ilostmypistons
Old
#7  
ilostmypistons's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 216
Posts: 911
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: McHenry Il
Check S4gru for answers regarding Sprint. You will find all the information about towers,handoff and radios that pertain to Sprint

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Android Wear App Review: Command Google Now with Commandr – XDA Developer TV

OK Google. Make Me a sandwich. How many times have you … more

Play Your Hits and Learn the Lyrics with NextGen Music Player

There are plenty of music players for Android available in Play Store. They … more

Control Your Toast Notifications with SlicedToasts

Toasts are delicious, even in their Android flavor. In Android, toast doesn’t lead … more

Rotation Lets You Take Full Control of Your Device’s Orientation Settings

To be brutally honest, the native options for screen … more