FORUMS

Android 5.1 for the Nvidia Shield Tablet is Out!

Nvidia is quite good at delivering updates in a timely fashion. The producer of famous … more

Other than XDA (of Course), What’s Your Favorite Site That Covers Android?

There is a number of other great sites that cover … more

Introducing Voices of XDA: Have Your Ideas Heard

By far the greatest assets we have at XDA-Developers are you, the developers, the eager … more

Unofficial Xposed For Lollipop Touchwiz With Flashable Zip

XDA Recognized Developer arter97 has released an unofficial build … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

N5 and sprint network handover

26th February 2014, 03:25 AM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
More
After the latest S5 announcement I'm now ready for the n5. I am coming from S3 on sprint and for the time being I will stay with sprint. My question is...with Samsung s3 if I install a ROM any ROM CM for example the handover between LTE 3g 2g is sluggish I believe its because of some proprioty software (though I am not sure) is this an issue with the n5? Basically is this CDMA/LTE problem or Samsung?

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk now Free
 
 
3rd March 2014, 01:57 PM |#2  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
More
Really nothing

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk now Free
3rd March 2014, 03:21 PM |#3  
ilostmypistons's Avatar
Senior Member
McHenry Il
Thanks Meter: 225
 
More
Its a Sprint problem... Depends on the tower... Sprint used different hardware/contractors.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
3rd March 2014, 08:49 PM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
More
I understand that but the question surrounds the handoff when there is a custom ROM like CM. When using TW its an non issue. So my question is will the handoff be okay with N5 and CM because the N5 doesn't use the propriatory software Samsung does.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk now Free
4th March 2014, 01:36 AM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
The short answer is yes...just not as bad..
Here is my experience:
I came from a Samsung galaxy nexus that I had about 4 different Roms loaded on. I could never find a 4.4 ROM that would do a good job on LTE/3g handoffs. My favorite ROM ended up being the Avatar 4.2 ROM.
With the gnex, I would be in a known 4g area but it would show 3g until I would cycle the airplane mode.

When I moved to the Nexus 5 three weeks ago, I was hopeful those issues would be over. Right now I'm rooted with the boot loader unlocked but running the stock ROM.

So. far I've tried 2 custom Roms but keep coming back to stock. I still notice the slow radio handoff but it is less frequent and not as often....but still there.

I hope that helps.
4th March 2014, 01:55 AM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
More
Yes it does ty.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk now Free
4th March 2014, 02:05 AM |#7  
ilostmypistons's Avatar
Senior Member
McHenry Il
Thanks Meter: 225
 
More
Check S4gru for answers regarding Sprint. You will find all the information about towers,handoff and radios that pertain to Sprint

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes