Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,540 Members 38,070 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Nandroid back after switching carriers..

Tip us?
 
drdagreenphd
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 125
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lake Elsinore
Default [Q] Nandroid back after switching carriers..

I have service through Sprint. I am switching to T-Mobile later today. If I restore from a backup that I made from Sprint, will that affect T-Mobile's service or settings in anyway? I'm guessing it wouldn't since everything is automated once you restart with a new sim, but I just want to make sure.
 
rootSU
Old
#2  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11,328
Posts: 22,377
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Depends. If you're on aosp roms, aren't there specific things you need to do to get it working with sprint?

-----------------------
Sent via tapatalk.

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM. Please keep support queries to the Q&A section, so that others may benefit
Want to root/unroot? All important guides and info threads are contained within the "Sticky Roll-up" thread in General. Click the link below to get there!

**Sticky Roll-up: All Guides snd Info Threads linked here**



Philz Touch Recovery with passkey secure lock

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.
 
jj14
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 148
Posts: 612
Join Date: Mar 2008
You may need to reapply APN settings, but other than that, it should just work after a reboot
 
drdagreenphd
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 125
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lake Elsinore
I am stock, rooted.
 
Pain-N-Panic
Old
#5  
Pain-N-Panic's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 198
Posts: 831
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Droid
Quote:
Originally Posted by jj14 View Post
You may need to reapply APN settings, but other than that, it should just work after a reboot

Yup, I was going to say the same thing. The APN settings will have to be changed to that of T-Mobile, which you could easily look up. Other than that, I believe you'll be fine. Besides, isn't the Nexus 5 considered a "universal" device as in all the development works no matter the carrier you're on?
 
drdagreenphd
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 125
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lake Elsinore
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pain-N-Panic View Post
Yup, I was going to say the same thing. The APN settings will have to be changed to that of T-Mobile, which you could easily look up. Other than that, I believe you'll be fine. Besides, isn't the Nexus 5 considered a "universal" device as in all the development works no matter the carrier you're on?
It is, but I know carrier settings are different.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Google Play Services Updated to Version 6.1

In addition to Android operating system proper, Google is focusing hard on giving the developers … more

CyanogenMod 11 M10 Available for Supported Devices

Summer vacation isover for most students out there, and it’s the time to get back to … more

XDA Forums Added for the First Batch of Android One Devices!

Just yesterday, we talked about the highly anticipated launch of the first batch … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: DonkeyGuard, Don’t Be a Donkey, Control Your Device – XDA Developer TV

Some applications ask for the world … more