Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,676 Members 52,340 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Nandroid back after switching carriers..

Tip us?
 
drdagreenphd
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 125
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lake Elsinore
Default [Q] Nandroid back after switching carriers..

I have service through Sprint. I am switching to T-Mobile later today. If I restore from a backup that I made from Sprint, will that affect T-Mobile's service or settings in anyway? I'm guessing it wouldn't since everything is automated once you restart with a new sim, but I just want to make sure.
 
rootSU
Old
#2  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10035
Posts: 21,172
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Depends. If you're on aosp roms, aren't there specific things you need to do to get it working with sprint?

-----------------------
Sent via tapatalk.

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM. Please keep support queries to the Q&A section, so that others may benefit
Want to root/unroot? All important guides and info threads are contained within the "Sticky Roll-up" thread in General. Click the link below to get there!



Philz Touch Recovery with passkey secure lock

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.
 
jj14
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 143
Posts: 600
Join Date: Mar 2008
You may need to reapply APN settings, but other than that, it should just work after a reboot
 
drdagreenphd
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 125
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lake Elsinore
I am stock, rooted.
 
Pain-N-Panic
Old
#5  
Pain-N-Panic's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 195
Posts: 814
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Droid
Quote:
Originally Posted by jj14 View Post
You may need to reapply APN settings, but other than that, it should just work after a reboot

Yup, I was going to say the same thing. The APN settings will have to be changed to that of T-Mobile, which you could easily look up. Other than that, I believe you'll be fine. Besides, isn't the Nexus 5 considered a "universal" device as in all the development works no matter the carrier you're on?
 
drdagreenphd
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 125
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lake Elsinore
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pain-N-Panic View Post
Yup, I was going to say the same thing. The APN settings will have to be changed to that of T-Mobile, which you could easily look up. Other than that, I believe you'll be fine. Besides, isn't the Nexus 5 considered a "universal" device as in all the development works no matter the carrier you're on?
It is, but I know carrier settings are different.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Return to Outer Space Outer Space with Ship Up Game

Since the release of Flappy Birds, we’ve had the “fortune” to see … more

Device Review: OnePlus One

Seemingly every day, there are a bunch of new devices being released. Some are budget devices and some are … more

Browse the Internet with the Innovative Atlas Web Browser

For the most part, Chrome, Firefox, and Dolphin Browser have no real rivals among … more

Choose from Over a Thousand Battery Styles with 3Minit Battery Mod

The battery style in stock Android looks pretty dull. It doesn’t … more