Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Nandroid back after switching carriers..

OP drdagreenphd

22nd January 2014, 07:54 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Lake Elsinore
Thanks Meter: 36
 
125 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
I have service through Sprint. I am switching to T-Mobile later today. If I restore from a backup that I made from Sprint, will that affect T-Mobile's service or settings in anyway? I'm guessing it wouldn't since everything is automated once you restart with a new sim, but I just want to make sure.
22nd January 2014, 08:43 PM   |  #2  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 14,609
 
26,081 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Depends. If you're on aosp roms, aren't there specific things you need to do to get it working with sprint?

-----------------------
Sent via tapatalk.

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM. Please keep support queries to the Q&A section, so that others may benefit
22nd January 2014, 08:49 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 215
 
827 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
You may need to reapply APN settings, but other than that, it should just work after a reboot
22nd January 2014, 09:30 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Flag Lake Elsinore
Thanks Meter: 36
 
125 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
I am stock, rooted.
22nd January 2014, 09:56 PM   |  #5  
Pain-N-Panic's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Droid
Thanks Meter: 228
 
910 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jj14

You may need to reapply APN settings, but other than that, it should just work after a reboot


Yup, I was going to say the same thing. The APN settings will have to be changed to that of T-Mobile, which you could easily look up. Other than that, I believe you'll be fine. Besides, isn't the Nexus 5 considered a "universal" device as in all the development works no matter the carrier you're on?
22nd January 2014, 10:24 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Flag Lake Elsinore
Thanks Meter: 36
 
125 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pain-N-Panic

Yup, I was going to say the same thing. The APN settings will have to be changed to that of T-Mobile, which you could easily look up. Other than that, I believe you'll be fine. Besides, isn't the Nexus 5 considered a "universal" device as in all the development works no matter the carrier you're on?

It is, but I know carrier settings are different.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes