Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,448 Members 40,408 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] About this newly introduced wifi problem

Tip us?
 
weacd
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Aug 2014
Exclamation [Q] About this newly introduced wifi problem

Hello guys,

my brand new nexus 5 just came back from replacement and worked flawlessly for a week or two,

The thing it that after the update, i had this strange "Stuck at turning wifi on bug".

I tried everything i saw on all the forums i managed to find and google usually tell users to replace their devices.

The thing is i just flashed the radio-hammerhead-M8974A-1.0.25.0.17 Radio, and at reboot i was able to turn wifi on.

The main problem now is, that the device freeze 15 second after succefully showing me nearby wifi networks, and then proceed to reboot.

I think many users are in the same situation, has someone managed, somehow, to patch the error ? I can't even tell if this is a software or hardware related glitch, but more and more users are experiencing troubles and i think google should talk more about it.
 
jd1639
Old
#2  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,347
Posts: 9,815
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
The majority of users don't have this problem. I don't. What else have you done to the device? What have you flashed?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
 
simms22
Old
#3  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 21,430
Posts: 25,784
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: BROOKLYN!
no such issues here.
Google+ Profile
Twitter Simms22
DerKernel For Trinity kernels and more!
 
rootSU
Old
#4  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11,399
Posts: 22,425
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
I've seen this issue on various phones and it's always been either:

1) Dodgy /data (user data, apps etc)
2) Hardware problem.

I have not had this issue on the N5
Want to root/unroot? All important guides and info threads are contained within the "Sticky Roll-up" thread in General. Click the link below to get there!

**Sticky Roll-up: All Guides snd Info Threads linked here**



Philz Touch Recovery with passkey secure lock

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.
 
weacd
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639 View Post
The majority of users don't have this problem. I don't. What else have you done to the device? What have you flashed?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
Of course i did not mean that all users where on the same case,

what i said, is that i already found many thread of people experiencing the same "undefined behaviour", which mean this is not a random bug, and that it can definitly happen to anybody's device.

My phone was using the last stock rom, the bootloader was locked and it never was altered in any ways when the problem started to appear.

Then, i did a hardreset, i unlocked the bootloader, i flashed custom roms (PA, MIUI, CYANNOGEN), then i flashed an older rom's radio image and the wifi started to activate again, but to reboot 15 sec after.

then i went back to a PA rom, and exactly the same bug occur.
 
rootSU
Old
#6  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11,399
Posts: 22,425
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by weacd View Post
Of course i did not mean that all users where on the same case,

what i said, is that i already found many thread of people experiencing the same "undefined behaviour", which mean this is not a random bug, and that it can definitly happen to anybody's device.

My phone was using the last stock rom, the bootloader was locked and it never was altered in any ways when the problem started to appear.

Then, i did a hardreset, i unlocked the bootloader, i flashed custom roms (PA, MIUI, CYANNOGEN), then i flashed an older rom's radio image and the wifi started to activate again, but to reboot 15 sec after.

then i went back to a PA rom, and exactly the same bug occur.
Flash a full factory image back to latest stock. If it still happens, send it for repair
Want to root/unroot? All important guides and info threads are contained within the "Sticky Roll-up" thread in General. Click the link below to get there!

**Sticky Roll-up: All Guides snd Info Threads linked here**



Philz Touch Recovery with passkey secure lock

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.
 
weacd
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU View Post
Flash a full factory image back to latest stock. If it still happens, send it for repair
Already done, guess i have no choice.

Then i would like to tell all the peoples who are experiencing the same experience to replace their phone using google's warranty service.

Some peoples managed to fix the bug for a time with a lucky trick, but it always end to come back.
 
jd1639
Old
#8  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,347
Posts: 9,815
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by weacd View Post
Already done, guess i have no choice.

Then i would like to tell all the peoples who are experiencing the same experience to replace their phone using google's warranty service.

Some peoples managed to fix the bug for a time with a lucky trick, but it always end to come back.
If it comes back while on stock rom then it's a problem with the device and you should rma it. That's what warranty is for

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes