FORUMS

Android 5.1.1 Omni ROM For Motorola Xoom

Back in Feb 2011, the Motorola Xoom became the first device to be sold with Android 3.0 … more

CleanSlate Brings Fingerprint Scanner Mod to HTC One M9+

Work of XDA Recognized Developer tbalden, CleanSlate custom kernel for the HTC … more

Sunday Debate: Which Factors Caused HTC’s Woes?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on HTC’s situation. Come with your … more

HTC’s New Ad Campaign And What It Really Means

HTC has just released three new blind test adverts comparing app loading … more

[Q] Nexus 5 will not automatically connect to cell network

21 posts
Thanks Meter: 2
 
By jkenny23, Junior Member on 28th August 2014, 10:02 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi All,

I've been having an issue after upgrading from a Nexus 4 to Nexus 5 where the phone will not re-connect to the home network (or will only reconnect to GSM with no data) after losing connection. This happens for example when going into an elevator or parking garage; I'll lose signal and when I get back into a signal area it won't reconnect unless I go to the "Mobile networks" -> "Network operators" menu and select "HOME" or "Automatic Registration". I'm using Straight Talk wireless with an older T-Mobile SIM (before they switched to only AT&T). I've called Straight Talk a few times to try and debug this, but the only instruction they've given me is to reset the APN and set it up again, which I've done a couple times to no avail. They claim that the SIM card is good on their end. Any ideas what might be causing this?

Thanks!
 
 
29th August 2014, 12:27 AM |#2  
mikeszf's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Venezuela
Thanks Meter: 39
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkenny23

Hi All,

I've been having an issue after upgrading from a Nexus 4 to Nexus 5 where the phone will not re-connect to the home network (or will only reconnect to GSM with no data) after losing connection. This happens for example when going into an elevator or parking garage; I'll lose signal and when I get back into a signal area it won't reconnect unless I go to the "Mobile networks" -> "Network operators" menu and select "HOME" or "Automatic Registration". I'm using Straight Talk wireless with an older T-Mobile SIM (before they switched to only AT&T). I've called Straight Talk a few times to try and debug this, but the only instruction they've given me is to reset the APN and set it up again, which I've done a couple times to no avail. They claim that the SIM card is good on their end. Any ideas what might be causing this?

Thanks!

It sounds like the Baseband/RIL problems I had with my old LG OP2X with non-stock roms. For me, it was fixed switching to aeroplane mode and back, it could also get stuck there, I remember it once took me half a day to get it out for I didn't want it to wipe it.

Any way, may be it's not the same but it could be fixed flashing a baseband, I think I saw a thread about it somewhere around... Also, flashing the full firmware should —if it's not a hardware issue— solve the problem without doing much research.
10th October 2014, 01:56 PM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
HI
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkenny23

Hi All,

I've been having an issue after upgrading from a Nexus 4 to Nexus 5 where the phone will not re-connect to the home network (or will only reconnect to GSM with no data) after losing connection. This happens for example when going into an elevator or parking garage; I'll lose signal and when I get back into a signal area it won't reconnect unless I go to the "Mobile networks" -> "Network operators" menu and select "HOME" or "Automatic Registration". I'm using Straight Talk wireless with an older T-Mobile SIM (before they switched to only AT&T). I've called Straight Talk a few times to try and debug this, but the only instruction they've given me is to reset the APN and set it up again, which I've done a couple times to no avail. They claim that the SIM card is good on their end. Any ideas what might be causing this?

Thanks!

Hi Were you able to get a solution for this, My nexus 5 does not connect automatically to the network, it works only for manual search.
Please help...
10th October 2014, 05:35 PM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Same problem here. Any solution?

I'm stuck with out any connection for the las two days. Tried removing battery, airplane mode. manual search. nothing.
Tried my line in other phone and it worked, other line in my phone and it didn't.

S4 I9500. Paranoid 4 Beta 4.
10th October 2014, 06:06 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Flag San Jose
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
I don't have a really good solution, i reflashed my phone to stock and it did not fix the issue. I ended up switching carriers to T-mobile and haven't seen the problem since. It seems it was a SIM or network problem like i suspected
14th October 2014, 04:17 AM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkenny23

I don't have a really good solution, i reflashed my phone to stock and it did not fix the issue. I ended up switching carriers to T-mobile and haven't seen the problem since. It seems it was a SIM or network problem like i suspected

I restored original Samsung ROM (I9505) and the same thing... i'm going to change sim tomorrow. and see what happends
22nd October 2014, 04:49 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElCucoArg

I restored original Samsung ROM (I9505) and the same thing... i'm going to change sim tomorrow. and see what happends

I still couldn't make this work I'm this close to buying a new phone... any idea?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
network, operator, registration, straight talk
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes