Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,731,116 Members 46,282 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Nexus 5 battery life

Tip us?
 
natadecocolococo
Old
#11  
natadecocolococo's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 35
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Mandaluyong
Hi! Anyone knows if I can disable the processes that Viber starts every so often? Like the in-app processes, it keeps on running in the background consuming a huge chunk of my battery. I already emailed Viber about it but unfortunately they don't have a fix for it.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
 
rootSU
Old
#12  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9783
Posts: 20,945
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by natadecocolococo View Post
Hi! Anyone knows if I can disable the processes that Viber starts every so often? Like the in-app processes, it keeps on running in the background consuming a huge chunk of my battery. I already emailed Viber about it but unfortunately they don't have a fix for it.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Greenify?
Want to root/unroot? All important guides and info threads are contained within the "Sticky Roll-up" thread in General. Click the link below to get there!



Philz Touch Recovery with passkey secure lock

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.
 
natadecocolococo
Old
#13  
natadecocolococo's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 35
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Mandaluyong
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU View Post
Greenify?
I'll try that. Thanks.
 
Claghorn
Old
#14  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 42
Posts: 198
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by kj2112 View Post
Try gsam and compare work results to home results. Especially good would be trying at least a few hours of total standby to see the difference at both locations. You'd have to reset gsam stats to start your standby test at all zeros though. A reboot will reset gsam.
OK, I turned the phone off, charged it to 100%, then pretty much let it sit doing nothing after rebooting. After sitting overnight at home (where the battery doesn't drain much) the "Phone" app was way down in the list:

GSam Labs - Battery Monitor - Export Data
Phone
Apr 30, 2014 9:55:45 AM
Usage Details
CPU Usage:2s
CPU Usage (Background Only):2s
Keep Awake:19s
Number of Wake Locks:177
Number of times waking device:2
App UID:1001
Wakelock Detail
RILJ8.8s(136)...

Did the same recharge with phone off at work, rebooted, then let it sit on my desk for just a couple of hours, and "Phone" is now the 2nd biggest culprit in the apps list:

GSam Labs - Battery Monitor - Export Data
Phone
May 1, 2014 10:35:57 AM
Usage Details
CPU Usage:3m 24s
CPU Usage (Background Only):3m 24s
Keep Awake:12m 1s
Number of Wake Locks:1167
Number of times waking device:141
App UID:1001
Wakelock Detail
RILJ11.9m(1031)...

Wifi was on in both locations (with a good signal), I even turned off location to prevent that overhead. It just hates the environment at work .
 
bblzd
Old
(Last edited by bblzd; 1st May 2014 at 08:44 PM.)
#15  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 252
Posts: 1,172
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by Claghorn View Post
OK, I turned the phone off, charged it to 100%, then pretty much let it sit doing nothing after rebooting. After sitting overnight at home (where the battery doesn't drain much) the "Phone" app was way down in the list:

GSam Labs - Battery Monitor - Export Data
Phone
Apr 30, 2014 9:55:45 AM
Usage Details
CPU Usage:2s
CPU Usage (Background Only):2s
Keep Awake:19s
Number of Wake Locks:177
Number of times waking device:2
App UID:1001
Wakelock Detail
RILJ8.8s(136)...

Did the same recharge with phone off at work, rebooted, then let it sit on my desk for just a couple of hours, and "Phone" is now the 2nd biggest culprit in the apps list:

GSam Labs - Battery Monitor - Export Data
Phone
May 1, 2014 10:35:57 AM
Usage Details
CPU Usage:3m 24s
CPU Usage (Background Only):3m 24s
Keep Awake:12m 1s
Number of Wake Locks:1167
Number of times waking device:141
App UID:1001
Wakelock Detail
RILJ11.9m(1031)...

Wifi was on in both locations (with a good signal), I even turned off location to prevent that overhead. It just hates the environment at work .
I think that is just the difference in signal quality. It seems to be pretty common to get degraded signal at work places due to larger structure sizes as well as more users per cell tower.

Phone Idle is from the voice network, Cell Standby is from the data connection.
W32
 
natadecocolococo
Old
#16  
natadecocolococo's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 35
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Mandaluyong
Is it normal for Google Play Services to be running in the background always? The gcm and the location service is always on.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
 
KJ
Old
#17  
KJ's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2751
Posts: 6,820
Join Date: May 2011
Location: The boonies - southwest Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by natadecocolococo View Post
Is it normal for Google Play Services to be running in the background always? The gcm and the location service is always on.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Yup

And its worse with location on for sure....battery wise anyway.
Sent from my N5, N7, Moto X, GTab3 or S2.

Need help with poor battery life on the N5...or any device really? Lots of info in first 3 posts! >>>>
[Battery Life Help] Troubleshoot Battery Issues Here....and Tips


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...