Fight the Heat and Conserve Battery with EaseUS Coolphone

Memory hungry Android applications are often responsible for making our device … more

Battery Charged in 30 Seconds? Maybe in 2016

Phones and tablets are getting more and more power hungry with each passing generation. Their … more

ZArchive Manages Your File Archives

Today smartphones are quite powerful devices that can handle multiple processes at once. In fact, some of … more

Regain Double Tap to Wake Functionality on the Nexus 6

A few months ago, Google announced its newest flagship device, the Nexus 6, alongside … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Nexus 5 battery life

OP exhit

1st May 2014, 12:01 PM   |  #11  
natadecocolococo's Avatar
Member
Flag Mandaluyong
Thanks Meter: 1
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Hi! Anyone knows if I can disable the processes that Viber starts every so often? Like the in-app processes, it keeps on running in the background consuming a huge chunk of my battery. I already emailed Viber about it but unfortunately they don't have a fix for it.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
1st May 2014, 12:19 PM   |  #12  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 13,446
 
24,530 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by natadecocolococo

Hi! Anyone knows if I can disable the processes that Viber starts every so often? Like the in-app processes, it keeps on running in the background consuming a huge chunk of my battery. I already emailed Viber about it but unfortunately they don't have a fix for it.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Greenify?
1st May 2014, 01:15 PM   |  #13  
natadecocolococo's Avatar
Member
Flag Mandaluyong
Thanks Meter: 1
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

Greenify?

I'll try that. Thanks.
1st May 2014, 04:51 PM   |  #14  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
210 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by kj2112

Try gsam and compare work results to home results. Especially good would be trying at least a few hours of total standby to see the difference at both locations. You'd have to reset gsam stats to start your standby test at all zeros though. A reboot will reset gsam.

OK, I turned the phone off, charged it to 100%, then pretty much let it sit doing nothing after rebooting. After sitting overnight at home (where the battery doesn't drain much) the "Phone" app was way down in the list:

GSam Labs - Battery Monitor - Export Data
Phone
Apr 30, 2014 9:55:45 AM
Usage Details
CPU Usage:2s
CPU Usage (Background Only):2s
Keep Awake:19s
Number of Wake Locks:177
Number of times waking device:2
App UID:1001
Wakelock Detail
RILJ8.8s(136)...

Did the same recharge with phone off at work, rebooted, then let it sit on my desk for just a couple of hours, and "Phone" is now the 2nd biggest culprit in the apps list:

GSam Labs - Battery Monitor - Export Data
Phone
May 1, 2014 10:35:57 AM
Usage Details
CPU Usage:3m 24s
CPU Usage (Background Only):3m 24s
Keep Awake:12m 1s
Number of Wake Locks:1167
Number of times waking device:141
App UID:1001
Wakelock Detail
RILJ11.9m(1031)...

Wifi was on in both locations (with a good signal), I even turned off location to prevent that overhead. It just hates the environment at work .
1st May 2014, 09:39 PM   |  #15  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 351
 
1,456 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Claghorn

OK, I turned the phone off, charged it to 100%, then pretty much let it sit doing nothing after rebooting. After sitting overnight at home (where the battery doesn't drain much) the "Phone" app was way down in the list:

GSam Labs - Battery Monitor - Export Data
Phone
Apr 30, 2014 9:55:45 AM
Usage Details
CPU Usage:2s
CPU Usage (Background Only):2s
Keep Awake:19s
Number of Wake Locks:177
Number of times waking device:2
App UID:1001
Wakelock Detail
RILJ8.8s(136)...

Did the same recharge with phone off at work, rebooted, then let it sit on my desk for just a couple of hours, and "Phone" is now the 2nd biggest culprit in the apps list:

GSam Labs - Battery Monitor - Export Data
Phone
May 1, 2014 10:35:57 AM
Usage Details
CPU Usage:3m 24s
CPU Usage (Background Only):3m 24s
Keep Awake:12m 1s
Number of Wake Locks:1167
Number of times waking device:141
App UID:1001
Wakelock Detail
RILJ11.9m(1031)...

Wifi was on in both locations (with a good signal), I even turned off location to prevent that overhead. It just hates the environment at work .

I think that is just the difference in signal quality. It seems to be pretty common to get degraded signal at work places due to larger structure sizes as well as more users per cell tower.

Phone Idle is from the voice network, Cell Standby is from the data connection.
Last edited by bblzd; 1st May 2014 at 09:44 PM.
2nd May 2014, 03:48 AM   |  #16  
natadecocolococo's Avatar
Member
Flag Mandaluyong
Thanks Meter: 1
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Is it normal for Google Play Services to be running in the background always? The gcm and the location service is always on.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
2nd May 2014, 04:05 AM   |  #17  
Darth's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Flag The boonies - southwest Ontario
Thanks Meter: 4,661
 
12,375 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by natadecocolococo

Is it normal for Google Play Services to be running in the background always? The gcm and the location service is always on.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Yup

And its worse with location on for sure....battery wise anyway.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes