Damp the LG G3 Thermal Throttling

As our mobile devices grow thinner and more powerfulwith each passing generation, it’s inevitable … more

Google Play Developer Distribution Agreement Due Tomorrow

Every once in a while, Google updates theGoogle PlayDeveloper Distribution … more

LG to Release Octa-Core “Nuclun” SoC in the LG G3 Screen

LG is set to follow the likes of Samsung and other manufacture its own … more

Lockdown Pro 2 Brings Material Design and Media Support

Back in March of this year, we took a look at a rather innovated security application … more
Post Reply

[Q] Nexus 5 Bricked! HELP!!! URGENT!

OP scuccria

4th May 2014, 09:10 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
I'm kind of screwed and It's not even my mistake, I guess.
I clean flashed the Mahdi Update 25/04 yesterday earlier I had 03/03. In the morning I experienced 2 -3 random reboots and later only one random reboot after which my phone won't boot (bootloop). When i enter bootloader, it automatically selects "start" and boots into system and then reboots.
Once i got the chance and my phone booted fully. But then when I selected reboot into recovery so that i can restore a NAND. IT reboots, the team win logo shows up and then the cycle repeats.
Basically, i don't have access to recovery, my bootloader isn't stable (i.e. it automatically boots without selecting) so I'm unable to flash a stock img as of now. If and when my Nexus fully boots into system it stays the same for about 1 hr if i have any luck. PLz help.
From India. Unlocked Bootloader and custom Rom "Mahdi".
4th May 2014, 10:05 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Somewhere
Thanks Meter: 41
 
224 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Donate to Me
More
Have you tried using add to boot into recovery? If not also try to getting a logcat when it reboots, those will give us a little more of a general idea of what is actually happening.
4th May 2014, 10:31 AM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
First thing don't panic. You can't brick a nexus. You should be able to get into bootloader (volume down + power button) use Wugs Nexus Root toolkit from XDA forum. reload stock ROM in fastboot mode. I have done this lots of time. It's a draw back to being a tinkerer just can't leave well enough alone.
Last edited by clintzodiac; 4th May 2014 at 10:37 AM. Reason: add additional information
4th May 2014, 02:18 PM   |  #4  
El Daddy's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Roseville, MN
Thanks Meter: 4,110
 
3,673 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Donate to Me
More
It sounds like your power bottom might be stuck to be honest.


Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
5th May 2014, 09:08 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyterage

Have you tried using add to boot into recovery? If not also try to getting a logcat when it reboots, those will give us a little more of a general idea of what is actually happening.

I managed to somehow get into my bootloader and flashed the following
1. bootloader.img
2. radio.img
3. system.img
4. stock kernel (boot.img)
5. twrp recovery.img

I skipped userdata,img as i need to save my data.
I then went into recovery and did a factory wipe (not including internal storage)
My stock rom booted BUT the setup screen showed up and during the setup process it rebooted again and I couldn't mount my storage to backup.
MY MAIN PRIORITY IS TO COPY THE CONTENTS OF MY SD CARD Before flashing the whole stock image (including userdata)
Now when I type "adb version" in cmd I get Android Debug Bridge Version 1.0.31 but when I type "adb devices" whilst my phone is in fastboot mode, it doesn't list my phone. So i'm unable to "adb pull /mnt/sdcard"
I'm in the same situation with rare access to B/L (based on luck) and Recovery.
Plz tell me what to do when I am able to connect in bootloader mode (fastboot)
IF required I can upload a video showing that what problem I am facing.
5th May 2014, 09:51 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Göd
Thanks Meter: 687
 
1,126 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by scuccria

I managed to somehow get into my bootloader and flashed the following
1. bootloader.img
2. radio.img
3. system.img
4. stock kernel (boot.img)
5. twrp recovery.img

I skipped userdata,img as i need to save my data.
I then went into recovery and did a factory wipe (not including internal storage)
My stock rom booted BUT the setup screen showed up and during the setup process it rebooted again and I couldn't mount my storage to backup.
MY MAIN PRIORITY IS TO COPY THE CONTENTS OF MY SD CARD Before flashing the whole stock image (including userdata)
Now when I type "adb version" in cmd I get Android Debug Bridge Version 1.0.31 but when I type "adb devices" whilst my phone is in fastboot mode, it doesn't list my phone. So i'm unable to "adb pull /mnt/sdcard"
I'm in the same situation with rare access to B/L (based on luck) and Recovery.
Plz tell me what to do when I am able to connect in bootloader mode (fastboot)
IF required I can upload a video showing that what problem I am facing.

To use adb pull you have to enter the recovery. You need universal naked usb driver 0.73 to make adb work in recovery. If you are on windows 8 or 8.1 you have to turn off the driver signiture enforcement befote installing the universal naked usb driver 0.73

Tapatalk-kal küldve az én Nexus 5-el
5th May 2014, 12:25 PM   |  #7  
ej8989's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 437
 
1,285 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Daddy

It sounds like your power bottom might be stuck to be honest.

I agree. It's a malfunctioning power button due to several reasons (moisture, drops, etc.). I had this on my Nexus S.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank