Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,962 Members 40,482 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Is my Nexus 5 damaged?

Tip us?
 
KrishXDA
Old
#1  
Account currently disabled - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Mar 2014
Default [Q] Is my Nexus 5 damaged?

So, firstly I'd like to explain a bit about my device.

It's currently Rooted, has CWM installed and it's on Cataclysm Rom.

When in recovery mode, it usually takes longer than it used to when clearing the cache. It takes 4 mins???
When in recovery I install roms for this device, they usually don't work. I wipe data/cache. and install the .zip.
It boots, sometimes it doesn't. Sometimes it loops.
Then when restoring the backup I had made. I boot into recovery mode, and go in restore backup it says. E: Cannot mount Storage.

I leave the Nexus for a day whilst switched off, then go into recovery it mounts storage... Sometimes it doesn't detect it, sometimes it doesn't.

So my question is, is my phone damaged in any way?.
 
Mikeonic
Old
#2  
Mikeonic's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 211
Posts: 426
Join Date: Feb 2013

 
DONATE TO ME
Try twrp

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Leave a Thanks I I helped
On YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/user/Topromn
  • Graphic Design and Tester on Team AOSPAL
  • Running ParanoidSaberDroid
  • Nexus 5
 
juggaknot77
Old
#3  
juggaknot77's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 391
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: BROOKLYN!
Yeah try twrp, I haven't had any issues with it..

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
 
vin4yak
Old
#4  
vin4yak's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1924
Posts: 3,364
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Mumbai

 
DONATE TO ME
If you want the CWM UI, go for Philz Touch!
 
Mr hOaX
Old
#5  
Mr hOaX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 833
Posts: 420
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by KrishXDA View Post
So, firstly I'd like to explain a bit about my device.

It's currently Rooted, has CWM installed and it's on Cataclysm Rom.

When in recovery mode, it usually takes longer than it used to when clearing the cache. It takes 4 mins???
When in recovery I install roms for this device, they usually don't work. I wipe data/cache. and install the .zip.
It boots, sometimes it doesn't. Sometimes it loops.
Then when restoring the backup I had made. I boot into recovery mode, and go in restore backup it says. E: Cannot mount Storage.

I leave the Nexus for a day whilst switched off, then go into recovery it mounts storage... Sometimes it doesn't detect it, sometimes it doesn't.

So my question is, is my phone damaged in any way?.
Nopes it is not damaged
Just reflash the latest zip recovery of recovery and try again

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Hit Button If I Have Helped You / If You Like This Post

 
WoodburyMan
Old
#6  
WoodburyMan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 463
Posts: 803
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Connecticut
Maybe your partitions are screwed up somehow. If you keep having issues, grab all your stuff off your internal SD and back it up one of the times it does boot, then use the factory image from Google to flash back to 100% stock. Factory reset in stock, then redo everything from scratch and try using TWRP. A hint to, in TWRP in settings check "Use rm -f instead of format". Tends to give me less issues.
White Nexus 5 32gb Android 4.4.4 Unofficial SlimROM Daily Builds
Nexus 7 2013 Android 4.4.4 Unofficial SlimROM Daily Builds
Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 Android 4.4.4 Unofficial SlimROM Daily Builds
Archos Home Connect 35 4gb Android 2.2 Rooted Stock Firmware 2.4.83
Nook Classic 3G
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...