Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,750 Members 44,148 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] My Nexus 5 die????

Tip us?
 
vin4yak
Old
#21  
vin4yak's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,179
Posts: 3,704
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Mumbai

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by nixleong View Post
Thanks, the command works, I followed every step till last. When I try to do the factory reset, I saw this error message:

E:failed to mount / cache (Invalid argument)
E: can't mount /cache/recovery/log
E: can't open /cache/recovery/log
E:failed to mount / cache (Invalid argument)
E: can't mount /cache/recovery/last_log
E: can't open /cache/recovery/last_log
E:failed to mount / cache (Invalid argument)
E: can't mount /cache/recovery/last_install
E: can't open /cache/recovery/last_install
E:failed to mount / cache (Invalid argument)

What does it mean ?
This means that the /cache partition is messed up.. Head over to the stock recovery again and format cache a couple of times and I'm sure the messages will go away. (No need to factory reset again)
 
nixleong
Old
#22  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 13
Join Date: Jan 2012
Well guys, I think I did everything right, I back to stock android (I never root before) / new phone. However after Google logo and the 4 colour logo, I either stuck at black screen or the language screen. It just freeze there. So I guess this is hardware issue? Sigh....going to RMA it
 
nixleong
Old
#23  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 13
Join Date: Jan 2012
Hi,

Perhaps if you can see this screenshot if there is any error message, especially the one I circle in red.

The screenshot: tinypic.com/r/51wt9d/8


Thanks you!!!
 
vin4yak
Old
#24  
vin4yak's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,179
Posts: 3,704
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Mumbai

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by nixleong View Post
Hi,

Perhaps if you can see this screenshot if there is any error message, especially the one I circle in red.

The screenshot: tinypic.com/r/51wt9d/8


Thanks you!!!
Ignore those messages if all the .img files got flashed properly.. It happens when you use the "fastboot -w update" to flash the zip.. That's why I suggested you to flash every .img file individually.

Anyways, even after flashing the factory images and factory resetting the phone, your phone freezes after boot, it might be a hardware issue.
 
nixleong
Old
#25  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 13
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by vin4yak View Post
Ignore those messages if all the .img files got flashed properly.. It happens when you use the "fastboot -w update" to flash the zip.. That's why I suggested you to flash every .img file individually.

Anyways, even after flashing the factory images and factory resetting the phone, your phone freezes after boot, it might be a hardware issue.
Yeah did flash all the images. Anywaym thank for your help. Appreciate that.

Regards,
Nix
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


And the Winners in the XDA Pebble Development Challenge Are…

Almost two months ago, we set out with Pebble to findthree amazing … more

MediaTek Releases Full Kernel Source for First Android One Devices

Those who might have thought that MediaTek wouldnever release working … more

Submitting a Patch to Gerrit – Featuring XplodWild – XDA Developer TV

Not every developer specializes in every area of … more

Learn How to Make a Live Wallpaper all by Yourself

Stillimages can bebeautiful, but some of you prefer to see animations on your screens. … more