Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Nexus 5 doesnt detect SIM!!! :(

OP karanbedi

11th January 2014, 03:47 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Okay so I got my device (32GB,White) just one day ago , and it refuses to detect the sim. I had an airtel(india) sim which was cut into a micro sim . Are there any settings which I need to change to make it work ?

uploading the pic of the sim... Is this the proper micro sim or is it ruined ??
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20140111_200856.jpg
Views:	561
Size:	228.8 KB
ID:	2508775   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20140111_200913.jpg
Views:	502
Size:	247.3 KB
ID:	2508776  
11th January 2014, 04:15 PM   |  #2  
shizkoff777's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag elizabethton
Thanks Meter: 5,541
 
2,546 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Have you tried any other Sims to see if that one was messed up.mine had a hard time picking up the one out if my s4

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
11th January 2014, 04:20 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by shizkoff777

Have you tried any other Sims to see if that one was messed up.mine had a hard time picking up the one out if my s4

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

I put this SIM into another phone and its working quite well. But I havent tried any other micro sims on the Nexus yet....
11th January 2014, 05:08 PM   |  #4  
Hannibal226's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,507
 
4,043 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Maybe any locking on some card from provider ?

Is the card coming out of a contract?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to Hannibal226 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th January 2014, 05:24 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 328
 
1,283 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
The nexus 5 is very picky on cut Sims go get a micro Sim from your provider I cut my full size T-Mobile Sim and it didn't recognize it at all I got the micro Sim from them and now it works

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 05:24 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:23 PM ----------

Also one note is the nexus 5 has different contact points for the sim inside the tray so your cut Sim won't work while another phone might as its got the same contact patterns

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to markdapimp For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th January 2014, 05:34 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 328
 
1,283 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
attached is my sim and your sim compared
as you see your bezel on the end is shorter and the contact points in the center are differently placed
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	dwfdsw.jpg
Views:	552
Size:	284.3 KB
ID:	2508999  
The Following User Says Thank You to markdapimp For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th January 2014, 07:11 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
109 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
are you sure its not recognizing the sim card?
try this
1.remove the sim card while the phone is on. if youl see notification that telling you that there is no sim card and restart, then its recognize the card and problem is somewhere else
2.go to settings
under wireless&networks=>More..=>MobileNetworks=>Network operators
wait until the phone will find all the operators and chose yours
if that not working go to next step
3.open SIM TOOLKIT app
Roaming Services=>Select Mode=>and try some of the Manual mods there or the Automatic
now go to step 2 and do it again

hope it will solve your problem
The Following User Says Thank You to yizhaq79 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th January 2014, 07:52 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hannibal226

Maybe any locking on some card from provider ?

Is the card coming out of a contract?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

No. The phone is unlocked. And the card had no contract or anything...

Quote:
Originally Posted by markdapimp

The nexus 5 is very picky on cut Sims go get a micro Sim from your provider I cut my full size T-Mobile Sim and it didn't recognize it at all I got the micro Sim from them and now it works

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 05:24 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:23 PM ----------

Also one note is the nexus 5 has different contact points for the sim inside the tray so your cut Sim won't work while another phone might as its got the same contact patterns

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Yessir. I think it the manually cut sim is posing problems. I will ask my operator for a standard micro sim and see if it works. You help is much appreciated.

Quote:
Originally Posted by markdapimp

attached is my sim and your sim compared
as you see your bezel on the end is shorter and the contact points in the center are differently placed

Hmmm, they ARE different. I'm sure the problem is with the alignment of the SIM. the contact points arent aligned at ALL .

Quote:
Originally Posted by yizhaq79

are you sure its not recognizing the sim card?
try this
1.remove the sim card while the phone is on. if youl see notification that telling you that there is no sim card and restart, then its recognize the card and problem is somewhere else
2.go to settings
under wireless&networks=>More..=>MobileNetworks=>Network operators
wait until the phone will find all the operators and chose yours
if that not working go to next step
3.open SIM TOOLKIT app
Roaming Services=>Select Mode=>and try some of the Manual mods there or the Automatic
now go to step 2 and do it again

hope it will solve your problem

I chose the the operator , it spent like 4-5 minutes searching.. and then came "Couldnt connect. Please try again later." I'm sure the problem is with correct contact points.



[Thanks everyone, you help is much appreciated.] I'll keep you guys posted.
11th January 2014, 09:24 PM   |  #9  
Mr. Sprinkles's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Denver
Thanks Meter: 77
 
133 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
I had zero success getting my cut t-mobile SIM to work in the N5. Wound up walking into t-mobile for a micro sim. Took less than a minute and was free. Had I known it was so easy, I wouldn't have wasted $8 on a stupid cutter...
The Following User Says Thank You to Mr. Sprinkles For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th January 2014, 09:50 PM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Sprinkles

I had zero success getting my cut t-mobile SIM to work in the N5. Wound up walking into t-mobile for a micro sim. Took less than a minute and was free. Had I known it was so easy, I wouldn't have wasted $8 on a stupid cutter...

I'll be getting a micro sim from my operator.... took 2 sims from them, cut them both and both failed to work..

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes