Quo Vadis, Open {Source, Standards, World}? w/ Jan Wildeboer – XDA:DevCon 2014

Open Source was a big topic at this years XDA:DevCon … more

Android 5.0 Leaked for the Samsung Galaxy Note 3

Android Lollipop is still making its way to many new devices. Firmware updates have been … more

Learn to Sync Files Between Android And PC with Unison

Dropbox and similar cloud services are great if youre planning to keep your files … more

OnePlus Indian Ban Lifted, Android One Expanding – XDA TV

Android 5.0.1 Lollipop is available for the Nvidia SHIELD Tablet! That and … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Thread Closed

Nexus 5 DPI?

OP lowsnamebrand

12th March 2014, 05:52 AM   |  #1  
lowsnamebrand's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
275 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
What's the easiest way to change ones DPI? I came from the sg3 and never had to mess with the DPI on a device but comparing the sg3s screen to the nexus 5 is kind of wonky considering the bigger icons

I'm running omnirom if that makes any difference...

Sent from my Omnirom powered Nexus 5
12th March 2014, 05:56 AM   |  #2  
GUGUITOMTG4's Avatar
Senior Member
GuGuPlace
Thanks Meter: 202
 
545 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowsnamebrand

What's the easiest way to change ones DPI? I came from the sg3 and never had to mess with the DPI on a device but comparing the sg3s screen to the nexus 5 is kind of wonky considering the bigger icons

I'm running omnirom if that makes any difference...

Sent from my Omnirom powered Nexus 5

Get build prop editor free from play store and just press menu, build.prop tweaks, change to your desired value and reboot.
12th March 2014, 10:19 AM   |  #3  
Enddo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta, Ga.
Thanks Meter: 741
 
1,600 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowsnamebrand

What's the easiest way to change ones DPI? I came from the sg3 and never had to mess with the DPI on a device but comparing the sg3s screen to the nexus 5 is kind of wonky considering the bigger icons

I'm running omnirom if that makes any difference...

Sent from my Omnirom powered Nexus 5

I use an app from the Play Store called Texdroider DPI, with root it makes it incredibly easy to change it. not that it wasn't easy to edit the build.prop file. its just what i've gotten used to

i drop mine to 370, that's the DPI slimrom uses and really enjoy that on Paranoid Android
12th March 2014, 10:36 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 50
 
198 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Use Root Browser to edit build.prop.
My DPI of choice is 400. Makes things far smaller, but not too small.
12th March 2014, 11:03 AM   |  #5  
lowsnamebrand's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
275 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enddo

I use an app from the Play Store called Texdroider DPI, with root it makes it incredibly easy to change it. not that it wasn't easy to edit the build.prop file. its just what i've gotten used to

i drop mine to 370, that's the DPI slimrom uses and really enjoy that on Paranoid Android

That's the app I downloaded I'll try out some different DPIs in morning its 2 am now and I think my 15 month old might wanna sleep now lol

Sent from my Omnirom powered Nexus 5
13th March 2014, 01:25 AM   |  #6  
howard bamber's Avatar
Senior Member
Southport
Thanks Meter: 185
 
1,360 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Xposed framework and modules

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

---------- Post added at 11:25 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:23 PM ----------

Why do people want to drop it? Higher the better, IMO

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
13th March 2014, 02:30 AM   |  #7  
lowsnamebrand's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
275 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by howard bamber

Xposed framework and modules

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

---------- Post added at 11:25 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:23 PM ----------

Why do people want to drop it? Higher the better, IMO

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Mine is. Currently sitting at 400 and I think it looks perfect what are your running yours at?

Sent from my Omnirom powered Nexus 5
13th March 2014, 08:29 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 0
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
I def go with Build.prop as well, simple edit, and reboot. No need for looking for the line either.
13th March 2014, 10:18 AM   |  #9  
howard bamber's Avatar
Senior Member
Southport
Thanks Meter: 185
 
1,360 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowsnamebrand

Mine is. Currently sitting at 400 and I think it looks perfect what are your running yours at?

Sent from my Omnirom powered Nexus 5

440

Sent by mobile telephone.
13th March 2014, 11:09 AM   |  #10  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 13,946
 
25,167 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
We've got a thread here:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2517311

Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes