Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,290 Members 53,200 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Nexus 5 DPI?

Tip us?
 
lowsnamebrand
Old
#1  
lowsnamebrand's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 261
Join Date: Mar 2011
Default Nexus 5 DPI?

What's the easiest way to change ones DPI? I came from the sg3 and never had to mess with the DPI on a device but comparing the sg3s screen to the nexus 5 is kind of wonky considering the bigger icons

I'm running omnirom if that makes any difference...

Sent from my Omnirom powered Nexus 5
 
GUGUITOMTG4
Old
#2  
GUGUITOMTG4's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 202
Posts: 531
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: GuGuPlace
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowsnamebrand View Post
What's the easiest way to change ones DPI? I came from the sg3 and never had to mess with the DPI on a device but comparing the sg3s screen to the nexus 5 is kind of wonky considering the bigger icons

I'm running omnirom if that makes any difference...

Sent from my Omnirom powered Nexus 5
Get build prop editor free from play store and just press menu, build.prop tweaks, change to your desired value and reboot.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -{()}- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
 
Enddo
Old
#3  
Enddo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 658
Posts: 1,511
Join Date: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowsnamebrand View Post
What's the easiest way to change ones DPI? I came from the sg3 and never had to mess with the DPI on a device but comparing the sg3s screen to the nexus 5 is kind of wonky considering the bigger icons

I'm running omnirom if that makes any difference...

Sent from my Omnirom powered Nexus 5
I use an app from the Play Store called Texdroider DPI, with root it makes it incredibly easy to change it. not that it wasn't easy to edit the build.prop file. its just what i've gotten used to

i drop mine to 370, that's the DPI slimrom uses and really enjoy that on Paranoid Android
 
iPWNtehNOOB
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 49
Posts: 194
Join Date: Dec 2011
Use Root Browser to edit build.prop.
My DPI of choice is 400. Makes things far smaller, but not too small.
Nexus 7 (2013) 32GB Flo stock ROM and rooted
Nexus 5 "Stormtrooper" 32GB stock ROM/Franco Kernel and rooted

Motorola Xoom Z604 32GB running My Android 4.2.2 (Sold)
Galaxy Note N7000 16GB running SweetROM V9 (Given to Mum )
Huawei Ascend Mate 8GB stock ROM and rooted (Sold)
HTC Desire running SlimBean 4.1.1 (Unused)
 
lowsnamebrand
Old
#5  
lowsnamebrand's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 261
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enddo View Post
I use an app from the Play Store called Texdroider DPI, with root it makes it incredibly easy to change it. not that it wasn't easy to edit the build.prop file. its just what i've gotten used to

i drop mine to 370, that's the DPI slimrom uses and really enjoy that on Paranoid Android
That's the app I downloaded I'll try out some different DPIs in morning its 2 am now and I think my 15 month old might wanna sleep now lol

Sent from my Omnirom powered Nexus 5
 
howard bamber
Old
#6  
howard bamber's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 178
Posts: 1,271
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Southport
Xposed framework and modules

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

---------- Post added at 11:25 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:23 PM ----------

Why do people want to drop it? Higher the better, IMO

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
lowsnamebrand
Old
#7  
lowsnamebrand's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 261
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by howard bamber View Post
Xposed framework and modules

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

---------- Post added at 11:25 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:23 PM ----------

Why do people want to drop it? Higher the better, IMO

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Mine is. Currently sitting at 400 and I think it looks perfect what are your running yours at?

Sent from my Omnirom powered Nexus 5
 
AuralPsynapse06
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Paramount
I def go with Build.prop as well, simple edit, and reboot. No need for looking for the line either.
 
howard bamber
Old
#9  
howard bamber's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 178
Posts: 1,271
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Southport
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowsnamebrand View Post
Mine is. Currently sitting at 400 and I think it looks perfect what are your running yours at?

Sent from my Omnirom powered Nexus 5
440

Sent by mobile telephone.
 
rootSU
Old
#10  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11,441
Posts: 22,482
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
We've got a thread here:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2517311
Want to root/unroot? All important guides and info threads are contained within the "Sticky Roll-up" thread in General. Click the link below to get there!

**Sticky Roll-up: All Guides snd Info Threads linked here**



Philz Touch Recovery with passkey secure lock

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.

THREAD CLOSED
Subscribe
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes