Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,738,775 Members 41,050 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Nexus 5 Emergency Calls Only (EFS Maybe)

Tip us?
 
Soprono
Old
(Last edited by Soprono; 15th June 2014 at 12:22 PM.)
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 60
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Johanesburg
Exclamation Nexus 5 Emergency Calls Only (EFS Maybe)

Hey Guys,

Iv been undergoing a very strange problem, I flashed manually the 4.4.3 update to my Nexus 5, the phone worked fine for about 2 days after the flash and then random-ally one morning decided to display "Emergency Calls Only', I can scan for mobile networks just fine but it will fail to register on any network, here is some debugging iv been doing:
  • Select automatic registration, reboot
  • Switch off, remove sim, insert, boot
  • Flashed all modems available
  • Tried registering on different nework modes (3G, LTE, 2G)
  • Factory restore to 4.4.2

Corrupted EFS rulled out.

The same sim works just fine in other devices and I have ensured that the sim card pins are clean and fine. I cannot find a article related to this issue and what I have been reading is that it could be related to a corrupted EFS, what i dont understand is that does the EFS corrupt the IMEI number or is their anyway to confirm it is a corrupted IMEI number ? If so is their anyway to recover the EFS and just inject my IMEI number into the file and flash back ? Would the Nexus 5 PIT file help ? Or in the end would a google RMA device be a better choice ?

The RMA is difficult for me due to the fact that im in a unsopported county so would have to post it back, but i obviously need a phone so need to sort this out.
 
tangosierra_
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 167
Posts: 793
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Singapore
If you have corrupted efs your imei will be 0.

You can probably try for a rma, or take apart the phone to sell it for parts (everything except the motherboard). And no, you can't put the imei back yourself.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Devices:
Current - LG Nexus 5, franco.Kernel r11, Cataclysm ROM
Current Tablet - Ainol Novo 7 Aurora II, CyanogenMod 10.1 Unofficial
Sony Ericsson Xperia X10, CyanogenMod 7.2 Unofficial, spoilt battery
Sony Ericsson Xperia arc S, Stock 4.1.B.0.587, lost back cover, spoilt microUSB port
HTC HD2, NexusHD CM10.2
Apple iPad 3 - iOS 6.0 Jailbroken

Minimalistic Holo Blue Whatsapp+ Theme
Nexus One boot animation for Nexus 5
How to Change DPI?
 
Lethargy
Old
#3  
Lethargy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 752
Posts: 1,515
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soprono View Post
Hey Guys
Settings > About phone > Status

Does it show your IMEI?

If it shows a zero or multiple zeroes it might be a corrupt IMEI.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyphur
You ask us to understand your position. Well if you want to benefit from our experience and time then I think it is only fair that you understand our position.
 
Soprono
Old
(Last edited by Soprono; 15th June 2014 at 12:29 PM.)
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 60
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Johanesburg
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lethargy View Post
Settings > About phone > Status

Does it show your IMEI?

If it shows a zero or multiple zeroes it might be a corrupt IMEI.
Okey then its not, IMEI is still valid, Phones IMEI is still the same, I have tested the IMEI aswell with my service provider and a paid for service on the net that indicates all is in order still.
 
jd1639
Old
#5  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3066
Posts: 9,116
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Sounds like an issue with the SIM card holder and/or connection of it to your motherboard. I know rma is difficult for you but that's probably your best option.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to jd1639 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Soprono
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 60
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Johanesburg
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lethargy View Post
Settings > About phone > Status

Does it show your IMEI?

If it shows a zero or multiple zeroes it might be a corrupt IMEI.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639 View Post
Sounds like an issue with the SIM card holder and/or connection of it to your motherboard. I know rma is difficult for you but that's probably your best option.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
It would make some sense somewhat as recently after i updated i had dropped the phone from a small height, and that option has been playing on my mind ever since. What i cannot get is that the device still picks up a sim card when its inserted into the phone or will this still happen regardless? Iv practically ruled out everything, im getting a replacement phone tomorrow and Ill them log a call to google to get things moving with a RMA.

Another thread has suggested re-flashing the cache.img from the stock file, will this wipe everything or do you think it would be worth a try ?
 
jd1639
Old
#7  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3066
Posts: 9,116
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soprono View Post
It would make some sense somewhat as recently after i updated i had dropped the phone from a small height, and that option has been playing on my mind ever since. What i cannot get is that the device still picks up a sim card when its inserted into the phone or will this still happen regardless? Iv practically ruled out everything, im getting a replacement phone tomorrow and Ill them log a call to google to get things moving with a RMA.

Another thread has suggested re-flashing the cache.img from the stock file, will this wipe everything or do you think it would be worth a try ?
It's worth a try to flash the cache. It will not wipe your device or anything.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
 
Soprono
Old
#8  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 60
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Johanesburg
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639 View Post
It's worth a try to flash the cache. It will not wipe your device or anything.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
Thank you man, im going to attempt it now, busy getting the files again now quick and shall see.

Tags
efs, google, nexus5, pit, rma
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Browse the Internet with the Innovative Atlas Web Browser

For the most part, Chrome, Firefox, and Dolphin Browser have no real rivals among … more

Choose from Over a Thousand Battery Styles with 3Minit Battery Mod

The battery style in stock Android looks pretty dull. It doesn’t … more

Organize Your Cloud Storage Files with Unclouded

Cloud storage services like Dropbox or Google Drive have grown in popularity dramatically … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: Blur Your System Notification Panel – XDA Developer TV

Listen, we love innovative applications and modules that … more