Github Tutorial App Shows You How to Use… Github

Github can get pretty complicated and using it can become quite daunting, especially … more

Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Google Invites Selected Devs to Buy Project Tango Development Kit

Just about a month ago, the curious Project Tango development kit was … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Nexus 5 Emergency Calls Only (EFS Maybe)

OP Soprono

15th June 2014, 12:55 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Johanesburg
Thanks Meter: 32
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Hey Guys,

Iv been undergoing a very strange problem, I flashed manually the 4.4.3 update to my Nexus 5, the phone worked fine for about 2 days after the flash and then random-ally one morning decided to display "Emergency Calls Only', I can scan for mobile networks just fine but it will fail to register on any network, here is some debugging iv been doing:
  • Select automatic registration, reboot
  • Switch off, remove sim, insert, boot
  • Flashed all modems available
  • Tried registering on different nework modes (3G, LTE, 2G)
  • Factory restore to 4.4.2

Corrupted EFS rulled out.

The same sim works just fine in other devices and I have ensured that the sim card pins are clean and fine. I cannot find a article related to this issue and what I have been reading is that it could be related to a corrupted EFS, what i dont understand is that does the EFS corrupt the IMEI number or is their anyway to confirm it is a corrupted IMEI number ? If so is their anyway to recover the EFS and just inject my IMEI number into the file and flash back ? Would the Nexus 5 PIT file help ? Or in the end would a google RMA device be a better choice ?

The RMA is difficult for me due to the fact that im in a unsopported county so would have to post it back, but i obviously need a phone so need to sort this out.
Last edited by Soprono; 15th June 2014 at 01:22 PM.
15th June 2014, 01:04 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 173
 
805 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
If you have corrupted efs your imei will be 0.

You can probably try for a rma, or take apart the phone to sell it for parts (everything except the motherboard). And no, you can't put the imei back yourself.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
15th June 2014, 01:04 PM   |  #3  
Lethargy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Somewhere quiet.
Thanks Meter: 2,479
 
4,081 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soprono

Hey Guys

Settings > About phone > Status

Does it show your IMEI?

If it shows a zero or multiple zeroes it might be a corrupt IMEI.
15th June 2014, 01:10 PM   |  #4  
OP Member
Flag Johanesburg
Thanks Meter: 32
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lethargy

Settings > About phone > Status

Does it show your IMEI?

If it shows a zero or multiple zeroes it might be a corrupt IMEI.

Okey then its not, IMEI is still valid, Phones IMEI is still the same, I have tested the IMEI aswell with my service provider and a paid for service on the net that indicates all is in order still.
Last edited by Soprono; 15th June 2014 at 01:29 PM.
15th June 2014, 02:47 PM   |  #5  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,927
 
11,234 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Sounds like an issue with the SIM card holder and/or connection of it to your motherboard. I know rma is difficult for you but that's probably your best option.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to jd1639 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th June 2014, 02:52 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Flag Johanesburg
Thanks Meter: 32
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lethargy

Settings > About phone > Status

Does it show your IMEI?

If it shows a zero or multiple zeroes it might be a corrupt IMEI.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

Sounds like an issue with the SIM card holder and/or connection of it to your motherboard. I know rma is difficult for you but that's probably your best option.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app

It would make some sense somewhat as recently after i updated i had dropped the phone from a small height, and that option has been playing on my mind ever since. What i cannot get is that the device still picks up a sim card when its inserted into the phone or will this still happen regardless? Iv practically ruled out everything, im getting a replacement phone tomorrow and Ill them log a call to google to get things moving with a RMA.

Another thread has suggested re-flashing the cache.img from the stock file, will this wipe everything or do you think it would be worth a try ?
15th June 2014, 02:59 PM   |  #7  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,927
 
11,234 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soprono

It would make some sense somewhat as recently after i updated i had dropped the phone from a small height, and that option has been playing on my mind ever since. What i cannot get is that the device still picks up a sim card when its inserted into the phone or will this still happen regardless? Iv practically ruled out everything, im getting a replacement phone tomorrow and Ill them log a call to google to get things moving with a RMA.

Another thread has suggested re-flashing the cache.img from the stock file, will this wipe everything or do you think it would be worth a try ?

It's worth a try to flash the cache. It will not wipe your device or anything.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
15th June 2014, 03:04 PM   |  #8  
OP Member
Flag Johanesburg
Thanks Meter: 32
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

It's worth a try to flash the cache. It will not wipe your device or anything.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app

Thank you man, im going to attempt it now, busy getting the files again now quick and shall see.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
efs, google, nexus5, pit, rma
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes