Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,623 Members 50,771 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Nexus 5 freezing - com.android.systemui has stopped

Tip us?
 
ipodgeenie
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 17
Join Date: Apr 2012
Default Nexus 5 freezing - com.android.systemui has stopped

Hey all,

This started a couple of weeks ago and has gotten worse. I'll be using my phone normally and it will just freeze. No warnings, no messages, nothing. If I wait around 5 minutes I'll be booted back to the lock screen and the message "Unfortunately the process com.android.systemui has stopped." The phone will then function normally. Now when it freezes I just hold down the power button until the phone restarts since it's quicker.

I haven't installed any new apps recently so I don't think it's down to that. Sometimes before the phone freezes it will stutter badly for about 20 seconds. Would appreciate any help. Running stock 4.4.4.
 
kilowatt95
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 51
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Singapore-Kuala Lumpur
Would be helpful if you could post your logcat/dmesg. That way we can have a look and narrow down the problem
 
ipodgeenie
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 17
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by kilowatt95 View Post
Would be helpful if you could post your logcat/dmesg. That way we can have a look and narrow down the problem
If you let me know how to do that I'll be happy to oblige
 
kilowatt95
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 51
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Singapore-Kuala Lumpur
Quote:
Originally Posted by ipodgeenie View Post
If you let me know how to do that I'll be happy to oblige
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2185929
Make sure you enable USB debugging. I believe in this case logcat is more important than dmesg.
 
ipodgeenie
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 17
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by kilowatt95 View Post
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2185929
Make sure you enable USB debugging. I believe in this case logcat is more important than dmesg.
I tried using SysLog but I don't have root access so I cannot export any logs. Also, I do not have access to a computer. Any suggestions?

Thanks!
 
KJ
Old
#6  
KJ's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,520
Posts: 8,472
Join Date: May 2011
Location: The boonies - southwest Ontario
Are you using CM or some other type of themes? I used to see that often. So I stopped using them.
Sent from my new HTC One M8, N7, Moto X, GTab3 or S2.

Need help with poor battery life? Any device welcome, even tho its an N5 thread. Please specify if on a device other than N5. Lots of info in first 4 posts! >>>>
[Battery Life Help] Troubleshoot Battery Issues Here....and Tips

 
ipodgeenie
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 17
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJ View Post
Are you using CM or some other type of themes? I used to see that often. So I stopped using them.
Nope, it's completely stock.
 
kilowatt95
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 51
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Singapore-Kuala Lumpur
Quote:
Originally Posted by ipodgeenie View Post
Nope, it's completely stock.
Unfortunately afaik as of JB you either need root for logcat or access to a computer.

I'm just taking a shot in the dark here but perhaps try wiping the cache partition from recovery? You don't need a custom recovery to wipe cache.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app

kwPhone6: Google Nexus 5 D821: Android 4.4.4 Stock ROM, Franco kernel r61, PhilZ touch recovery
kwPad2: LG G Pad 8.3 V500: SlimKat 4.4.2 Linaro (Infected_ build), PhilZ touch recovery
kwPhone5: Galaxy S III i9305: SlimKat 4.4.4, PhilZ touch Recovery
kwPad ASUS Transformer Eee Pad TF101: SlimKat 4.4.2, TWRP

---RETIRED---
kwPhone4: iPhone 4, kwPhone3: Samsung Tocco, kwPhone2: Nokia N73, kwPhone: Samsung SGH-X680
 
chimmychenga
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 79
Join Date: Dec 2013
try dirty flash stock rom. but check if it is deodexed or odexed.

edit: you mean its rooted but stock rom or is it just non-rooted?
 
ipodgeenie
Old
#10  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 17
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by chimmychenga View Post
try dirty flash stock rom. but check if it is deodexed or odexed.

edit: you mean its rooted but stock rom or is it just non-rooted?
It isn't rooted

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


And the Winners in the XDA Pebble Development Challenge Are…

Almost two months ago, we set out with Pebble to findthree amazing … more

MediaTek Releases Full Kernel Source for First Android One Devices

Those who might have thought that MediaTek wouldnever release working … more

Submitting a Patch to Gerrit – Featuring XplodWild – XDA Developer TV

Not every developer specializes in every area of … more

Learn How to Make a Live Wallpaper all by Yourself

Stillimages can bebeautiful, but some of you prefer to see animations on your screens. … more