Mural Watchface Brings 500px to Android Wear

On a traditional watch, you can’t really do too much to change its appearance once … more

Android 5.0 Favorite Features, Release November 3rd? – XDA TV

Google Confirms Android 5.0 Lollipop for November 3rd! That and much more … more

Prepare Your Build Machines: Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn Now Official

Today is an important day for any and all Linux enthusiasts. One of the … more

Track the Time You Waste on Social Media with Socials Addict

When you use your phone, you often don’t even realize how much time you … more
Post Reply

Nexus 5 freezing - com.android.systemui has stopped

OP ipodgeenie

22nd August 2014, 04:52 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Hey all,

This started a couple of weeks ago and has gotten worse. I'll be using my phone normally and it will just freeze. No warnings, no messages, nothing. If I wait around 5 minutes I'll be booted back to the lock screen and the message "Unfortunately the process com.android.systemui has stopped." The phone will then function normally. Now when it freezes I just hold down the power button until the phone restarts since it's quicker.

I haven't installed any new apps recently so I don't think it's down to that. Sometimes before the phone freezes it will stutter badly for about 20 seconds. Would appreciate any help. Running stock 4.4.4.
22nd August 2014, 05:47 PM   |  #2  
Member
Flag Singapore-Kuala Lumpur
Thanks Meter: 26
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Would be helpful if you could post your logcat/dmesg. That way we can have a look and narrow down the problem
22nd August 2014, 06:13 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by kilowatt95

Would be helpful if you could post your logcat/dmesg. That way we can have a look and narrow down the problem

If you let me know how to do that I'll be happy to oblige
22nd August 2014, 06:24 PM   |  #4  
Member
Flag Singapore-Kuala Lumpur
Thanks Meter: 26
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ipodgeenie

If you let me know how to do that I'll be happy to oblige

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2185929
Make sure you enable USB debugging. I believe in this case logcat is more important than dmesg.
22nd August 2014, 06:33 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by kilowatt95

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2185929
Make sure you enable USB debugging. I believe in this case logcat is more important than dmesg.

I tried using SysLog but I don't have root access so I cannot export any logs. Also, I do not have access to a computer. Any suggestions?

Thanks!
23rd August 2014, 12:45 AM   |  #6  
KJ's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Flag The boonies - southwest Ontario
Thanks Meter: 4,125
 
10,248 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Are you using CM or some other type of themes? I used to see that often. So I stopped using them.
23rd August 2014, 10:17 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJ

Are you using CM or some other type of themes? I used to see that often. So I stopped using them.

Nope, it's completely stock.
23rd August 2014, 11:43 AM   |  #8  
Member
Flag Singapore-Kuala Lumpur
Thanks Meter: 26
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ipodgeenie

Nope, it's completely stock.

Unfortunately afaik as of JB you either need root for logcat or access to a computer.

I'm just taking a shot in the dark here but perhaps try wiping the cache partition from recovery? You don't need a custom recovery to wipe cache.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
23rd August 2014, 12:08 PM   |  #9  
Member
Flag Moon
Thanks Meter: 7
 
92 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
try dirty flash stock rom. but check if it is deodexed or odexed.

edit: you mean its rooted but stock rom or is it just non-rooted?
23rd August 2014, 06:54 PM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by chimmychenga

try dirty flash stock rom. but check if it is deodexed or odexed.

edit: you mean its rooted but stock rom or is it just non-rooted?

It isn't rooted

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank